towing along finke river track

has anyone towed an off road camper trailer along the Finke river track between kings canyon and Hermannsburg, if so what hazards did you encounter.

Reply By: dact - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 21:29

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 21:29
See ThreadID: 12103

We didn't do it, as we were advised not to. Took our off road camper into Palm Valley though, but I wouldn't that again.

We lost most of our melamine cups and a plate, due to the trailer getting thrown around sooo much.

Terry & Amanda
AnswerID: 361742

Reply By: ferris - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 21:33

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 21:33
G'day Flanno, we did that trip the winter before last. Great scenic route. We took a couple of days to get through, but took it fairly easily. The track was indistinct in places and varied quite a lot. In places there was deep sand, and in others we were driving along the river bed over rocks (nothing too big). Apparently there's an old police station out there, but we didn't find it. There was plenty of water in waterholes along the river, and some of them were pretty deep, but I don't know if this is still the case. Before we set out the Ranger stopped us and checked out our vehicle and equipment before she'd let us go on. Great trip.
Keep the shiny side up
Ferris

AnswerID: 361743

Follow Up By: ferris - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 21:45

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 21:45
I forgot to mention that we were in a group of 5 vehicles all towing camp trailers. Only one had trouble and that was with a hired trailer. Both shockers failed along the way, and the chassis cracked, although in hindsight the trailer was probably suspect before we set out. We spent much of the trip in 1st and 2nd gear, but didn't consider it too rough.
FollowupID: 629487

Follow Up By: flanno - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:05

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:05
thanks for the info ferris hope to meet up with others to do the track.

cheers flanno
FollowupID: 629906

Reply By: Member - Glenn H (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 21:46

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 21:46
Hey Flanno, we are in Hermannsburg now and are going down to Boggy Hole tomorrow for a sticky with just the 4by. As it was the Mereenie Loop Rd from Kings to H'burg was a shocker yesterday. Horrendous corrugations towing a camper and just plain rough as guts- it was 195 km of very very unpleasant driving all for $5.50 for a road that hasn't seen a grader for yonks. Cheers. Glenn
Warrie

AnswerID: 361744

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 22:26

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 22:26
When we were at Palm Valley, some people there did the Boggy Hole trip as a day trip without the camper. We didn't so can't comment.

AnswerID: 361750

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 22:47

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 22:47
Gidday fellas

All these tracks change with the season.

I was unfortunate enough to drive down to Finke from Maryvale quite a few years back, and nearly had to glue my teeth back in again.

At its worst, the Finke would have to be the biggest mongrel of a track in Australia.

Kim
AnswerID: 361755

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 07:57

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 07:57
You to ay.....
We drove it in 2005, the day before the Desert race and its the worst road ive ever driven.
FollowupID: 629518

Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 14:23

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 14:23
I did it in a Subaru Forester about 4 years ago - in a group with others with more capable 4bys and camper trailers.

No real probs - Suby needed a snatch once, but only coz I stopped at the wrong time. The Suby was great on the corrugations of Mereenie loop - barely noticed them. I drive a current model Hilux now - possibly a bit more firm on the corrugations but havent tried yet.

None of the campers had any probs.
FollowupID: 629610

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:23

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:23
Gday Kim,
Harden up old fella!
If you werent trying to hold a stubbie in your teeth while you were driving your teeth would have been fine.

Hahahahaha

FollowupID: 629651

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:39

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:39
Nick and I are talking about the track between Maryvale Station and the township of Finke (Apatula).

Camper trailers along theMereenie loop
won’t have any difficulties.

Kim
FollowupID: 629654

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:53

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:53
Gidday hairy

By the time we got to Mt dare for a drink, the teeth were chattering so much, I nearly chewed the top off the bloody can.

Kim
FollowupID: 629660

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:56

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:56
Ya still bloody lost Kim...Hes talking about Boggy Hole road.
FollowupID: 629663

Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 18:05

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 18:05
Sorry, Kim, I also was talking about the Finke river gorge - we started down south from Ernest Giles Rd, headed north, stopped at a few places incl Palm Valley, and eventually ended up in Hermansburg.

Point I was making is that if a Subaru Forester (not towing) can get thru without probs then camper trailers ought to be ok too.

Ground clearance was the main issue for the suby.
FollowupID: 629664

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:25

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:25
Gidday Hairy

I was responding to the Mereenie Loop ya dill.

I wouldn’t recommend any tourists visit Boggy Hole during the weekend. There’s a few local fellas from Scrubby Town who get out that way, and do a bit of no good I’m told!

Wouldn’t be me, because I’m a refined fella.

Sobriquet, don’t take too much notice of this banter. Hairy and I are having a bit of a scrap, cos’ he’s jealous of my Goanna oil distilling techniques, which is now being used to reduce the output of methane in cattle.

Kim

FollowupID: 629678

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:34

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:34
You oughta try drinking it Kim....
Hahahahaha...Sometimes I crack myself up!

FollowupID: 629681

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:26

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:26
Yeah mate...plenty of times...
The only thing that will make you come unstuck will be sand.
The weather is cooling so the sand is getting better....and if you let your tyres down (as long as you used to sand driving) you shouldnt have a problem.

Hairy
AnswerID: 361896

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 14:39

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 14:39
Gday Hairy,
We are home now mate, all good things come to an end, was good to catch up.
As for boggy hole track, we did it last week with the camper and it was fine, most 4wd combinations with camper would get through no worries, as Hairy says let your tyres down and you will enjoy the drive.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 630010

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 21:12

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 21:12
Gday Pesty,
Good to hear you got home alright and to catch up.

Hairy
FollowupID: 630083

Reply By: Member - Netnut (VIC) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 21:41

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 21:41
Hello Flanno,
I travelled the Boggy Hole Track last August starting from the Hermannsburg end. I was in the company of four other vehicles, one towing a camper trailer. The trailer handled the track fine behind a 100 Series Landcruiser. Mind you, there had been a squillion other vehicles down the track so it was well defined and we could easily see the places to avoid ie: where other travellers had become bogged.

Some hints: Stay on the defined track, lower your tyre pressures, take your time, preferably travel with some other vehicles and you should be fine. The most difficult part was avoiding the very soft sand at Boggy Hole - we took the rock-strewn bypass track at a very leisurely pace.

Although it is suggested you don't take a trailer down the Boggy Hole Track, many people have in the past.

Netnut
AnswerID: 361954

Follow Up By: flanno - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:40

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:40
g'day Netnut
thanks for the info.I have driven in sand pleanty of times on Stocton beach and comon sence goes a long way there along with lower tyre presures. We are traveling by oursevles, maybe we can join some others for the track.

cheers Flanno
FollowupID: 629898

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 00:32

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 00:32
At this time of year your can be pretty certain that someone will come across you, even if you travel alone. We did it in a convoy of four vehicles last July and it was pretty easy going.

As the others have said, just lower your tyre pressures and you'll be OK.

And you never know....if you look hard enough you will find this.....
FollowupID: 629937

Reply By: Member - Glenn H (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 19:59

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 19:59
Hi again, went to Boggy hole 34km from Hermannsburg in a Pathfinder on Mon 27 April. No low range needed, just the occasional high range 4WD in a few sandy bits, the rest is compacted river gravel. No sign of any campfires and did the km in an easy 1.5 hours. Lots of fun driving down the riverbed with beautiful rivergums. Tyre pressure at 24 psi gave no problems. Cheers, Glenn
Warrie

AnswerID: 362488