Minimun Time Alice Springs-GJR-Wapet-Broome-Halls Ck-AS.

Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 14:09
ThreadID: 68276 Views:2587 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
Would do you think would be the least amount of time you would need to do this trip.
Have done some calculations but am curious too see if you reckon 3-4 weeks would be too short.
We are not grey nomad status yet so longer is out of the question.
Dean

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:04

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:04
About to do the Gary Junction this year, so can't help yet!

You say minimum time - does this mean just driving not sightseeing? Or do you plan it as a sight seeing tour? I presume the latter as it is a complete loop. Big difference - minimum of three times as long for sightseeing compared to driving.

Do you intend to camp where you get to come dark - or want to stay at known locations/towns?

Return route via Tanami? We took around three days on the Tanami - mainly driving.

AnswerID: 361860

Follow Up By: Dean - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:01

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:01
Hi Motherhen,
Camp wherever, just a sheltered spot with wood if possible.
A bit of both, we never stop and look at everything, but we normally drive 10-4 with normal stops along the dirt. On the highway we try to cover as much as we can safely do.
Ive read on the transit permit you cant camp overnight or have fires, have you read that or have I got it wrong?
Dean
FollowupID: 629904

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:13

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:13
Hi Dean - i only know about the way we went last year - the Great Central Road. The permits did not allow camping outside of designated camp grounds.

Mh

FollowupID: 629913

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:47

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:47
We did much the same a couple of years back but came up from Tassie.Up to Alice, across the GJR onto Kidson, GRR then down Tanami, Finke, Oodnadatta and back to Melb.We did it in 6 weeks total.Would have liked more time but didnt have it.We saw heaps but missed heaps to.
AnswerID: 361931

Follow Up By: Dean - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:55

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:55
Nick,
Are you around, how long do you think you spent of the 6 weeks on the Alice-Broome-Tanami-Alice section.
Dean
FollowupID: 629902

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:06

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:06
We took about 7 days to get to Alice and same back home so spent 4 weeks from Alice up nrth and back to Alice.As i said it was rushed but great also.
FollowupID: 629907

Follow Up By: Dean - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:15

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:15
Thanks Nick.
FollowupID: 629914

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:53

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:53
Dean

Kintore to 80 Mile Beach is about 4 days relaxed cruising. Three nights out camping as I recall.

A day from AS to Kintore. I'd aim to get to Mt Tietkins or thereabouts on the first night. East of there the road is too busy.

That leaves plenty of time to mosey through the Kimberley.

Halls Creek to AS is two days, ie one night camping.

AnswerID: 361932

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:11

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:11
Gee Bob - you must have wings. We left Halls Creek and had lunch at Wolfe Creek Crater, then camped not that far from Balgoo Hills turnoff first night. Second night near Granites Mine (we did leave there a bit later than usual), and third night a bit south of Yuendumo.

FollowupID: 629911