Oil filters

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 08:13
ThreadID: 6838 Views:4528 Replies:10 FollowUps:7
Just wanting opinions on aftermarket oil filters for diesels…I know most will say stick with the dealers brand and all, but if oils aint oils, then are filters still filters?
I bought a Valvoline filter for $25 from Supercheap auto (for 80 series) and when compared to the ‘yota one, it just looked like cheap crap. Surely there must be a better aftermarket brand that’s cheaper than the dealer one.
Yes, I know, stop being a tight arse…..but if you don’t ask, you’ll never know.

Reply By: Mulga Bill - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 08:19

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 08:19
I'm into Ryco for both of mine on the 99 Jack...fine so far...look ok to me.Get me outa these suburbs !
AnswerID: 29157

Reply By: Ed - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 11:00

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 11:00
G'day mrdesmo,
You asked for opinions, here's mine....

RYCO!!!!

Ryco is the only aftermarket brand of filters (oil, fuel, & air) that I will consider...
Price (within reason) is not an issue for me with filters...

GUD Holdings (Rycos' parent company) is an Australian company which has been making filters for a long, long time & IMO are as good as you can get..
I know they also have manufacturing facilities in NZ, & also Seth Efrika, I believe..

Sure, there may be others (imported, cheaper) which are just as good, but it's RYCO for me.

Ed.C.

AnswerID: 29172

Follow Up By: Member - Peter [SA] - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 18:30

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 18:30
Genuine oil filter is only $32.48 @ my toyota dealer, nearly the same price as Ryco.
FollowupID: 20350

Reply By: The Moose - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 13:30

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 13:30
G'day mrdesmo
Try a Don Kyatt outlet. In Brisbane they trade as Sunshine State 4WD at Archerfield - not sure what the go is in other states. They sell the same filter as you'd get at Toyota but at a fraction of the cost. Same deal for both diesel and petrol filters. Same again with fuel filters and any parts you might need. You'd have to be crazy to go to Toyota. I am not on their payroll - just a happy customer.
AnswerID: 29182

Follow Up By: mrdesmo - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2003 at 07:40

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2003 at 07:40
Thanks Moose, there's a Don Kyatt round the corner from here, I've spent many $$$ there in the past and been happy with their lot, so will give him a go.
FollowupID: 20390

Follow Up By: Hughesy - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 12:51

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 12:51
I'm with you there Moose, I've used Sunshine State 4WD for parts no mater where I've lived in the country because even with the extra of frieght its still heaps cheaper than Toyota.
FollowupID: 20858

Reply By: colin - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 14:22

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 14:22
i run fleetguard filters, a lot of transport operators use them on their trucks, and are made in the states and are reasonably cheap. Col
AnswerID: 29190

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 15:42

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 15:42
I bought a filter mate adaptor that allows me to use a Ryco Z9 ($6 from K-Mart) on my 80 series. I change it every 5K
AnswerID: 29214

Follow Up By: mrdesmo - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2003 at 07:42

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2003 at 07:42
G'day Coops
Can you give me any more info on the adapter? Does the Z9 have the same volume as the standard 80 series one? Thanks
FollowupID: 20391

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2003 at 11:44

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2003 at 11:44
Business name is FilterMate and they're in Qld somewhere (Strathpine I think). That's about all I've got for you at the moment mate as it's been 3 years since I fitted the adaptor (costs $110 which is 2 x Z334 filters where I come from). If I'm lucky enough to find any more info then I'll drop you a line
FollowupID: 20413

Reply By: CAMEL - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 17:50

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 17:50
MICRO you'd probably have to go to a filter place as never seen on any shelf,
there made in japan, look id & 2 stage as genuine to gen minus the writing, by memory about 27 bucks
AnswerID: 29231

Reply By: howesy - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 18:04

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 18:04
All filterss have to conform to standards. If the filter fits and it claims to filter to a specified micron rating then you shouldn'd have a problem especially if you change the filter every 5000.
I do over 50,000 a year and and in the last four years haven't had any oil related problems. Most cheap brands are made by ryco anyway. I am sure others will argue but thats my opinion for what it is worth. The question for you is if you use any brand can you sleep at night knowing that it's changed religiously. If the answer is yes then save some money.
AnswerID: 29235

Follow Up By: mrdesmo - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2003 at 07:44

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2003 at 07:44
Yep, oil every 5000 like clockwork, and I sleep during the day (nightshift worker!!)
FollowupID: 20392

Reply By: Glenno - Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 20:13

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2003 at 20:13
I bought 2 Genuine Hilux oil filters from SciFleet at Albion in Brisbane last week for $25 in GST each. If they are the same size as the 80 series then the valvoline at supercheap for $25 aint cheap!

AnswerID: 29251

Follow Up By: mrdesmo - Wednesday, Aug 27, 2003 at 07:51

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2003 at 07:51
Hi Glenno, I just sold my Hilux, and the Supercheap Ryco and Valvoline filters were about $8 a pop, so I was quite surprised by the large difference in price for the 80, hence this question. When you look into the Toyota filter it looks exremely well manufactured, almost too good to throw out, and when you did the same with the Valvoline one, it just didn't compare in quality
FollowupID: 20393

Reply By: Member- Rox - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 01:18

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 01:18
mrdesmo
Ryco Z334 oil filter = $26.95 at Marlows 6mths ago
Repco Z334 = 34.99

Ryco filters(box of 24) from Filter Supplies WA in Welshpool.
Hope this helps.Have 4WD will Explore
AnswerID: 29397

Reply By: Member - Stephen- Friday, Sep 26, 2003 at 16:16

Friday, Sep 26, 2003 at 16:16
how are you mrdesmo, sorry this is very late (just finished moving towns). used to work for repco auto parts ,than a toyota dealer . I would spend the extra dollars on the toyota filter they are recommened to be changed at 10000km plus if they stuff up toyota pays for all repairs. BUt if you do use aftermarket use ryco or wix filters (wix are american ) or fleetguard.sorry for the late reply.
Regards StephenJNQ.
AnswerID: 32120