T.W.M. GEN 850 generator

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 10:41
ThreadID: 6881 Views:9333 Replies:11 FollowUps:5
There is the abovementioned generator advertised for $279 by The Tool Centre, Kilsyth, on the back page of today's Melbourne Herald/Sun. Is this the Yamaha copy that everyone has been raised on several previous posts? Is it the same as the one sold by Helton?"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat

Reply By: Willie - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 10:59

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 10:59
Hi Wombat,

Do not have an answer to your question BUT if the retail price is $279 then the cost of manufacture is most likely around $50.

You pay peanuts..........you get monkeys.

CAVEAT EMPTOR

Willie
Never a dull moment
AnswerID: 29424

Reply By: bruce - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 12:50

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 12:50
Yes Wombat..they are all the same ...Repco has them for the same price under a different name... other companies have them ..I think Mitre 10 call them Warrior brand..they are a little thirsty and only run at the one speed unlike the very much more expensive but better and quieter Honda..but gee it is a big difference in price...so that buys a lot of fuel and they are really not that noisy .
AnswerID: 29440

Reply By: David N. - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:50

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:50
Yamaha now have an inverter model similar to the Honda Eu1.0 but supposedly better....
These two-stroke cheapies are not in the same league.
I agree.. you pay peanuts...
AnswerID: 29456

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 15:41

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 15:41
Does this mean where going to have a whole heap of noisy generators out there ?
And just when things were settling down to a nice quiet level too.
Personally I think they should be banned from sale and hope that their failure rate is so high so that word spreads around quickly and they stop selling 'em.

Sorry guys - just my point of view !
AnswerID: 29461

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:32

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:32
gday coops.
i know its only your point of view but i believe that the nice quiet hondas are having problems and cost nearly as much as a new one to repair.—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
FollowupID: 20578

Reply By: crowie - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 16:36

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 16:36
Sold at Magnet Mart in Canberra under the name "Millers Falls". Made in China - 850Watt and heavy as.........
AnswerID: 29465

Reply By: Tom78 - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 17:08

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 17:08
My mate has one of these and we took it away recently. I didn't miss a beat ran the lights fine and wasnt that loud & used next to no fuel. It may not be as good as the honda's but they start at around $1000 for the same output. For the the approx five times a year it's used $300 is a much more acceptable outlay.
AnswerID: 29470

Reply By: Member - Owl (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:08

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:08
I also have one of the "millers falls" generators and find it does quite well
as previously mentioned quiet and economical, as for life expectancy well
as people have mentioned you get what you pay for, but so far so good.
And to answer your question Wombat yes it is the same one.
AnswerID: 29476

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:10

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:10
gday wombat.
i love the way people get on here and bag the crap out of theese gennys and most of them wouldnt have the slightest idea about them.
i own one and could not be more happier with it .
not as quiet as honda but not much noisier.we used ours heaps and heaps at easter im guessing 30 hrs or more around 12 litres of fuel.they do idle when not loaded and rev slightly when full load.they have 12 month waranty.so dont worry about the knockers if it suits your needs and budget go for it .
ps if something goes wrong with it and parts are a little prob after waranty the genuine yamaha ones fit.
—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
AnswerID: 29477

Follow Up By: Willie - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:19

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:19
Good grief.......I hope I never have the misfortune of camping near you with your noisy gennie running 8 hours a day.......but then again, I tend to avoid crowded places.
Willie
Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 20575

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:27

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:27
gday willie.
where we were camped there were only one other lot of campers.who were also running a genny(original yamaha but that cost them about $1100 they wernt to happy lol)we had the genny no more than 20 ft from where we were sitting could barely hear it .i would not like someone with a genny running it all the time and anoying me and i wouldnt do it to others.30-40ft from genny you couldnt even hear it.
cheers and if we do go camping together ill leave it at home—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
FollowupID: 20576

Follow Up By: Willie - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:39

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 18:39
Good ! and Thanks :-)Never a dull moment
FollowupID: 20580

Reply By: haze - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 21:00

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 21:00
Just one thing about those genes, they sometimes dont stop at 240v. Have seen them go as high as 325v. (digital meter) which could play havoc with some equipment. The normal small honda has a voltage regulator, its a two pole alternator which means 3000rpm= 50 cpm, 3600rpm=60cpm (us frequency) and the voltage remains constant.
cheers haze
AnswerID: 29500

Reply By: Dennis (Brisbane) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 22:19

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 22:19
To beat the noise you can always try what we do in the Army........

Dig a small square pit slighty larger and deeper than the dimensions of the gen set. If you run the gen set below the ground level a lot of the noise is directed straight up rather than out horizontally.

Amazing what a difference it makes and we are not talking about a big effort to dig such a small hole.

Obviously if it rains ..........................................
AnswerID: 29512

Reply By: Matt - Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 14:58

Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 14:58
What would it be like running a laptop ?

AnswerID: 29554

Follow Up By: David N. - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 01:04

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 01:04
DO not run your laptop off a cheap genny...... unless you are very brave. Much better to run it off 12v through an appropriate adaptor (DiCk Smith and Tandy sell them)
A friend "fried" his $3500 laptop when a cheap generator pumped out too much AC voltage. Ouch!
If you run it off 12v (even perhaps being charged by a cheap generator) you avoid this possibility...
(IMHO)
FollowupID: 20841