Wetsuit seat covers

Submitted: Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 21:54
ThreadID: 68709 Views:4665 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
Hi guy's, I was in arb on Saturday and saw a set of neoprene seat covers on special but the only had em for a hilux. I was just curios if any one else has fitted these and how do they rate them. the throw over one that i've got is starting to bunch up and annoy the hell out of me.

Reply By: Member - Royce- Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 23:02

Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 23:02
Sound awful to me.

What colours do they come in?

What is special about Hilux? Surely they would fit a lot of seats of similar size and shape? Neoprene is stretchy.

I reckon it would be horribly hot in some situations.
AnswerID: 364233

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 08:57

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 08:57
On the surface I would be nervous about how hot they would get in the summer. I don't think neoprene breathes, making things sweaty on a hot day.

They may have a solution, as I find it difficult to think they would put something like that on sale, knowing the apparent pitfalls.

jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 364250

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 09:14

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 09:14
Closed cell neoprene wont breath, but open cell will. I have a piece in my left hand at this very moment.
Murray

FollowupID: 631945

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 09:15

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 09:15
How thick was the neo the seat covers wrer made from?
Murray

AnswerID: 364251

Reply By: Inkbandit79 - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 18:55

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 18:55
They were only about 2 or 3 mm thick and were a s*%t load cheaper than the canvas ones being a tradie i was after something that was easy to keep clean and because the missus think's I'm a grot
AnswerID: 364346

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 19:51

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 19:51
Any idea how much they cost?
Murray

FollowupID: 632050

Follow Up By: Inkbandit79 - Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 20:14

Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 20:14
Muzbry by memory i think about 80 bucks but im not 100%
FollowupID: 632360

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 22:44

Wednesday, May 13, 2009 at 22:44
Gday Inkbandit
I asked the price because the cost that i pay for Neo open cell is about $27.50 per sq m. That doesn't leave much for manufacture. But they may buy lots more than I .
I buy about 12 sqm /month, but am unlikly to use the stuff as a seat cover.I also have nice sheets of leather to use as a seat cover,for about the same price, but as yet have not bothered.
Murray

FollowupID: 632390

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 00:51

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 00:51
I have Neopren throw-overs for my leather seats. I use them when I come from the boat and am still wet when I climb behind the wheel.
Good for that purpose but to sit on all the time ?? noooo way

good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 364415