Toyota Landcruiser V8 Petrol 100 Series, The smoothest thing!!!.

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:10
ThreadID: 68331 Views:4179 Replies:8 FollowUps:4
Ok, gone from Landrover Zone, into Toyo Country, Have both at the moment, But must say the Toyo 100 series is a surprise package ,in the way its built!! Irrespect of what motor, when you lay underneath one ,you get the message!, Even with the IFS and probs known They are still a tough machine in comparison with all the soft road competion thrown at them!!.

Niissan included..LOL.

No I'm not pi@@@d!!, or taking sides, just general observation,

AND HOPE i don't get converted one way or the other!!....lol.

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:14

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:14
Welcome to the Club... :)
AnswerID: 362128

Reply By: Falco80 - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:37

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:37
Go the yota!
AnswerID: 362143

Reply By: stumbly - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:44

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:44
"nissan included" ??? please.....your dreamin!
LOL, oh c'mon, some one had to bite!
AnswerID: 362144

Reply By: Davo_60 - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:45

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 21:45
They are good thing, and realistically they will go anywhere. Both engines are brilliant, I do have a soft spot for the diesel though. I prefer them to the new 200's we have at work, they really feel huge and haven't grown on me yet. Very comfortable long distance vehicle, I actually prefer the IFS.

AnswerID: 362145

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:21

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:21
But the LandRovers have Character..........feels like you are driving a piece of history. Aluminium body, strong chassis, great suspension, and unbelievable fuel economy.

Aren't you going to miss that?
AnswerID: 362155

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 23:05

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 23:05
Will always have the Landy 130 work ute mate! '

FollowupID: 629924

Follow Up By: Member - John M (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 07:00

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 07:00
Welcome to the Tojo Club Axle. I am very happy with mine.
You may have a change of opinion when you visit the cashier at the petrol station. My 100 series V8 has an addiction to petrol stations, I have to take a strong hold of the wheel when nearing anything that says Shell, BP or Caltex or anything closely related to unleaded petrol.
Enjoy it.

Regards John
Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

FollowupID: 629940

Reply By: Paul (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 15:50

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 15:50
Congratulations Axle - hope you enjoy it.

I have had mine for a bit over 4 years since new. Only problem so far has been the oil pressure gauge which had to be replaced at the last service.

All the best,

AnswerID: 362269

Reply By: Bob the - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 21:03

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 21:03
G'day Axle, My V8 100 series cruiser is off to Autocraft in the morning to get a Heavy duty 50mm lift which will actually be a 75mm lift in the front and the rear, includes heavy duty torsion bars,new 75mm crossmember,wishbones braced for extra strength and welded,upper A bars strengthened by welding,with long travel shocks all round... This cures the unreliable IFS problem I'm told... Axle I'm about to head up to Birdsville/Eyre creek to test my new suspension set , so stay tuned for a trip report ... All the best ..
AnswerID: 362339

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 21:26

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 21:26
Axle,

Is this the same vehicle that required an engine rebuild at 177,000 km?

AnswerID: 362343

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 19:55

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 19:55
Sure is Jim, But thats history you could go on about till the cows come home!!, Rather look forward than back, the thing is running like a swiss watch, and should do so for some time,i hope...lol.

FollowupID: 630202

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 20:12

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 20:12
Axle,

That's terrific, I'm assuming the dealer came good on the warranty.

Nothing quite like the smooth power of a V8.

FollowupID: 630205