ford ranger

Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:42
ThreadID: 68283 Views:2646 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
Any comments..good or bad about the 08 ranger 4x2?

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:39

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:39
It's made by Mazda, that's gotta be good.

AnswerID: 361900

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:57

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:57
Hello cooks & welcome to the site. We have the 07 Mazda version 4x2 twin cab with the high body. It's a 5 speed manual & we use it to tow a 19 foot jayco pop top which has a loaded weight of about 1900 Kg.

The 4x2 version has a rated towing capacity of 2500 Kg whilst the 4x4 is rated at 3000 Kg.

The vehicle is our first diesel so I am not in a position to offer comparison info. We have had it since new & All's I can say is we are more than happy with it's performance & Mazda after sales service. I am a bit heavy footed but we get about 12 Km to the litre in city traffic, 10Km/litre hwy & an average of 14Km/litre when towing the van at about 95/100 kmh. Hope that helps

AnswerID: 361903

Reply By: rocco2010 - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 18:20

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 18:20
Gidday cooks

I have a Ranger 4x4 but if my experience is any guide you should be happy with the 4x2. The 3 litre engine is an impressive worker with good economy and in in the 4x2 would be more than adequate power wise.

Like the man said, it's built by Mazda ... but doesnt come witrh the Mazda price

Rocco
AnswerID: 361906

Reply By: zacc - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:01

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:01
we use a 4*2 at work itis a diesel and goes like the clappers . i give it a bit of a hard time and handles it no worries.
AnswerID: 361916

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 20:04

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 20:04
Our work Ranger has a small tank so the range is fairly ordinary. The Suicide doors of the extra cab are brilliant for access into the rear.
Cheers Craig........
AnswerID: 361938

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 20:22

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 20:22
It's not available with a Petrol engine.

Don't understand that they didn't offer that option when every other manufacturer does.

Oh, how good would it be with the 190kW six from the Falcon.

Otherwise, it is just an update of the previous Courier. I drive one, it's an OK ute. Mine is a 4L V6, heaps of mumbo for a "Tradies Ute". Good, serviceable vehicle.

AnswerID: 361942

Reply By: wigger - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 23:07

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 23:07
Economy exceptional- got 17kms per liter (5.88 l/100km) going to Sydney the other week when road works and traffic meant you had to travel at 90-95kph.

Handling diabolical in the wet - running Bridgestone 623's and I don't think other tyres would make it much better. If no load on the back, will head off into the scrub if you corner at speeds that
most cars will handle. You need to pay attention on wet days.

Motor i(2.5)s quite torquey and minimal gear changing required.

If a single cab, there is not a lot of leg room, and insufficient seat rake adjustment for any one over 5'9"

Wellside version is big, nearly 2.4m long so you can get a lot of gear on, and rated to carry 1.4tonnes.

Price is great - probably driveaway for 20-21 and you're getting a diesel for no premium over a petrol engine of the same power output. Why anyone would buy one of those 4cyl petrol hilux dungers beats me.
AnswerID: 361971

Reply By: briann532 - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 10:23

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 10:23
Hi cooks............

Ranger = brilliant
I use mine as a "tradie's ute - with a body on the back" and it goes just fine.
Excellent tow vehicle. Good economy.

I am interested in your thoughts on the "hawk".
I am looking at replacing a camper trailer setup with the hawk just for the convenience.
Camper takes a while to set-up and longer to pack up.
No problems if you are staying for a week, but those overnighters become a pain.
We have 2 toddlers and by the time you make all 4 beds, set up etc. Its just plain hard work.
Jayco looks like a good option.
I also like the idea of everything ready to go.
No connecting bottles running lights etc.

Any comments or things to look for or ask appreciated.

AnswerID: 362020

Follow Up By: cooks - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:30

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:30
HI Brian,

We've only had our Jayco for about three weeks and the Ranger for about the same time. As a result we have'nt towed it anywhere yet because we have to do 1000kms in the car before we can tow with it.
We did set the camper up in the shed at home and it only took ten to fifteen minutes to do (excluding the bed flys). another fifteen to twenty minutes and the annexe was up. Without any experience at such things we were surprised at how easy it was.
For an overnight stay without fussing with an annexe you could be comfortably set up in less than half an hour.
The double bed end has a safety barrier that can be pulled up for the toddlers. This may be an option but our van already had it being second hand.
We are currently looking at an auxillary battery to run the vans lights when there is no 240 power available, which can be run through the standard transformer in the van.
We'll know more once we get out on the road with it!!

regards..Cooks
FollowupID: 630137