Plastic Bags

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 09:23
ThreadID: 68342 Views:2121 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
SA Gov has stopped the use of light wieght plastic bags ...the type used at supermakets etc etc

Hope we see a cleaner environment in the near future...they were a pain to the eyesight

Advert on radio on this point rminding us to use reusable bags goes like this

1st Lady: "Did you hear"

2nd lady: "mmm.... what?"

1st lady: "Joan Rivers...."

2nd lady: "no.... what?"

1st lady: "she's carked it"

2nd Lady: "Joan Rivers......she's dead?"

brief silence

then a deep voice
"SA has killed off Old Plastic Bags"

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 11:38

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 11:38
Used responsibily they are the better than alternatives and so we have planned ahead and have hundreds which should last for years when Vic goes down this lowest common denominator path as well.

I store then with our supply of incandescant light bulbs.

AnswerID: 362229

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 11:51

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 11:51
The domestic market for blown film is very small. You should see the hundreds of pallets that are film wrapped daily at our company.. Also all the pallets that are transported on trucks around the country, all plastic wrapped, millions a week, then cut off and dumped!! Michael

FollowupID: 629994

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 12:04

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 12:04
I'm really going to begrudge buying plastic bags at some time in the future ... as there are hundreds of uses for the shopping bags besides just throwing them away after getting back from shopping.

FollowupID: 629997

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 12:58

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 12:58
Most governments quote the Irish trial a few years ago where plastic bags were banned and their use declined - dah they were banned of course their use went down - however what the trial also found that is normally neglected is that the use of high quality plastic bags substantially increased as people had to buy these to use where shopping bags were used - the result was instead of poor quality plastic going to landfill, it is now high quality that lasts much, much, much longer - end result was more environmental damage than before - however shopping bag did decrease.

Garry
FollowupID: 630002

Follow Up By: PradOz - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 13:52

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 13:52
Hi Robin

i have been trying to stock up our supply of incandescant light bulbs too, but have run into a brick wall with each supplier i have been into now not stocking them - includes grocery suppliers and even bunnings. may have to find a few smaller outlets i think - got any spare for sale ;))
FollowupID: 630008

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W- Esq (VIC) - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 20:33

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 20:33
go to electrical wholesalers,i bought 4 bulk packs for the outlaws 2 weeks ago for $4.50 per 10 pack.
FollowupID: 630075

Follow Up By: PradOz - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 16:03

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 16:03
hi paul - wish i lived near you. $12/pack of 10 here and now none left at wholesalers. i bought last lot at one and other had none left anyway. you should have stockpiled heaps and started a black market up here ;)
FollowupID: 630154

Reply By: bgreeni - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 12:58

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 12:58
This is another example of a world driven by a few fanatics. This decision was taken despite advise from a Commonwealth Govt.. commission (I forget which one) that bags were not a great problem.

Also the research re deaths of marine life has been debunked.

Still the urban myths persist (Like so called greenhouse effect) and we all must suffer
AnswerID: 362242

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 14:58

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 14:58
Well I for one, lament the loss of my effective, no mess, little yellow fire extinguishers ... whilst container ships continued to leak tons of CFC / flourocarbons whatever ... whilst traipsing around the oceans.
FollowupID: 630013

Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 17:26

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 17:26
Re useable bags, for grocery shopping would be a good thing, but the things supplied by supermarkets, Woolies etc,are absolute crap you can't get home without the A@@e falling out of them..lol.

AnswerID: 362287

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 18:52

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 18:52
So now we buy bags to replace the ones that we used to get 'free', then we have to buy kitchen tidy bags, made out of?
Hmmm .... let me think for a minute .... Ahh! I know ... PLASTIC.

The so called "Green Bags" cost the supermarkets around 10 - 12 cents each, so I would imagine that they would be very happy to see palstic bags banned, as they are selling them for $1.00 each!

AnswerID: 362306

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 13:41

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 13:41
And what are the 'Green Bags' made out of... woven PLASTIC !!

FollowupID: 630142

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 16:00

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 16:00
A couple of quotes off the net .......

A CSIRO research scientist, Dr Mike O'Shea, says the green bag's only environmental credential is that it is not the single-use high-density polyethylene plastic bag still given out in most shops and supermarkets.

The green bags, which are made from non-woven polypropylene, are designed to have a relatively long life but they are not designed to break down in the compost heap, he says.

Polypropylene is a byproduct of oil refining, O'Shea says. Produced during the process is propylene gas, which, when put into a reactor, becomes propylene powder. After stabilisers are mixed with the powder, it is placed in an extruder, which produces propylene pellets, which can then be turned into a range of things including car bumper bars and food containers. If the pellets are melted, they can be made into a fibre which can then be made into bags.

Australians are being conned," says The Age newspaper. "Your environmentally friendly green bags are made of plastic - polypropylene is a fossil fuel-based plastic. The bags are also imported from China. So, plastic, non-renewable, doing nothing for our balance of payments and guess what? You're paying for the privilege. Supermarkets are laughing all the way to the bank."

FollowupID: 630153

Reply By: The Top End Explorer - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 22:28

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 22:28
Welcome to the 21 century, we haven't plastic bags bin Jabiru for 10 years.

Get over it and get on with it.

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 362360

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 23:08

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 23:08
So what do you put in your kitchen tidy?
FollowupID: 630100