What a difference the drop down fridge slide makes.

Submitted: Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:03
ThreadID: 68881 Views:3818 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
What a difference the drop down fridge slide makes.

We just got ours and it’s off up the bush with my wife on a training run. I got it installed last week and the boss was tickled pink. I must admit its heaps easier getting to the stubbies. We have a full width fitout with the two drawers and a bed extension (all extra setats removed) and the old slide had the fridge opening at about my eye height so the boss (slightly shorter) was quite disappointed. She couldn’t even see into it to get anything. Totally done by feel or by me. Now its just as the video shows.

Check them out. I had to wait ages for it as the manufacturer had a hiccup but now, hopefully, all supply chain problems are fixed. As postings last year said. It’s worth it to keep all those vertically challenged happy. (diplomatic aren’t I) Thereby getting more trips out there where it really counts. You ripper.

Worth the cost.

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:14

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:14
VK1DX

I kept staring at the post but the video didn't appear.

Did you think about cutting a side door in the fridge? Big enough for a hand holding a tinny?
AnswerID: 365178

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:19

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:19
The video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjZb9nF7U7c

Cut a hole in the side. It would be akin to cutting a hole in the side of my head. She who must be obeyed would kill me. Ha
FollowupID: 632810

Reply By: Member - John G- Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:57

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 09:57
G'day vk1dx

I'm probably staring at it, but who and where is the manufacturer?
and emmachisit?

I think the problem for me will be the limited space between the top of my Black Widow drawer system and the roof of the canopy, but they do look like the bees knees.

AnswerID: 365191

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 10:00

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 10:00
They are available from Platinum Products in Upper Coomera, QLD:
FollowupID: 632822

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 10:30

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 10:30
Thanks. Checked the specs and as predicted, Murphy's law prevails. I don't have sufficient clearance between floor and canopy door 'roof'.
FollowupID: 632836

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 12:32

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 12:32
Great bit of ingenuity!

I've got to ask, is the knee brace on the model from all the prototypes that failed?

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 365213

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 13:38

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 13:38
Sorry Geoff

I cannot answer the question. Try again.

What "knee brace"?
FollowupID: 632871

Follow Up By: Chev-Patrol 6.5 V8 D - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 17:21

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 17:21
I think he's referring to your wife; she appears to have a support brace or something on her right leg.
FollowupID: 632899

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 17:50

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 17:50
Sorry That isn't my wife. I don't know how that video got into the very first post. I didn't put it there. It makes me look like I sell the things. I am not connected with that company at all. I am just a satisfied customer.
FollowupID: 632905

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, May 18, 2009 at 10:43

Monday, May 18, 2009 at 10:43
Hi vk,

I was reffering to the knee brace on the lady in the video, it appealed to my warped sense of humour.

I never thought you were anything other than a satisfied customer giving us a bit of useful information.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 633186

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, May 18, 2009 at 10:51

Monday, May 18, 2009 at 10:51
Hi Geoff

Thais fine. Don't worry about me. I need to get out into the bush. Been cooped up too much in Canberra and I think all the "hot air" coming out of "the house" is affecting me.

I think baldnes is also like following Parramatta in the NRL.

Cheers and hope to see you on the road one day.

Phil YGH88E
FollowupID: 633187

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 17:53

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 17:53
Please all note that I did not put this video into my first posting. It makes em look like I sell them. I don't even know how to do it let alone how it got here. I am not connected with this company in any way whatsoever. I am just a satisfied customer. I have tried to remove but I cannot.

AnswerID: 365264

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 22:19

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 22:19
Hi Phil
Will it work with out drawer system just on a sheet of ply?

Matt & Julie

FollowupID: 632974

Reply By: vk1dx - Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 07:50

Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 07:50
There isn't a simple answer. Ask the supplier or your local distributor. If a standard fridge slide will work on the ply then odds are that this one will also.

But I stress - Check with the local supplier or the manufacturer.

You wouldn't want it all to go to putty in the middle of the Simpson would you.
AnswerID: 365336

Reply By: Ross H (QLD) - Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 08:04

Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 08:04
Had mine for about 12 months now and it has been great. have done a few trips now on the corrugations and no problems at all.
Have pics in my profile of mine.

Ross
AnswerID: 365338

Follow Up By: Ross H (QLD) - Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 08:07

Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 08:07
Post 60394 has a lot of pics about them
FollowupID: 633036