You SA's gettting a little wet

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 16:37
ThreadID: 68140 Views:2577 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Looks like you guys are getting a little wet down there. Even Willem is getting a bit, must feel great hope it continues.
The old BOM site is great isn't it

Reply By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 18:25

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 18:25
Bruce - Yep - Makes us all expert forecasters :-). Last year when I did my trip around the South of SA we had rain every night in the camp and the cold wind. Was good as there were no others to share the camping spots with. Willem was getting close to hitting the track, he may have left already! You will see the packed trailer on his twin jockey wheel thread.Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 361107

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 18:25

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 18:25
Bruce

wet down there?
dunno how wet it is there but its been raining here for about a month now and no sign of easing :-(
AnswerID: 361108

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 08:56

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 08:56
Mark,

Do you want some cheese to go with that Whine??

FollowupID: 628931

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 19:27

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 19:27
Rain, is that what it is? I wondered why my shirt had dark spots on it this morning. We haven't had much of that for a while. It's been raining steady all day up my way and in parts of Adelaide they've had half as much today as they've had for the year. Hope it continues for a while (but stops on ANZAC Day for the footy). I heard on the wireless this morning that SA has an average soil moisture deficit of 100mm. I think he explained it as we need 100mm before we get back to registering soil moisture levels.

Louie
AnswerID: 361119

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 19:28

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 19:28
By the way Bruce, I assume you were talking about rain.

Louie
FollowupID: 628857

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 20:40

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 20:40
Yes Louie
FollowupID: 628870

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 20:48

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 20:48
Hi Bruce,
Just got back from the nightly walk and had to leave the dog at home and take the umbrella instead.
Just dropped outside to check the rain gauge and so far we have received a beautiful 10mm of rain. They are talking that it should be like this to Monday, so hears hoping. It has been many years here in Clare since we have had a wet ANZAC Dawn service, so lets hope it keeps up and gets back to the usual misty rain for the most important day in Australia and New Zealand.

Cheers from a wet Clare.

AnswerID: 361145

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 22:04

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 22:04
Gday Stephen,
Its even wet in the Riverland this time, now theres a news story. It was lucky I got to see some of this rain stuff in the Hi Country otherwise I wouldn't have know what it was..
FollowupID: 628893

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 22:18

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 22:18
Hi Blaze
Sounds like you had a great time in the High country, it would have been great. I was speaking to Dasher Des in the early afternoon and he said that he could count about 6 spots of rain on his windscreen.
Lets hope that it keeps up, as we all certainly need it. We will have to get you out on the water next time with Des, he had a ball and wanted to keep going.

Take care and Best Regards

FollowupID: 628896

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 08:31

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 08:31
Rain Gauge Up Date
Went outside to empty the rain gauge at 7.15am Friday morning and still raining - beautiful. More rain since the walk last night and the total that I took out was 22mm. The best part is that it going to be like this until early next week. Another ANZAC tradition that has not happened for many years is the first fire for the winter season. It was been set for many months, and will be lit before the week end is over.

StephenImage Could Not Be Found

FollowupID: 628924

Follow Up By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 10:12

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 10:12
My rain gauge in Broken Hill registered 4mm from last night's shower. It will settle the dust a bit.

Unformed roads are probably closed, though the good southerly breeze will probably see them opened very soon.

It's getting quite cool though, may have seen the last of the nice weather.

FollowupID: 628941

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 10:17

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 10:17
Gday Stephen,

Guess I will have to get the Canoe out and the electric outboard mounted to it again..
FollowupID: 628942

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 13:11

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 13:11
Hi Blaze
I can see 2 problems with that.

1 Water and Electricity do not mix, and besides, you would need one very longggggg power extension lead.

2. You will have to tow us all behind your canoe.

Take care and I hope that you are still getting that wet stuff from the sky.

FollowupID: 628967

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 15:33

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 15:33
G'day Stephen, I have already told Blaze that when we are the furtherest point from our paddle, I'm chuckin his battery overboard. Recons he can catch the flow. Told him it might take a while LOL
Had 13mm here last night. No more yet today.
FollowupID: 628984

Reply By:- Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 21:51

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 21:51
Yes, we are just back from NSW and good to see the rain is here at last......

AnswerID: 361160

Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 22:24

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 22:24
All,

Well, here at Greenwith we've had over 13mm since 10am this morning. I last check our groovy digital rain thingo about 2 hours ago, and it's been raining ever since, so more by now.

So what did I do? Well, while Mum (the wife) put Jackson to bed, I grabbed the car sponge and gave the camper a well overdue scrubbing! I looked a treat in my raincoat and soggy moccie's (just couldn't be bothered changing them). The camper is getting the "rinse cycle" as we speak!

So here I sit in the garage on the 'puter basically wet from the waist down down - but I don't care - it's raining!

So far this year, we've had less than 40mm rain. You guys in QLD get that in 30 minutes! Yep, the driest State, on the driest continent alright!

On belated Xmas leave as of Friday arvo (delayed due to the 'nice' boat people trying to reach Oz over the Xmas period).

Meanwhile, being ADF, it's time to prepare for the big day on Saturday!

After that, the biggest decision will be where to head on holidays with the camper. (Which reminds me, I must update my profile with new photos!).

Cheers All, Matt
AnswerID: 361168

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 07:01

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 07:01
Good to see your all enjoying your bit of rain. And yes being an X ADF member I'll be at our local Dawn Service to
Have a nice wet weekend all you crow eaters lol
AnswerID: 361196