Freshwater Lake - Any Water in it?

Submitted: Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 21:14
ThreadID: 69217 Views:2483 Replies:4 FollowUps:2

I was wondering if anyone has been to Freshwater Lake (near Double Island Point in Qld)in the last 2 weeks? If you have, is there ANY water in it?

I was last there in January and despite all the rain at that time, the lake was bone dry. In the previous 6 years I never saw it completely empty.

Can anyone give a report?

Ben

Reply By: friar - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 21:57

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 21:57
BenDiD I was up there about a month ago & it was pretty full . Friar
AnswerID: 366881

Follow Up By: BenDiD - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 08:00

Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 08:00
Thanks Friar,

I was starting to hatch all sorts of conspiracy theories about what was happening to the water! (LOL) I might make a special trip up to take a look, it's been a while since I've seen any real amount of water in it. (Or maybe the Qld Gov't just stopped siphoning off all the water. ha ha).

On a serious note though, I find it curious that the only urban river I can think of, and a river that was supposedly to be one of the first for protection under the Wild Rivers Act, remains unprotected.

Ben
FollowupID: 634571

Follow Up By: BenDiD - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:59

Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:59
G'day Friar,

I was just wondering if by any chance you are bloke I used to know up there of the same name?

My old mate drove a blue F150 (I think it was a 150) with a tilt tray back. Used to do winter fishing trips to Fraser. That would be about ten years ago now.

Ben
FollowupID: 634662

Reply By: escapesilv - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 09:50

Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 09:50
Hi BenDID

Sorry don't have the information you are after, but as I could be going that way in August, was wondering what the road is like if towing a C/T, as books refer it to be 4x4 only.

Robert
AnswerID: 366934

Reply By: BenDiD - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:55

Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:55
G'day Robert,

Teewah beach itself will be fine for a camper trailer. There are always heaps set up in the dunes.

The Freshwater Track itself is a bit of a different story. I have never towed a CT on it, or oddly enough seen anyone else do it. Buit, I have seen a fellow (I followed him back to Brisbane from Waddy Point) tow an enormouos plate alloy fishing boat (7m at a guess) behind a F250 down the track and south along Teewah Beach.

After seeing that I would have to say surely a CT will be ok, as long as the tow vehicle has a bit of grunt to tackle the hills and the soft sand at the entrance to Freshwater Track. If its a proper camper trailer the suspension should be adequate. The track has a few bumpy bits, but the sand is generally fairly well packed. My Paj has failry limited articulation and I've never been hung up or lifted a wheel enough for the traction control to kick in, SO yes, on the basis of all that I would think you would be fine.

I am happy to be corrected by any CT users with real experience of the track.

Good Luck!!

Ben
AnswerID: 366998

Reply By: Coolman - Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 12:45

Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 12:45
I have towed an off road camping trailer up there no problem. Just need to be careful.
AnswerID: 367582