Ther price of dealer supplied oil

Submitted: Friday, May 01, 2009 at 17:45
ThreadID: 68421 Views:4666 Replies:16 FollowUps:15
Yesterday the little Xtrail went in for its 100,000km service and whilst we are happy with the service by the dealer I do notice that the price of the engine oil is almost prohibitive.

I normally use 5w30 Castrol Edge for oil changes inbetween major services and this can cost $10lt for 5lts.(Can get it cheaper in the big smoke if you shop around but live 250km from there)

I see that the dealer charged $16.57 per litre for FMX Castrol Magnatec 10w30

Sheeeesh!!!!!!! Them are the breaks!

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (Malanda - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 17:56

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 17:56
You know they have to make a profit but Wow! You do not have to wonder why people do their own services. Maybe you got a gold key ring with the service :-). Have fun on your trip. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 362650

Reply By: Member - Roger T (SA) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 18:15

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 18:15
castrol fmx 10w40 $7.40 per litre when adelaide hills toyota service my prado. i do the 5000k services and they do the 10,000 ones.
AnswerID: 362654

Reply By: wallabyjack5 - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 18:33

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 18:33
Its not only the price of the oil you have to watch but how many ltrs they charge you.Sent a car in for a service notice they charged me for 5.5ltr the car only took 4.5ltrs according to the service manual.When I queried it they said oh sorry the computer automaticly charges it out.I said well someone has to put it in the computer.
So if you multiply every service they do over a year add an extra ltr to each one, not a bad profit on top of there already profit.

Glyn
AnswerID: 362658

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 18:36

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 18:36
Willem

Buy your oil from the local distributor (if still available).

Kim
AnswerID: 362659

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 18:41

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 18:41
G/Day Willem
Following on re: the drama with the Sump Plug a couple of weeks back, did they double check it for you? at that price you don't want to spill any lol lol.

Daza
AnswerID: 362660

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 21:14

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 21:14

Yes, new seal/gasket fitted.

FollowupID: 630499

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 19:33

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 19:33
This week I bought a 20 litre drum of Mobil1 5W30 @ $261 from the local Distributor. (he said I'll give you "trade price") whatever that is these days !!)

Cheaper to buy in 20 litre packs I was told. What is everybody else paying for 20 litre drums of Mobil1 5W30 ?

Last oil change I used 2 x Mobil1 5W50 5 litre packs from SC @ around $58 ea ???? (Can't buy Mobil1 5W30 from SC).

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 362667

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 21:01

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 21:01
I bought a 20 lit of Penrite HPR Diesel 15w 50 for $139 and thouht that was dear.

Magnatec is only $31 for 5 litres at Snoopercheep or Autobarn.

I supply my own filters and oil when I get a service

Am using Terrain Tamer filters half the price of Toyota
FollowupID: 630375

Follow Up By: Inkbandit79 - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 08:36

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 08:36
Graham you lucky bugger, i just paid $176 for the same on wednesday and it was on sale!
FollowupID: 630417

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 09:03

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 09:03
Where was that I bought mine in Albury and the previous one in Caboolture was only $110 so thought $139 was rather expensive

FollowupID: 630420

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 10:47

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 10:47
Oils ain't just oils ....

When I had the 2003 ZD30 Patrol the book said 15W40 (and that grade is generally around the $50 mark for 5 litres).

The later 2005 ZD30 Patrol had the oil specification changed to 5W30. That's a fully synthetic oil. At one servo the price was $98 for 5 litres. Or, buying 4 x 5 litre packs = $392. Certainly made $261 a LOT cheaper ;-)

You have to compare apples with apples.

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 630438

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 13:08

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 13:08
Graham,

I am running the same diesel 15 in the pajero.
Any idea where can you buy it in 20 litre drums in Brisbane area?
I usually get it at the local supercheap in 10 litre drums when they have their 20% off deal, and get a couple of drums.
But we all know S/C is not as cheap as they would like you to believe. :o)

FollowupID: 630450

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, May 03, 2009 at 14:06

Sunday, May 03, 2009 at 14:06
Try an Autobarn I usually bought mine at Caboolture cos I lived on Bribie

I just walked in off the street in Albury and got it for the $139

FollowupID: 630571

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 19:34

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 19:34
As soon as you give them the keys mate they have you by the short and curlies.
AnswerID: 362668

Reply By: curious - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 20:12

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 20:12
The garage servicing my Prado was charging $7 per litre for engine oil but the last 10k service (oil and filters) cost $550. For some time, I reckoned they were charging excessively and decided to do all servicing myself (was doing alternate 5k oil/filter change).

I copied the service items and km intervals from my Prado’s handbook into an Excel spreadsheet to make it easier to monitor. However I then started to compare what my former garage had done (from their invoices) to the Toyota service requirements. I found significant discrepancies: e.g. change transmission & diff oils at 40k intervals. 70k has elapsed since last change, so 30k overdue. I’ve just bought dif & gearbox oils for $85, garage had charged me $180.

I’ll accept a reasonable margin from garages on parts & fluids but won’t accept them not following Toyota’s service plan (which is not excessive). From here on, my service book might not have dealer stamps but I’ll know it’s been done properly.

AnswerID: 362678

Follow Up By: Ino - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 20:21

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 20:21
Amen to that, brother!

Besides - getting down and dirty with your car will allow you to nip in the bud most of the problems which usually dealers let slide by, because when it breaks it's $ka-ching!$ time.

One of my good mates has a full-blown hoist in his shed. I chip in when it has to be periodically checked, and I have access to it. It's bloody brilliant - it makes *so many* things so easy, you can't even begin to imagine.

Ino!~
FollowupID: 630368

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 09:06

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 09:06
And on that note , took our Rodeo to the "local" [120klm away] Holden dealer , asked about auto g/box service kit [ filter + gasket] , Reply " what do want that for " ,, to give box a service says I , reply " dont need a kit ,just drain fluid and replace at 100,000 klm or so" ,, Yeah right says I ,explain how come book states filter change at 40 thou + 80 thou ect ect ,, ,,,, Dealers service stamp in a log book really is no indication of a vehicles TRUE service history.
FollowupID: 630421

Reply By: Sigmund - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 21:09

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 21:09
Shoot, fully synthetic for the motorbike now costs over a hundred bucks for 4 litres and gets changed every 6k km. That hurts.

Not to mention av. rear tyre life of 5k km and $300 to replace.

The cost of boys' toys :-{
AnswerID: 362687

Follow Up By: shaneo86 - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 21:36

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 21:36
looky,

go to place called GIBBS or a truck service place get your oil filters etc from there like fleetguard , baldwin , donaldson hell of alot cheaper like got my oil filter and fuel for $45 bucks for the lot and magnatec for the 3LTD from super cheap for 59 on speical and then look for a K&N air filter simple and take it all to the dealer and say here shove that upp your ring for your crap prices for oil and etc thats wat i do and they HATE!!! it trust me i used to work at one the loose alot wen you take your own in
FollowupID: 630386

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 21:32

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 21:32
Sounds like you got a good deal. My Suzuki diesel cost $172 for engine oil and $35 disposal fees at the dealer service. I think it under 6 litres that is required. The last time I go to that dealer and I will be asking the price of oils first next time.This dealer quoted a price for the service plus oils and environmental charges and get you to sign a form to that effect on delivery for the service. Never thought they would be that blatant.

Neil
AnswerID: 362694

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 09:23

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 09:23
$35 disposal fee ?? THEY get PAID for the used oil from recycle companies ,, $28.66 per lt for oil ? Ripped off big time me thinks ,, buy your own oil + filter from some place like Superch-p , a filter spanner , a socket and bar to fit drain plug , a Gregories manual for the Suzi if you have never lifted a spanner and save your dollars ,, a bigtime BONUS is also the self satisfaction of doing the service yourself.
FollowupID: 630425

Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 22:26

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 22:26
Willem I paid $99 for 20l of Castrol 10/30 professional oil from the local Castrol agent. Though I will be buying Penrite next time.
The other thing the irks me about dealers is they usually only have two 200l drums of oil, one for petrol and one for diesel. You pay top dollar for quality and get rubbish. Disclaimer cannot speak for all dealers.
AnswerID: 362706

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 01:57

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 01:57
Sometimes it's only one 200L drum! They call it fleet lubricant - one spec covers petrol and diesel, light and heavy diesels, you name it.
FollowupID: 630409

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 23:26

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 23:26
dealers charge a minimum of $130 per hour and 60% mark up on materials . .5 /litre equates to 1 liter there are no half litres
AnswerID: 362717

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 01:59

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 01:59
What you guys are forgetting is that dealers selling oil are like restaurants selling bottled wine - normal wholesale to retail markup, then add another 150%!!
AnswerID: 362727

Reply By: Janset - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 11:31

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 11:31
Hi Guys, my 5 cents worth.

I buy my oil in bulk and paid $98 for 20 litres Caltex Delo Gold 15w40.
and get 1 and 3/4 oil changes from a 20 litre drum. You can buy bulk oils at most truck stops in the Metro area.

My advice is get a Gregory's Manual for your model and buy your own oils and do your own servicing. Gregory's does a very good job of walking your through each and every service and this way you will save yourself heaps on labour costs.

If you have a look at your service schedule you will see that there is a lot of 'check this or that', you are paying for all these 'checks'.

Another big problem is that with store bought services they tend to have arbitrary milages where they chance certain items like fan belts and hoses etc.

You do not have to be a rocket scientist to tell if your fan belt does or does not need changing. You should always be carrying spare hoses and belts at all times anyway. If in doubt, then change.

The only item that I change at the arbitrary mileage is the cam shaft belt as on my troopy it is a semi enclosed item and sometime that I would not like to replace out on the track should it break. Everything else you should do your self. This also helps you to get to know your truck more intimately.

AnswerID: 362777

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 21:10

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 21:10
Janset

I am afraid that you are preaching to the converted. I do all my own work and servicing to a point on the diesel and only farm the work out when I get lazy.

But these new fandangled electronic buzzboxes (Xtrails) are something else so all the major services get done by the dealer. I do all the minor stuff. Next time I will take my own oil along.

FollowupID: 630497

Follow Up By: Janset - Sunday, May 03, 2009 at 01:45

Sunday, May 03, 2009 at 01:45
Sorry Willem, I will just back into my little box :-)

FollowupID: 630518

Reply By: V64Runner - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 11:37

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 11:37
I have learned the hard way after being ripped off by ****Masters ! I use Penrite HPR Gas 20W60 Costs $38 per six litres . Between $10and $13 for the oil filter, and do the job at home over the weekend. Sod the dealers and the franchise thieves out there. Have my own grease gun so do that at home at the same time as I do the engine oil change.
AnswerID: 362778

Reply By: Member - Netnut (VIC) - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 20:17

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 20:17
Hello Willem,
I wrote to the local Toyota dealership complaining about the high cost of the oil ( around $12 per litre) and was invited to bring my own to the garage when the vehicle was next serviced; which I did. I bought a 20-litre drum for $125 at the local AutoPro shop.

I also complained about having to pay for the disposal of the used oil which I know is sold to a recycler.

I also complained about paying $70 per hour for labour and was advised that with oncosts the figure was not unreasonable.

I threatened to take my business elsewhere. I was advised that I would receive a 10% discount on every service at the local dealership during the remainder of my ownership of the vehicle.

I suggest you approach the manager of the local business and point out your dissatisfaction and ask for a better deal ! If they won't come to the party, go elsewhere for the next service.

Netnut
AnswerID: 362848

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 21:06

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 21:06
Hi Netnut

We are happy with the dealer service as stated in the original post.
No use getting wound up over a couple of dollars.

FollowupID: 630496