Submitted: Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 18:01
shaneo86
well,
First problem with the colorado/rodeo the clutch gone...allready before the trip to bundy i told holden that it wasnt rite but they said wait till i get back...sure i said no worries got upp there ok came back and yup stuffed slipping burning heaps the lot... been in there now for 2 days goin 3 all that they have said is its major and the front diff leaking oil...like wats with these cars/truck motors are they just making them weak or is it where they are made the little thai fingers not doing the rite job...
asked if it under warrenty and guy said ummm...could be depends on wat we find wen we pull it all out pfff... a warn out crappy clutch is wat they will find
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 18:39
Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 18:39
Driver error....better dig deep into your pockets
Reply By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:24
Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:24
shaneo,
How many Km has the car done?
Do you tow?
A mate has one with 40,000km and has a number of problems -:
1. Gearbox noise, just on the 39,000km mark
2. Front brakes worn out inc rotors at 40,000km
3. Flex in the chassis when ball weight is more than about 60kg's - this is very noticeable with the eye on the margin between cab and tub. 60kg is my mates weight and he just lightly jiggles on the tow ball to make it flex. Long term cracking issues there.
I believe most of the new dual cab ute's are junk. I have one. They are not made for harsh use , just a toy. I reckon if I kept
mine I would drive it into the ground in 10 years. Just not good enough especially when they advertise them as a hard working tradie vehicle.
Good luck with the car shane.
Marco
Follow Up By: shaneo86 - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:55
Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:55
marco,
is your mates the colorado?? or rodeo
mines the colorado its only got 9,700 its in for its 10,000 as i was ...WAS ....goin to go out to
places like
birdsville etc... thats gone out the window na i dont tow hasnt even got a tow bar its got these things
. TJM alloy bullbar
. TJM air tec snorkle
.ARB air compressor
. beudesert stainless system
so not much weight for the diff to be leaking or for the clutch to go and its not a trade car just a out and about 4wd for trips and work and beach etc... only been on
the beach 3 times with no dramas
Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 16:40
Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 16:40
The Rodeos bend the chassis over the rear axle quite frequently maybe it is still the same chassis
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:35
Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:35
In Thread # 68549 you told us about getting stuck in the sand at
Rainbow Beach. Do you think that this had anything to do with the clutch failure ?
Follow Up By: shaneo86 - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:50
Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:50
Kiwi,
na the clutch was fine before the trip up to bundy only a slight differance with in and out not but much...getting stuck on
the beach i was still moving and was no smell after the bogging and recoving wasnt till i pulled upp at home that we all noticed the smell as i had to fill upp at
rainbow and no smell
Reply By: DMH122 - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 21:59
Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 21:59
Hi Shane,
Ask the dealer about problems they are having with the slave cylinder, & if it could have caused the clutch problem.
Cheers Grant.
Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 05:44
Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 05:44
You will need to be quick on your feet- when they do pull your clutch out - they WILL find its worn out - they WILL tell you its classed as Fair wear and tear ( or driver related)
they will not honor warranty
you need to have a good understanding of what could have gone wrong and why it has failed to have ANY chance of a warranty repair
when they ask -- you have not driven on
the beach - the sand they may find maybe be left over sand from some graded dirt roads you have driven on.
try to find others that have had similar probs - maybe there is a rodeo
forum ? ( try google)
they will try to get out of warranty ANY way possible as they dont get paid to do warranty work but they do cash in on Non warranty work ..
good luck
Boc