Rooftop tent ladder

Submitted: Monday, May 11, 2009 at 09:32
ThreadID: 68713 Views:8760 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Morning Team,

I have been searching the net for a rooftop tent ladder But have been unsuccessful. I recently purchased a rooftop tent on eBay that I am regretting now but that’s another story. The ladder that came with the setup is of very poor quality and after doing some initial testing last week I made up my mind to get a new ladder that’s stronger. If it’s going to support my weight, SWMBO’s and the tent we will need a better stronger ladder. The manufacturing (China) company is of no help and I have given up on the emails and phone calls.

I had a look at Bunnings and everything they have there is too long. I need about 2.5 all up that slides down to about 1m.

My next step might be to contact places like ARB and the guys that make the howling moon tents and buy a ladder of them?

Any other ideas?

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 09:38

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 09:38
Give this bloke a ring

Yuri 0403 584 872

He is also an ebay merchant but sells very good quality South African Rooftop tents. He also stocks spare parts so should be able to supply you something suitable.

I deal with him and find him to be honest and reliable.

AnswerID: 364254

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 11:28

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 11:28
Try Opposite Lock in South Sydney, they sell Howling Moon rooftops and accessories that go with them.

The bloke I dealt with was Gordon...very helpful.

AnswerID: 364270

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 16:59

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 16:59
We got a step ladder and removed the rear brace. A lot safer and wider steps than your standard roof top tent ladder. SWMBO’s loves it and it is much easier to climb. Just added a couple of clips to the side to place over the rail and shes a beauty. Can send a photo of the ladder setup if you wish. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 364329

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 17:15

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 17:15
a photo will be great thanks mate. Will PM you
FollowupID: 632015

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 18:17

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 18:17
Troll 81. Standard el cheepo 1800 ladder with rear stand removed, made some more braces out of angle and pop riveted at rear of treads. Extended with angle and made handles at top out of 25mm SHS. Added clips of choice to mount to side rail placed for scrub protection & put in 4 x eye bolts to tie it up on top of the tent. Also put padded felt strips on the back of the ladder to protect the tent when stored on the roof. Pictures Below

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 364338

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 19:37

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 19:37
Thanks for the photos mate will be very handy. How does your tent open up? over the back or the side?
FollowupID: 632042

Reply By:- Monday, May 11, 2009 at 20:15

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 20:15
As you are a Queenslander why not call up Aussie Traveller...they are somewhere in Brisbane...

they make the best roof top tents and am sure they will be able to stitch you up with a ladder , and given that you bought a cheap bleep one, ..not to mention the others being the South African crap called Howling Moons , others reckon are the go ...well in the long run you would have been far better buying a good aussie product with fantastic resale value...dont even look at the quality of course ...thats why you are asking for help !!!

But then of course , just look at how much you saved !!!
AnswerID: 364372

Reply By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Monday, May 11, 2009 at 20:34

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 20:34
hi there i aquired a chrome ladder off a double decker bed it hangs on the side of my truck when you stand on it it moves only with the weight of your body when it sits on the ground the vehicle tends to move up and down when you get into bed.
been using it this way since 1984 we like it ,we put rubber sponge pipe on rungs.
cheers reggy 2
AnswerID: 364376