Bush Welding

Submitted: Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 17:34
ThreadID: 68818 Views:4040 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
Hi all ,
I would like to be able to weld simple breaks out in the bush and I was told that I dont need a welder just a few rods and jumper leads is this true? or are they just talking out of there rear end!
I dont want to carry a welder as I dont have the room any input would be great .
Regards John.

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 17:37

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 17:37
That's dinkum all you need is a couple of fully charged batteries and your cooking.

May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 364863

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 17:43

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 17:43
Hi Mike,
Im happy to hear that but can you explain the process and is it as effective as to be able to weld on small brackets?

Cheers John.
FollowupID: 632485

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 17:48

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 17:48
Do a search here on the forum or on google for "bush welding" (with the qoutes). You'll get more info than you need.
FollowupID: 632487

Follow Up By: Bushwhacker - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 17:57

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 17:57
Pretty sure it is demonstrated in a blog, possibly by Mick O. Have a look for a blog by Mick O then look through some of his others when the topics come up. 'Whacker
FollowupID: 632490

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 18:02

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 18:02
We always carry the few bits you need to do simple welding John.
3 leads - 1 to join two battereis cause you really need 24v , some small 2mm welding rods , glasses tinted for welding etc.

Key thing to remember is that negative goes to the welding rod.

However I gotta tell you that in practise we use electric drill , bits of metal and pop-riveter, bolts and good cables ties to solve many more problems than welder does.

AnswerID: 364872

Follow Up By: travelguy62 - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 19:26

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 19:26
Gday Robin,
Carry the same bits neccessary for bush welding.I broke a trailer spring years ago and repaired it this way using a couple of stainless welding rods(carry a few differant types).It held up for the rest of my trip in the Cape.
Cheers Guy
FollowupID: 632513

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 18:16

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 18:16
Here you go...bush welding May 2008 west of Lake Mackay, WA

I have learned that the master welder welded a broken radius arm on a LC 80 last week in the middle of the Simpson Desert

AnswerID: 364875

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 19:56

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 19:56
Hello all you good people, thank you for the advice once again,I just went to look at Mick Os blog and it looks good to me and after seeing that Prado bar below that will do me fine to get us out of trouble,I didnt know you must use 2 bateries but if 2 batts are on the ground do I run a strap between the POS on one batt to the NEG on the other then the spare POS I use to Earth the job and the spare POS I use with the stick ?
I think thats right if not just let me know guys because I have a spare clamp and a spare rod holder sitting in the garage and I will make up a kit over the weekend :)

Regards John.
FollowupID: 632522

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 20:39

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 20:39
John,

there is a great article on the Landcruiser owners website lcool. Here is the link to itBUSH WELDING ARTICLE

It's what I used as a reference when trying to find out about bush welding.

FollowupID: 632545

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, May 15, 2009 at 07:47

Friday, May 15, 2009 at 07:47
where did you get all those tools ..angle grinder, machine vice, wire brush
you sure you were in the desert and not around the corner from a garage..:)
FollowupID: 632607

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 15, 2009 at 07:54

Friday, May 15, 2009 at 07:54
Hahahaha....everyone brings something with them.

My contribution to that job was the Century Battery. But I do carry most things shown except the Angle Grinder
FollowupID: 632608

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 18:36

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 18:36
John,

If you can weld with a 240v welder at home with a bit of pratice you should be able to weld using batteries.

I have made a few repairs over the years to parts that have failed. Unfortunately I don't have any photos of the set up. Very hard to take a photo when welding, but I do have a photo of one of the Prado bull bar bracket that was fixed at Well 47 CSR.

AnswerID: 364877

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 18:37

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 18:37
Here you go John, have a look at this

BUSH WELDING

AnswerID: 364878

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 18:48

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 18:48
I do recall someone saying:

"Errr...Mick, that trailer looks a tad light on"

Reply...."Nah, she'll be right mate"

You certainly go the full gamut on your treks!

FollowupID: 632504

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 20:29

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 20:29
Thanks Big W. I said exactly the same things to the master craftsmen that were assisting me on the construction. They could not comprehend just how rugged the outback was no matter how much I tried to explain or jump up and down they ignored my requests. Thank god I refused to participate unless they upgraded the drawbar from 75x35 to 150 x 50 lol. Wait till you see the rebuild. I'll have to but a V8 donk in just to tow it lol.

FollowupID: 632538

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 20:47

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 20:47
Heres another bush welding article.

Here's how you set up a welder in South Aus - need to wear the appropriate head gear :-))
AnswerID: 364914

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 21:30

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 21:30
I've heard that even ugly members of the opposite sex can appear strangely attractive when one wears the 'beer googles' but what effect can wearing a beer carton have when welding?
FollowupID: 632564

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 21:55

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 21:55
And i spent $500 on an auto helmet,, why ??? when i could just use a Box on me head :)

LMAO
FollowupID: 632576

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 22:17

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 22:17
I note one guy has a beer in his hand. They probably drank the full carton just to get an empty carton for a welding helmet!! Michael

FollowupID: 632582

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 22:19

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 22:19
How would you explain that to your friendly OH&S officer -- :)
FollowupID: 632583

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, May 15, 2009 at 15:36

Friday, May 15, 2009 at 15:36
Ok guys a mate just asked can I damage the batteries or flatten them right out buy doing this ??

Regards John.
FollowupID: 632683

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, May 15, 2009 at 16:18

Friday, May 15, 2009 at 16:18
Where else but Australia?

Gave me more of a laugh than most of the Friday funnies.

FollowupID: 632692

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, May 15, 2009 at 16:46

Friday, May 15, 2009 at 16:46
John,

Provided the batteries are starter batteries N70Z they should not go flat.

When I have used the batteries as a power source for welding I have not had a problem starting the vehicle after the batteries were replaced.

In most cases the amount of weld time is very short. To repair the Prado brackets would have only been no more than 10 min and that was not continuous draw on the battery. Short weld runs usually work better.

FollowupID: 632709

Reply By: Robp - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 23:26

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 23:26
Hi Johnny yes you can do this 2 ways eiher fit a Zena welder generator to your vehicle, or use a Ready Welder 24 volt Mig spool feeder, if you go to a web site www.hydrapneu.com.au or direct to http://hydrapneu.com.au/detail.asp?DocID=104 for Zena or http://hydrapneu.com.au/detail.asp?DocID=105 for Ready Welder
AnswerID: 365318