Suzuki Vitara (or similiar) tips and buying info

Submitted: Saturday, May 23, 2009 at 23:01
ThreadID: 69116 Views:14498 Replies:15 FollowUps:37
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all,

Guess you have heard all this before but I couldnt find a thread relating to it all so I thought I would start one up.

I am buying my first 4wd and I have no previous 4wd experience (but plenty of camping). Although I have yet to get the money (1-2 months probably), I want to set a budget of approximately $5,000. Also, this vehicle will be used much more frequently for day-to-day use, than 4wd'ing.

I have been trying to do as much research as I can, and considering that I will be using the car mostly for getting around the suburbs and highway driving, I would like something with a smaller engine to save me some money on fuel. The car I have in my sights at the moment is a Suzuki Vitara, probably a late 80's to a mid-90's model. I have also looked at others like the Daihatsu Feroza, Suzuki Sierra, and Daihatsu Rocky (though the 2.8D, which I quite like, doesnt fit my "save-the-fuel" bill).

What I dont know, is the details of this vehicle (the Vitara). I figure I can get one in my rough price range, however there are usually around 200,000kms on the clock. My understanding is that the 1.6L is pretty good til 200-250K, but after that a rebuild might be necessary.

Also, I found one online with a stuck-in-2wd-transfer case... I did some research on it, and it seems to be a common problem... I even found one site that gave me a fix for it (replace the shift-sheet, which appeared to me to be just a rubber grommet).

I was also wondering if there are other major issues I should be looking at in either the naturally aspirated, or EFI models?