Trek time Alice to Birdsville

Can someone please tell me if it is pssobile to do each / all of the following:

- Alice to Dalhouse Springs via the Old Ghan line in 1 day
- Dalhouse to the Knolls via French line in 1 day
- Knolls to Birdsville in 1 day
- towing a camper trailer with a 3.0TD Patrol Manual

I have had plenty of sand experience on Fraser, Teewah Beach, plus up in Gove on the beaches. But not with a trailer.

I know this is not the right way to do it, but I only have limited time and will be back for another - hopefully more relaxed - trip another time.

Many thanks in advance,
Dave
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:04

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:04
Dave

Your distances per day are very do able.

Most will argue about taking a trailer across the Simpson. I believe parks don't recommend it but I don't think it has been banned yet. Others have done it - it will need to be very strong. I've been on all those roads with my camper but I didn't take it through the desert. Desert trips were vehicle only.

The old Ghan line after the Finke desert race will be chewed up ( we travelled it about fortnight after last year and it was terrible) but you could just run down the highway and come into Finke from Kulgera (probably quicker)

First one will be long day

Alan
AnswerID: 361398

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:31

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:31
If you have limited time then take the Plenty Highway.
One day down the old Ghan is ok but its pretty slow going. Little value in
Racing across the Simpson in two days IMHO. Rig road would be better
with the trailer.

Peter
Peter
VKS Mobile 1906

My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 361401

Reply By: DaveA - Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:42

Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 08:42
OK - thanks for the replies so far.