What's the name of the gadget

Submitted: Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:22
ThreadID: 68175 Views:3791 Replies:4 FollowUps:21
Gidday

Well after a two year break I’m off again in June to who knows where. I’ll probably head up though Queensland, visit my sister then go on to Weipa and explore some of the country along the west side of the Cape.

However the daughter is giving me a bit of curry at the moment.

She wants me to carry one of those personal locating devices whereby she can track my location via the home computer.

There was a fella on here a while ago who we tracked on his journey including the Canning Stock Route via OZ.

Try as I might, I can’t find that series of posts, or the name of the gadget. From memory it was a reasonable price, and didn’t cost an arm or leg to sign up to.

Kim

Reply By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:32

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:32
Hi Kim and Damn Dog,

It's called the SPOT Messenger. GPSOZ are one of the stockists.

Graeme
Lake Eyre 2011

AnswerID: 361354

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:43

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:43
Gidday Graeme

Yes thats the gadget. Your bloods worth bottling!

Many thanks

Kim
FollowupID: 629083

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 00:57

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 00:57
I just did a search of the shop and can't find them... so I wonder if they are no longer an EO shop item? Either that or the search function is giving me 'heaps' again lol...
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 629119

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:36

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:36
Yes it is a SPOT messanger - and it was Kiwiangler who used it so we could track his movements. Search on that name to revisit Posts for details.

AnswerID: 361356

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:37

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:37
Kim
So arn't you going to be back for St George.
AnswerID: 361357

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:40

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:40
Ian,

It doesn't look it.

If you are after a suitable courier pidgeon I think Bonz or Jim Best are attending from down your way.

FollowupID: 629081

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:52

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 20:52
Gidday Ian

If your refering to the Oxploroz bash, no I won’t be there. But I’m having a look around at the moment for items to donate to the charity side of it.

Kim

FollowupID: 629086

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:11

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:11
Thats OK Kev the offer is valid.
FollowupID: 629090

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:14

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:14
I dont know about Bonz but if Jim Best gets bogged in his back yard how can you rely on him to deliver to St George.
FollowupID: 629091

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:24

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:24
hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 629093

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 06:21

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 06:21
That was just plain cruel. Bloody funny though.

The chances of me getting to St George are slimming by the day. I thought I'd be able to get away as it was quiet at that time last year. But business has just gone crazy this year and showing no signs of letting up.

I won't know until a week or two before if I can sneak away.

FollowupID: 629124

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 07:30

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 07:30
You will have to leave the car out in the street if you want to "sneak away ".Ha Ha Ha.

Mate you are not allowed to be busy Kevin officially anounced recently that we are in recession wasnt you listening.

I rang a USA supplyer this morning to ask why he didnt respond straight away to my email as he usually does and he said he was flat out and was just getting round to it.

Something may be happening that the pollies do not know about.

Maybe you should ring up Kevin and tell to call the recession off.
FollowupID: 629125

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:16

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:16
Despite what Knocker Turnbull is spouting, people are spending their $900, many of them with me.

FollowupID: 629128

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 09:31

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 09:31
Jim "Despite what Knocker Turnbull is spouting, people are spending their $900, many of them with me." I bet they don't know the debt they take on with it.

Just look at the contingent liability rise since Kev got the reins. Contemptible. Go to this article in the Wall Street Journal and have a read. We are only just getting to recession territory and yet we have blown savings already.
FollowupID: 629141

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 09:59

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 09:59
John,

I'm not going to debate politics with you, I'm just stating how it is. We're 25% up on last year and other new products we are making are selling as well.

I spoke to Crazie a few weeks back, he's as busy as buggery.

I do a swag of work for tradies, they've got more work than they can handle.

A bloke I deal with that builds trailers for a couple of well known Camper Trailer Manufacturers is up to his eyeballs.

It's not nearly as bad in the real world as the pundits are reporting.

FollowupID: 629144

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 12:50

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 12:50
Jim
I have a mate who was embarrised by getting the $900 and wanted to give nearly half back and he said if he bought appliances China would get the benefit and after working through the benefits to Australia he decided what to do.

He went to the Bottleshop and bought Australian owned and produced wine as it is roughly the highest taxed product and said good Im giving what I think is fair back to the government and by the time I go to bed each night I have no guilt feelings at all.

FollowupID: 629168

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 20:06

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 20:06
Jim had already politicised the post in the quotes I provided of his. I provided the factual follow up. Tradies here are bing pumped by the overpayment of the first home buyers that is already suggested could lead up to our very own Fanny Mae reversal. It was in the media this last week.

Ian that is where Crazie's work is coming from - China. He sells the stuff here.
FollowupID: 629256

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 07:22

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 07:22
John,

"Factual", I think not.

What you posted was a link to an opinion by Alex Robson and he makes Andrew Bolt look like a communist.

FollowupID: 629326

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:25

Friday, Apr 24, 2009 at 21:25
Yep it was me :-)

I am off again on June 5th to Cape York for a month and will put the website for tracking me up before I go :-)

This is the SPOT HOMEPAGE
AnswerID: 361369

Follow Up By: tonbon - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:46

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:46
Hi Kiwiangler, that is an excellent piece of equipment. I am heading off along GBH next year and part of the requirements are a satphone for that area, would this device, with the help function negate the need for that?

Tony.
FollowupID: 629133

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 09:38

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 09:38
A friend was using his in August last year for two weeks and turned it off every night. The same batteries were used last week to ten days and still no "Low Battery" sign. It hadn't recorded every ten minutes quite though so perhaps the batteries aren't connecting quite as they should.
FollowupID: 629142

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 21:26

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 21:26

.....the requirements are a satphone for that area, would this device, with the help function negate the need for that? "

Tony

No.

Spot and a Satphone ae really completely different equipment with different end uses

I travel alone and have made the decsion to take as much complimentary comms as I feel is necessary and as a conequence I have

GSM phone, whent that loses service I go to a GSM phone when that loses service I go to sat phone

I have UHF and HF

SPOT

EPIRB

Not to mention the flares, signal mirror etc etc :-))))))))

FollowupID: 629281

Follow Up By: tonbon - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 09:16

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 09:16
Cheers Kiwi, i suspected as much but wanted confirmation. I plan on carrying in-vehicle UHF, 2 x handheld UHF units, satphone (will have to hire that one due to budget restraints and SWMBO not giving me a stimulus package :-) plus the SPOT gadget as well as normal mobile and laptop with next G card and extended roof top aerial. i will also be carrying EPIRB, flares etc. that should about cover it i think lol.

Cheers again,

Tony.
FollowupID: 629343

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 09:37

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 09:37
Tony

By the looks of it us two are single handedly keeping the 4x4 accessory market in full swing :-)))))))

I am off to the Cape (6th June departyre from Wagga) so will have a chance to use them all - except the EPIRB, flares and the SPOT emergency function :-)

cheers mate
FollowupID: 629349

Follow Up By: tonbon - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 15:43

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 15:43
hahaha yeah, i should have gone against the current trend and bought shares in a few 4WD accessory suppliers when i started setting up my old girl for the big trip next year.

I am jealous mate i have a year to wait for my trip. Seriously though, good luck, stay safe and have a great trip. I will be sure to keep an eye on the forums for your updates.

Tony.
FollowupID: 629406