Auxiliary Fuel Tank Saga.

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 19, 2009 at 20:49
ThreadID: 68027 Views:2636 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
Well it’s been a bit of a marathon but I now have an auxiliary fuel tank fitted to my L/C 60 TD . I bought a 2 year old second hand “Brown Davis” tank that is designed for that model, but because of the vehicle’s after market 3” exhaust pipe the tank had to be modified a couple of times to clear it.
I connected the breather pipes from the aux tank to the breather pipes of the main tank and the filler pipe to the existing filler pipe of the main tank also.

Now promise not to laugh Dave B.

Off to the servo for the big test, the main tank filled as normal then 45 minutes later the aux tank was also full.
167 ltrs all up.
Geeez what’s wrong ---- ¾`s of an hour?
Seems the breather hoses are full of fuel. Huh ???

Next day drained both tanks and removed aux tank filler and breather hoses and with several modifications they now all connect to the main filler pipe above the top level of the highest tank.

I put 100 ltrs back in the tanks then off to the servo again. Bingo, all worked ok.

I have fitted an electronic fuel pump near the aux tank which transfers fuel to the main tank.
This is controlled manually by a switch on the dash powered only while the ignition is on.
This switch also changes the standard fuel gauge from reading the main tank, to reading the aux tank, via a “Normally Closed Relay” thus eliminating the need for a second gauge.

Without a hoist or a pit it wasn’t easy for a bloke of my age and shape rolling underneath about, oh I reckon about 400 + times. LOL

Scrubby.
saga

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Apr 19, 2009 at 21:59

Sunday, Apr 19, 2009 at 21:59
How many times did you hit your head and say ' damn' Scrubby?

Good to see you have it all working well.

The downside of the big tank is that you have to go for a mortgage before you fill up now.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 360444

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 17:01

Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 17:01
G`day Dave,

Got a looooong story to tell you when we next catch up. LOL

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 628343

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 04:07

Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 04:07
G'day Scrubby

Whats with this LR tank business. Sprucing up ther old girl? Can't make a silk purse....etc....lol

You must be going on a long trip?

AnswerID: 360468

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 15:13

Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 15:13
WILLEM
G'DAY
Scrubby is planning to leave late may for 20 weeks.He is taking SWMBO .If he behaves like he did with me ,it will be a short trip and he wont need the long range tank. LOL

Jeff.O

FollowupID: 628325

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 15:17

Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 15:17
Jeff

Hahahaha....I can well imagine!
FollowupID: 628326

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubcat (VIC) - Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 16:58

Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 16:58
G`day Willem, Jeff O, & Kev.

Yep, leaving for St George gathering in about 36 days.
But like some old bloke said in another post the other day.

Who`s counting? LOL

Scrubby
FollowupID: 628342

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 06:31

Monday, Apr 20, 2009 at 06:31
Scrubby,

You planning on stocking up on our cheap QLD fuel before you head home this year are you?? haha

I am sure Dave would have come down and assisted if you asked him nicely ;)

AnswerID: 360470