Nissan Warranty

Submitted: Friday, May 08, 2009 at 16:53
ThreadID: 68643 Views:2740 Replies:12 FollowUps:14
Mate with a 2004 GU after a recent trip to the High Country wants to know will have any hope with Nissan Warranty!! As today he went to have his tyres rotated and one wheel nut was cross threaded, so far this vehicle has had to have a new Fuel Pump, Short Motor, Alternator, Oil Leak also at Fuel Pump. Blown main fuse by service centre while fitting Alternator.

Other than these small insignificant problems the vehicle is excellent running order this week.

Mind you this is Friday.. Or is this the contender for best Fridays funny.

Reply By: Member - Broe (WA) - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 16:57

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 16:57
Tell him to sell it and buy a Tojo.
AnswerID: 363882

Reply By: pickle - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:00

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:00
Well if it was mine I wouldn't be laughing. Feel for these guys that just have so much greif with their vehicles. Might be a sighn to get rid of it!
AnswerID: 363884

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:06

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:06
Dave,

He was here when I wrote it, he knows the drawbacks, it will probably have a Chev in it next year.

FollowupID: 631543

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 12:26

Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 12:26
May also be a sign that its finally sorted. Call me Blaze

FollowupID: 631659

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:07

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:07
I forgot to add, my comment to him was maybe the Tyre Fitters expected it to blow the motor befor it needed rotating. LOL

AnswerID: 363886

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:40

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:40
Blaze,

Hopefully you might find my post of some value.

1) Cross threading of a wheel nut is not a Manufacturers Warranty Item. The cross threadding comes about due to negligence/lack of attention or just plain bad luck on the part of the party removing/replacing the wheel.

The onus is on the offending party to make good the stud/wheel nut. If it was a Nissan Dealer who was responsible it would be no diferent to it being the local tyre dealer or workshop.

Best of luck,

Ian.
AnswerID: 363890

Follow Up By: Tenpounder - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:47

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:47
Couldn't agree more, Ian.
We all know its great fun to take the mickey out of Nissan and present them as ....
But really, this thread is about one wheel nut, cross threaded by person unknown, date unknown, on a five year old Nissan. Tell me, which manufacturer (even Toyota) would want to know?
Chris (SA)
FollowupID: 631550

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:13

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:13
Not having a shot in any way at Blaze or his mate.

We all have areas in which we excel and those where we might be lacking.

Just hoping to assist Blaze and friend obtain a satisfactory resolution.

FollowupID: 631553

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 01:57

Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 01:57
Chris and Ian,

Thanks for your replies and it will be fixed, by the fitters who stripped it, this was a bit of a tongue in cheek dig as he had the Alternator go this week, and Nissan blow the fuses trying to replace Alternator, then the wheel nut was like the last straw. Of course this was all after all the other hassles he has had in the last 12 mths.

By the way this is second GQ, first one no hassles, and he still wants to keep it and fit a Chev.

So whole post was a bit of him using me to have a dig at Nissan's NON-Warranty, which I believe has been proven, take out the feelings of is the product good or bad, their warranty or lack of is a real put off.

They could bring out the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx vehicle ever seen next year and he wouldn't buy another due to warranty hassles and I can't blame him.
FollowupID: 631601

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:01

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:01
You reckon your mate has problems.....!

Bought on 02 GUiii 2 years ago with 152K. Since then, new motor, turbo, radiator, clutch and flywheel, belt tensioner, intercooler and Gearbox. Think of your kids university education because that's what I've spent Blaze lol!

You know what. It's still the best damn vehicle for doing what I do so I look at it as a new vehicle. They'll have to bury me in it as I can't afford anything else Ha ha.

Tell him to spend a few hundred dollars and fit an EGT gauge where he can see it and perhaps a boost gauge. That'll let him know when he's approaching the diesel death zone (500C +). I can't see a cross threaded wheel nut being a warranty issue unless Nissan fitted the wheel. Very hard to prove. Trust he has the extended 6 year warranty option.

AnswerID: 363896

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:26

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:26
Diesal death zone, bit low on temp. Have a 92 4.2 diesal GQ super charged it about 200,000 ks ago, and have had it up to 700 on the EGT many times towing camper with total GVM of about 4 tonnes. have now done 370,000ks and never had any probs, best vehicle out, i will beat it to the grave. Col
FollowupID: 631558

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:37

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:37
I'll be taking mine to the grave with me KC, I hope. Only going by what my mechanic says. Have pushed it past 500C occassionally (usually towing and uphill) but always back off. Call me gunshy I suppose.

FollowupID: 631562

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:42

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:42
Have never gone by what a mechanic says, only what a engine rebuilder of many brands of engines says. Col
FollowupID: 631564

Reply By: kiwicol - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:19

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 18:19
Im a Nissan man GQ 4.2, But its always a mate. Col
AnswerID: 363903

Reply By: Willem - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 19:06

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 19:06
Yerrr Blaze...methinks your mate bought a Monday Morning car

He will just have to keep on paying. And it is 5 years of age now. OR cut his losses and flog it.
AnswerID: 363911

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 10:35

Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 10:35
Better still. Get you mate to drive it to the Elizabeth Shopping Centre car park andleave the keys in it.......hehehehe
FollowupID: 631648

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 12:28

Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 12:28
Or bring it to Footscray and take the keys with you

FollowupID: 631661

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 12:56

Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 12:56
Maybe a Friday afternoon car also Willie, they have found them to be high on the list of failures.. LOL.

Guess the fact that he has plans to make it a Chevissan says he will grit his teeth and bare it. But I do like yours and Sir Bonz idea's. I do have a question though? Would anyone take it.. LOL

FollowupID: 631666

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 19:09

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 19:09
If the tyres were recently changed over by a known person/company I'd persue it with them. If it's been a while since the wheel has been off then it's probably yet another hard luck story to add to the list as it could easily be argued the owner unknowingly cross threaded it himself last time he had a flat.
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 363913

Reply By: Steve Ellis - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 19:25

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 19:25
Change the wheel stud and get on with life. Not a big issue.
AnswerID: 363917

Reply By: Nutta - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 20:02

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 20:02
Only a rattle gun would cause it!
AnswerID: 363923

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 20:29

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 20:29
Gday Blaze,
Will cost $10 for a new stud and nut.
Replace it yourselves - need to know how to do this out in the bush anyway.
AnswerID: 363928

Reply By: APN - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 20:37

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 20:37
Hey Blaze

3litre of 4.2l GU?

All vehicles have problems - as an example have a look over the search re the issues posted recently re the 200series LC's

Sometimes you are unlucky - I know 2 blokes with 200series LC's - one guy had nothing but problems (electrical's) - the other guy has had no problems whatsoever - both do similar km's on similar road conditions.

Some people drive 3l Patrols and have no issues at all and some have them go bang.

I had a manual V8 100series for 5 years before recently changing to a very low km GU IV 4.2 Patrol - each as you would appreciate are different vehicles.

Would always cop the IFS was "is for shopping", but the LC never ever missed a beat over some pretty good tracks/trips - I am confident the Patrol will deliver the same reliable service!

Al
AnswerID: 363932

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 09:34

Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 09:34
Far to balanced a viewpoint there Al....you really have to be either a Yota or Datsun man you can be both. Now give yourself an uppercut and say 3 hail Mary's for pennance :-))
FollowupID: 631631

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 09:35

Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 09:35
Shoud have read ....you can't be both.
FollowupID: 631633

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 12:29

Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 12:29
I am both

FollowupID: 631662