Electric Brakes

Submitted: Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 23:44
ThreadID: 68841 Views:2919 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
Just about to go on another trip up north and decided to check the brakes on my camper trailer. Pulled off the hubs and discovered the magnets to the electric brakes were completely rooted and had scored the hubs beyond repair. the camper has done two trips approx 30000kms, one to Cape York and the other over east including 4000 kms in Tasmania.I know there was heavy breaking in Tasmania and sections in North Qeensland but the break shoes were only half worn so obviously the magnets must wear out long before the shoes---is this correct?Imust admit I never checked the magnets before going to Tasmania and I knew something was wrong before returning to Perth as the brakes were not working properly.Yes all my fault, but surely you don't have to replace magnets before every trip.The wheels are 16 inch Landcruiser wheels same as the troopy.A good lesson to others doing the rough stuff---check those magnets.

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, May 15, 2009 at 00:20

Friday, May 15, 2009 at 00:20
Hi Rambler

After our trip of 15,000 last year, mostly on outback dirt roads, only on of four caravan wheels had the brakes working. Wiring had come off some due to stone damage, but reconnecting did not solve the problem. We had them fully re-wired by the auto sparkie, and new magnets fitted to two of the wheels by our 4wd mechanic. Everything checked and ready to go.

AnswerID: 364962

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Friday, May 15, 2009 at 04:37

Friday, May 15, 2009 at 04:37
Rambler

I have been driven nuts, by electric brakes, but have figured them out. Eventually I replaced, or had machined most parts. $265 total, and that included new Outback Magnets.. ie no brass cross centres, but a nylon slot, that is not supposed to wear out, on corrugations.

The other thing I am thinking is maybe you got a lot of crud, stuck in there at one stage, or the little magnet spring, was too strong... ( just thoughts )

When checking ours, 2 years back I found a wire had snapped, at the magnet, of course. So it was new ones.
I chose outback magnets, with a nylon centre, (and not brass, in a cross pattern).....,..like I said, they have been on for a while, and seem OK..I have tried to locate them, on the Net, for you, but brain not kicked in yet, (too early)

I have used the camper as an anchor on steep down hill, but not very often, I would rather use the gears. And if I do, then it's pull over for 10 minutes, often to let things cool down.

We are greased up, and ready to go on our trip, the Canning, Kimberley's, and where ever else we choose in the 3 months I have off, or the $$$$$$$ runs out.

Hope this helps a little

AnswerID: 364966

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, May 15, 2009 at 09:21

Friday, May 15, 2009 at 09:21
Sounds to have been wearing far too quickly from my own experience (but I'm only a self taught brake maintenance handyman :-o).......We've had electric brakes (ALKO system) on our Campomatic HD trailer (Ind. coil and shock suspension) for 5 years since new - a great system, and durable - I've been doing my own maintenance since it was new. The only thing relaced in that time was the magnets - not worn out as such (about 75% done I think), but not working either - technician told me they can break down inside and lose their circuit. $120 each. The shoes are still only half worn ! I've not had to replace any bearings or seals at all - just the odd regrease.
AnswerID: 364997

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 00:30

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 00:30
Hi Rambler,
I had same experience after an 8000km trip and found you can replace with off-road magnets (nylon cross centre). I have had these on for a while now and they have already survived way longer than original set.
Regards, Hugh
AnswerID: 365148

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 14:01

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 14:01
Thanks for the replys---I think I will be checking those magnets regularly and the next change will be the "off road" magnets as it seems the standard magnets don't last too long on the rough stuff.
AnswerID: 365224

Reply By: brushmarx - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 14:41

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 14:41
Apologies for hijacking the thead but we just returned from a Brissie to Melbourne trip with the camper trailer. During the night stop, the right hand electric trailer brake locked on. We tried jiggling it by reverse, drive changes, but the wheel would only turn part way, probably just movememt in the brake pads. We cut the wires to stop power going to the brakes, and drove the rest of the way with no trailer brakes.
Does anyone have ideas on the faultor where to start looking??
AnswerID: 365226