Tyres for softroaders?

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 22:47
ThreadID: 68376 Views:7714 Replies:10 FollowUps:0
Yeah, sorry, YATT.

What I want for the Forester is a light truck tyre with AT pattern but they're not available for the std rim size and going bigger is not enticing.

The application will be highways (est. 70%) , gravel and dirt roads (25%) and the odd track (5%).

The OEMs are Yoko Geolanders. 40% worn after 12 k km. Prone to sidewall damage.

Mich All Terrains: wear fast acc to user reports.

Leaves Bridgestone 683s (Alenza in the US). Local retailer says they're Jap made and have stronger sidewalls than the comp. Or Pirelli Scorpions.

Anyone had any experience with the Bridgestones or Pirellis or anything similar?

TIA.

Reply By: Arlo - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 23:47

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 23:47
Ho mate ,

I would put the Toyo AT on your Forester you need to go to 215/70/16 A/T that what we just put on ours Forester great tyres they got strong side walls I used toyo tyres before for my 4x4 never had a flat mate- here is a link check it out
Arlo

http://www.toyo.com.au/OPAT.htm
AnswerID: 362378

Reply By: hopo - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 00:15

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 00:15
howdy.
ill say same as arlo go for the Toyo AT they are the Best cost 220 dollars

the Geolander Go12 should be ok too cost 220 dollars .
but you have to go to 215/70/16

the Bridgestone D693 215/65R16C they are LT tyres

I myself would go for Toyo!
hooroo
dan
AnswerID: 362381

Reply By: Sigmund - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 07:12

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 07:12
Thanks guys. Toyo's sound good.

Would have to go with 215/75 with them acc to the Website.

75 is the aspect ratio? So that would make them a bit taller than the std 60? Any drama there?
AnswerID: 362388

Reply By: Mandrake - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:25

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:25
Had Scorpions on my old Jeep - Great for the bitumen especially wet handling .. Can't say much about the dirt as I sold it before I had a real good go with them ..
Mandrake
AnswerID: 362433

Reply By: Arlo - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:27

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:27
Gday again

If your tyres are 215/60/16 you have to go to the Bridgestone
215/65/16 they are LT and good tyres YOU cant go to 215-75-16 understand ?

the yokohama Geolander G12 they have them in 215/65/16 they are great tyres for your suv!!

or just get commercial tyres they are LT like the GT Radial
Maxmiler CX 8 ply

just do some reseach mate
cheers Arlo

AnswerID: 362435

Reply By: workhorse - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:30

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:30
I've been through this saga with my forester before. The bigger tyres will affect your insurance (whether that's important or not) but you will have problems fitting into your spare tyre bay unless very deflated.
I have been using the Bridgestone 683s for 30k km. My driving is winding mountainous bitumen, highway and hard stony gravel. I'm not really happy with these compared to my previous Toyo HT (highway tread) in original size. They were great all round, lost some wet weather capability at 55k km+. I got 60k out those.
The Yoko AT look good, but I've never got or heard of long life from them. Check out the subura sites.
AnswerID: 362436

Reply By: Arlo - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:56

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:56
hey workhorse

I dont think one size up in tyres will affect your insurance anyway his forester can only go up one step but 2 step wider!! All the tyre dealer do that all the time ...
Arlo
AnswerID: 362440

Reply By: Sigmund - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 18:30

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 18:30
Thanks guys.

Lots to think about.

I can get the Bridgestone 683 on special for $165.

Will it be up to rocky tracks do you reckon? I managed to trash two OEM Geolanders on one (but one of those incidents I should've avoided).

There's also a Maxxis AT-771 Bravo in a 65 ratio.
AnswerID: 362475

Reply By: Member - Sheepie (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 19:52

Thursday, Apr 30, 2009 at 19:52
We put Dunlop Wranglers on - normal size, very happy with the result. Did Strzlecki, Bore Track and Arkaroola with them last year.

Don't know if they're what you're looking for, but suited our purpose nicely.

Stock Geolanders we found crap - and the tyre guys said they were impressed with the 35k we got out of them!
AnswerID: 362487

Reply By: Sigmund - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:40

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:40
Came across a couple of useful sites in this quest, with tyre details as well as tests and reviews:

Tirerack

AnswerID: 362578