Shonky maps...... saving maps problem

Submitted: Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 11:25
ThreadID: 68556 Views:3353 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all,
Thank you to all that helped me to get my brain around the Garmin and maps loading, all is going ok but i have one problem. When i load a Shonky maps to the Garmin, it deletes or overwrites any previous Shonky maps that were previously loaded. How do you keep adding maps to the SD card and retain them all?? thanks in anticipation, Michael

Patrol 4.2TDi 2003

Retired 2016 and now Out and About!

Somewhere you want to explore ? There is no time like the present.

My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 11:35

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 11:35
Hi , i am new to this as well but from what i understand is that any new info overwrites the old info as you say . So i guess buy a bigger card and put all the maps to it at the one time .
AnswerID: 363470

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 12:36

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 12:36
Hi Michael,
thats correct, Garmin overwrite anything loaded earlier. The trick is to load the maps you want onto the card. Turn your gps on and go to your menu system, maps. Then highligt the map you want and either select or de-select it as required. If two differnt map sets are loaded onto the one card eg. shonky map plus Oztopo, the two different maps will overlay one another. So if there are any differences in the maps you may see 2 roads running paralell to each other when there should only be one. Hope this helps.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

Lifetime Member

AnswerID: 363476

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 12:53

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 12:53
ah - is that right you can have 2 at the same time
-perfect because i was getting a bit annoyed because while the shonky has more tracks no roads are named for me to reference off
FollowupID: 631149