HZJ80 LC ...will it pull a c/t ?

Submitted: Monday, May 25, 2009 at 19:46
ThreadID: 69172 Views:2886 Replies:13 FollowUps:6
Now be nice.
Will a non turbo 80 series L/C pull a "light" c/t ? Am thinking of hiring one for a weekend to see what the go is. (Or lack of go..I don't think it will pull the skin off a rice pudding but...)

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 19:53

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 19:53
Hi Footy,
I have an 80 series (petrol) Cruiser and owned a Kimberley Kamper which I towed all around the Outback for a 3 month holiday (incl the CSR) a few years back and never had any problems.
Silly as it may sound I haven't a clue what the HZJ refers to so this reply may be useless to you.
DickyBeach
AnswerID: 366674

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:12

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:12
The petrol 80 series is a real goer. The KK wouldn't even have been noticed most of the time :))
FollowupID: 634385

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 07:59

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 07:59
"HZJ" Is the partial model code which makes it a diesel

Donks1
FollowupID: 634446

Reply By: troopyman - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 19:53

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 19:53
The naturally aspirated 1HZ doesnt have much power but good torque so you wont notice you are towing the CT while you are crawling up the hill in second LOL .
AnswerID: 366675

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:13

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:13
That's what I thought. Just one more reason for the trukkies to hate me I guess LOL
FollowupID: 634386

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:08

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:08
Your 80 series will pull the c/t with ease except up long hills. It will perform the same whether the trailer weighs 700kgs or 1700 kgs.
But what a difference a turbo makes if you ever think of doing it.
AnswerID: 366680

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:15

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:15
Yes, thought long and hard about that one. But I suspect that it might be short term gain for long term pain. That motor wasn't built for a turbo.
FollowupID: 634387

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:37

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:37
As long as you keep the boost below 10psi and use a good quality oil the the motor is happy. We have had ours turboed for 4 years and the difference will put any worries to bed.
If you are in Sydney you are welcome to drive ours.
AnswerID: 366688

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:46

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:46
Yes it will, but not very quickly. I have a '91 diesel (no turbo) and lugged a mate's Kimberley Kamper all over Fraser Island two years ago with no ill effects.

Have thought about a turbo, but will almost 400,000km about to kick over, think I might have left it a bit late.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 366693

Reply By: Wherehegon - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:59

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 20:59
Hi there Footloose, you will have no probs pulling it with the cruiser, I use to pull one with a 2.8D non turbo hilux, would sit flatout on 100k on open road but come to a hill was all over, pull to the left and watch the b doubles pass you LOL bit embarassing but the cruiser has more grunt and will pull or day just dont expect it to fly up hills. If you have bigger tyres this will also kill the power when pulling up hills. At the end of the day its no rush BUT can be annoying sometimes not having that bit of extra go BUT also less problems to arise with no turbo. I also looked at putting a turbo on the lux but decided against it due to age klms and some overheating issues some people had........Go for it, not sure where your located but if in Sydney there is a place at Windsor called Kookaburra Caravans he does campers, 16 footer poptops, full size vans etc. I think for memory when our friends hired one last time was about $200 for a weekend..... WHG
AnswerID: 366695

Reply By: Member - Matt H (SA) - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 22:39

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 22:39
Footloose,

I'd hope so. We pulled a 750kg camper around Oz for 22,500 km in 2002 (see my Profile to view camper - or bits of it!). All up, we weighed close to 3 tonne (including a fuel load of 200 litres).

The vehicle we used was a 3 litre NON turbo 1998 Hilux - loaded to the hilt. We averaged 13.1 litres/100km for the trip (but got as high as 20L/100km), but dont expect neck-breaking acceleration!

One thing I learnt - NEVER tow anything heavy with a Hilux in 5th gear! We cruised at 88km/hr in 4th and had no dramas.

It will be all good - but a bit slower!

Cheers, Matt

AnswerID: 366734

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Monday, May 25, 2009 at 23:08

Monday, May 25, 2009 at 23:08
G'day Footy,

I towed a c/t around the Atherton Tablelands when camping with friends the year before last. My non-turbo HZJ-105 dragged it around no problems, just don't be in a hurry when going up hills.
We found it very comfortable, and a quick to set up camp at the end of the day (we are used to tenting)

AnswerID: 366739

Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 06:34

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 06:34
Footloose,
The only time you'll notice it is long hills or in the rare case you find someone slow enough to try and over take.
My CT comes in around 1 tonne fully loaded and as much as more power would be nice the NA diesel just keeps plugging along.
On the flat it will cruise along at 110 kph (in 110 zones) but it naturally creeps up to 120 kph and will happily sit there if you let it, you can then watch the fuel needle move.
They are annoying in steep hills but you get used to it.
A snorkle seems to help.
Go and enjoy your trip.
AnswerID: 366750

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 08:35

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 08:35
Hi Footloose,

When I had my 80 series 1HZ, I used it to tow my caravan. It weighed in at 1600kg and while it regularly saw 3rd gear on hills, it cruised at 100 km/hr on the flat. Once off-road, it used to struggle in sand but was unstoppable elsewhere.

Bogged in dry creek crossing

AnswerID: 366763

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 08:49

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 08:49
Looks like the Finke on the way to Chambers pillar ?
FollowupID: 634451

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 11:16

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 11:16
Hi Footloose,

Nah, not sure of the name of the creek crossing, but was on an unmaintained track ~100km south of Mt Augustus in WA.

FollowupID: 634465

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 08:50

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 08:50
Gentlemen, many thanks for your collective experience. I shall, to use the venacualar, "give it a burl ".
AnswerID: 366766

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 09:39

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 09:39
A mate has done this for the last 10 years, and as long as you are not in a rush to get somewhere...it will do it easily.....most of oz is flat, its just the hills around the eastern coastline that give em trouble. An old cow cokie once said to me....turbos give you 50% more power and 100% more trouble....i personally wouldnt have any issue with turboing a 1hz, it will turn your 4 cylinder performance into a big 6.....but dont do it if you want to go like a v8, buy a factory turbod cruiser and swap bits over
AnswerID: 366778

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 10:22

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 10:22
I have towed my Aussie Swag with a 80 series (non-turbo) diesel for many a year. The 80 series now has 350000kms and has been pensioned off to my daughter who still uses it.

It towed well and cruised at 100 on flat highway but the sight of a hill slowed it down. Used it for several trips through Victorian high country and desert trips and never missed a beat.

Just avoid ranges when towing. It will serve you well.

AnswerID: 366788