Nissan Patrol 4 cyl turbo Diesel

Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:33
ThreadID: 68281 Views:8850 Replies:8 FollowUps:18
Am hunting for the right vehicle to pull Adventure Camper Trailer Was told by bush mechanic not to touch the 4 cylinder Nissan Are there any Nissan owners with a 4 cyl Turbo diesel who would share the pros cons & or pitfalls of the Nissan. Thanks Daz

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:36

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:36
A search on "grenade" will do it
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 361882

Follow Up By: Member - daz (SA) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:49

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:49
I love riddles
FollowupID: 629641

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:51

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:51
They don't call them grenades for nothing. Look at the patrol owners forum.
It will be very enlightning
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 629643

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 09:10

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 09:10
daz its not a riddle, what is being suggested is use the search function in the box at the top of the Forum and search for the words, Grenade or 3.0 litre Nissan and a few variations on them.
The results will keep you reading for ages and will pretty well assure you that buying a 3.0 litre Nissan is not a good idea if you are after a reliable vehicle.

FollowupID: 629772

Reply By: Voxson - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:39

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:39
Lets see,,,,, it will sucks heaps of fuel if you tow with it.
Possibly 16 litres per 100 or more if it is auto.
They seem to have a limited lifespan,,,, you defniately would not touch one if it had more than 150k on it.
Resale is shocking,,, which is good for you,,,, as you could possibly buy one for a song..
Pros are that all the running gear bar the engine and box are the same as the 4.2litres..
Buy the 4.2 nissan and dont even think about the 3litre..
They have no engine braking downhill,,, you might as well accelerate all the way down hills....
The manuals have shocking bottom end lack of torque..
AnswerID: 361883

Reply By: Member - daz (SA) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:51

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:51
Then it looks like the Toyo L/C may be the best What is your thoughts on the non turbo L/C diesel There seems to be lots of the Standard model about at $25K
AnswerID: 361887

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:56

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:56
Good and reliable vehicle but s l o w. It will do 5-700,000km between engine rebuilds if looked after.
The IFS model have the V8 petrol or the brilliant turbo diesel. There are patrol owners that have put the yota T/D in their patrols.

The 4.8 pertol and 4.2 Diesel patrols are OK just not the 3litre. I think the 3 litre may have a lower towing limit too.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 629645

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:57

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:57
Good and reliable vehicle but s l o w. It will do 5-700,000km between engine rebuilds if looked after.
The IFS model have the V8 petrol or the brilliant turbo diesel. There are patrol owners that have put the yota T/D in their patrols.

The 4.8 petrol and 4.2 Diesel patrols are OK just not the 3litre. I think the 3 litre may have a lower towing limit too.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 629646

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:58

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:58
oops... must be Monday...LOL
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 629647

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:26

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:26
I'm one, LOL

that put a yota motor into my ex 3ltr Patrol that is.
See my blog Daz.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 629652

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 02:26

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 02:26
I have always thought to myself, Toyota makes a good motor but crappy diffs, Nissan makes a good vehicle, diffs and gearbox but crappy 3ltr motor.

To make a good vehicle put a Yota donk in Neeesan and get a good rig.

But hey then just buy a Pajero, no need to swap parts and get a great rig. LOL

Look through the archives and see how many blown motors, gearboxes or diffs Mitsubishi's get, yet everyone seems to think there are only 2 makes for Off Road.

Was in the Hi Country with ex EO member Warfer last week who drives a very nice Hilux, and his exact words were he wished he had not believed that Toyota make the only reliable 4X4 when he bought it. Nothing wrong with it mind you, but there are other brands guys.

FollowupID: 629754

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:38

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:38
Hi Daz
I won't comment I'm a bit bias lol lol. there will be plenty who aren't.

Daza
AnswerID: 361929

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:53

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:53
The comments remind me of when I used to tell the kids to sweep up all the Bullets from behind the TV after a old fashion western, lol lol.
FollowupID: 629690

Follow Up By: Member - daz (SA) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 20:53

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 20:53
Ive still learnt nothing
FollowupID: 629712

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 21:17

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 21:17
Well heres what to learn.
Whilst a lot of 3.0 nissan owners have had no trouble, an unhealthy % have.
They are famous for burning out pistons necessitating a full engine rebuild.
Thus they are nicknamed GRENADES.
As posted read the sorry stories on the Patrol forum and u will get the idea.
Look for a 4.2TD 100series and sleep soundly not having to wait for the pin to drop out and the grenade to go off.
A non turbo Cruiser is slow but bulletproof but its up to you to decide.

FollowupID: 629718

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 02:30

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 02:30
Graham, If you do lots of off road with the 100 series, you just wait for the diff to let go.

We have quite a few in our local club and high percentage have had front diffs replaced, not that I'm sticking up for the grenades, wouldn't buy a Nissan purely because they have no after sales service.

FollowupID: 629755

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 09:01

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 09:01
I have no intention of doing any off road unless unavoidable I bought it to tow a large van around Australia.
Front diffs are apparently sus if you do snatching in reverse due to the way the teeth are cut.
Also a lot cheaper to fix than a whole motor
You here far less about that than blown up 3.0 Grenades

FollowupID: 629771

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 13:40

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 13:40
Totally understood Graham, horses for courses, but I just thought if Daz is buying an adventure camper and probably going off road then he should know about the Yota diffs, but I also agree they are cheaper to repair than 3ltr grenade, having a mate who has just had to do it.

FollowupID: 629817

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 18:42

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 18:42
AS long as you are going forwards you wont have diff trouble.
If you try and tow backwards up a steep hill you possibly will.
Blow a diff You will probably still get home.
Drop a grenade and its a long walk..

Easiest answer I would think is not what should I buy its what I shouldnt and I think we have settled that.

FollowupID: 629863

Reply By: snow - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 06:25

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 06:25
Issues of longevity with the Nissan are always a concern especially if travelling to remote locations. Yes I agree that anything can go wrong with any vehicle and O'Toole's law states that Murphy was an optimist so...

I did plenty of miles in an auto and now have a manual and I find the Nissan unfriendly around town and almost like a 2 stroke in getting off the mark.

I have also done plenty of km in a 105 sries 4.2 TD auto tojo and the Nissan doesn't compare with Tojo in my opinion.
AnswerID: 361982

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 08:03

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 08:03
After the experiences I had with mine a 2003 Auto, and the problems my parents had with theirs 2005 manual, avoid at all costs. While the pins in they are a great vehicle and motor, then one day the pin falls out. At the very least you will spend thousands fixing various problems, radiators are a common one, leaky intercoolers, warped exhaust manifolds, blown head gaskets, and eventually they go bang burning a hole in one of the pistons, usually no.3.

After forking over many thousands to have mine fixed, I traded it for a 4.2TD 100 series. My parents have just spent $8000 getting theirs fixed with Nissan not wanting to know a thing about it and are trading it for a diesel Pajero.

If you can find yourself a 4.2TD Patrol then by all means, but DO NOT BUY A 3.0L PATROL, YOU WILL REGRET IT.

Cheers Snowy.
AnswerID: 361996

Follow Up By: Member - daz (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 18:30

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 18:30
Thanks every one for your contribution

Have found at Pickles Auctions two ex Telstra 4.2 diesel cab chassis 2004 models patrols 135K & 235 K Turbo interccoled
Both with steel lock up canopy & even a hot water service for hand washing.
Priced at $19 & $26 Both with split rims & 2 spares

Consider these may be good value Canopy prob worth 3500
Already have the Adventure Camper That pulls well behind the Commodore

Thoughts please on the value of these vehiclesBoth with service books.

Reckon the 230 K at $19000 may be good value

Daz

FollowupID: 629860

Reply By: Member - daz (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 20:15

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 20:15
Thanks every one for your contribution

Have found at Pickles Auctions two ex Telstra 4.2 diesel cab chassis 2004 models patrols 135K & 235 K Turbo interccoled
Both with steel lock up canopy & even a hot water service for hand washing.
Priced at $19 & $26 Both with split rims & 2 spares

Consider these may be good value Canopy prob worth 3500
Already have the Adventure Camper That pulls well behind the Commodore

Thoughts please on the value of these vehicles Both with service books.

Reckon the 230 K at $19000 may be good value

Daz

AnswerID: 362109

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 08:18

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 08:18
Daz

Both actually seem good value, see if you can find out where they came from, Telstra or Dept of Lands is one thing, ex mining or off the aboriginal tribal land reserves is another. All other things being equal, if you can afford an extra $7k for a lot less kilometers then why wouldn't you. Not sure if you can with auction vehicles, but for around a $100 a RAA inspection is worth every cent.

Snowy
AnswerID: 362188

Follow Up By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 08:21

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 08:21
Oops should have read your reply again about where they came from. From rer-reading it I assume the one with 135,000km is not turbo'd and intercooled? If not then just add an extra $5k for a visit to MTQ for a full intercooler turbo and exhaust kit, putting out around 150kW at the flywheel.

Snowy
FollowupID: 629952

Follow Up By: Member - daz (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 08:57

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 08:57
Thanks Snowy
They are both Telstra Both diesel

These are fixed prices prior to auction
Checked them out yesterday
Not allowed to drive or RAA check

They give 5000K warranty on fixed price vehicles

On Car sales . com the dealers have same ex Telstra around $30000

What I like with the Telstra canopy that they are lockable Solid etc

Even have a small hws in them to wash hands etc

FYI look up Pickles on google & have a look at their vehicles.

Thanks for your interest

Daz
FollowupID: 629958