How do you entertain yourself as the miles tick by?
Submitted: Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:17
Member - Wayne David (NSW)
Recently I was following a car with kids in the rear
seat who were watching a movie. First thoughts were 'lucky buggers' and then I wondered about what ever happened to the simple things in life.
Sure I watch a movie if I'm travelling by jet to another country but a short trip in the car? Come on!!!
Anyway I got to thinking about what we did when I was a kid. Crikey I must have driven my parents bonkers with 'eye spy with my little eye' and all of that.
But these days, thanks to a car radio that was on the blink, the Missus and I still play games to while away the kilometers. Currently it's 'guess that tune'. For exmplle I give her a choice of 3 catagories such as TV shows, classical music or pop. She selects and away I go.
I'll hum or whistle a small part and I can tinker with the tempo to make it a wee bit harder to guess. She gets 3 goes at it. If she flops I stay batting if she guesses it (or I run out of tunes) she gets to bat....so to speak.
We're both in our 50's so some of the tunes are somewhat 'dated' but it's fun and a good way to stay alert and pals.
By the way the radio is now working but we still prefer 'guess that tune'.
Sometimes I wonder if we're the only ones chugging along the roads having fun the low tech way or do others also interact.
What do others get up to?
Reply By: Mandrake - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:32
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:32
We have enough trouble just navigating !! LOL
No time for games - we could end up anywhere with the navigator I've got !! Even gets us lost with GPS running !!
Oops better duck soon I think !!
Rgds
Mandrake
Reply By: saltwatertrekker - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:37
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:37
i play bumble beez with my girl (i start humming like a bee and pinch her ha ha)
Reply By: saltwatertrekker - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:39
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:39
but yes the gps mapping and stuff keep us occupied and i reckon every 10 minutes we pull over to explore depending were we are
Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 16:56
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 16:56
Every 10 minutes??? Bloody hell it must take you a long time to get anywhere:-). Surely not when traversing say the Simpson, Nullarbor, Barkley Tablelands, and heaps of other long boring stretches. There just isn't that much to see - unless you're into ants!
Follow Up By: saltwatertrekker - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 17:17
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 17:17
ha ha ha no theres no tracks where i go , i consider
places like that and the csr major highways, id say the only people that go to the
places i go were indiginous people meny years ago, are you familiar with the inland stretches of the asburton river , very tame location but quite special, plenty of water and no traces of humans, i travelled the nullarbor when it was gravel and some nice caves around , good for absailing, take care and good travells mate
Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 08:27
Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 08:27
Yeah but you have to get to those
places in the first place via long, often boring, stretches.
I believe that the question posed related to passing the time along those sections.
I imagine we all stop and smell the roses once we get to where we want to be. But we have to get there first!
Safe travels to you saltwatertrekker.
Reply By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:43
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:43
Yeah I get it about the GPS, even though I'm old world (map, sun, stars & moon), but.......isn't the GPS something you use only occassionally?
I thought GPS was for finding final locations & that sort of thing. What about the hundreds or thousands or kms before that? Surely you listen to music or talk. No?
That must be why we never find
our camp the first time. There's just way too much talking & laughter going on.
Follow Up By: tim_c - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 13:07
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 13:07
"What about the hundreds or thousands or kms before that?"
LOL - yeah, there aren't too many chances to make a wrong turn on the Stuart Hwy!
Follow Up By: saltwatertrekker - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 13:29
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 13:29
yeah im old school too mate , find your own food and water and nav by the sun and moon but gps is good for mapping and being an explorer i would never remember all the 1000,s of
places i explore , but then again i do like getting lost in remote
places and putting thoes skills to good use to find your way out, whats a zen master is that medatation, excuse my ignorance im a bit behind
Follow Up By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:27
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:27
Zen - Yes you could say it's meditation.
Japanese version of meditation I suppose would be more accurate. The idea is to sit around and empty one's mind.
I did a course once and the guy running it said that I had no idea. So I asked him "does that mean I topped the class"?
Actually I think most Aussies are naturals at 'emptying the mind'. A cool beer and watch the sun go down. Now that's Zen for us.
For some Japanese it's sitting on the floor on your knees with your back bolt straight & concentrating on breathing and nothingness. Then someone with a rod comes past & hits you on the shoulders and you bow and thank them for it.
Been there, done that. Hey give me the beer version anyday.
Follow Up By: saltwatertrekker - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:30
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:30
cool , yes sunsets and a beer what an awesom feeling
Reply By: landed eagle - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:45
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:45
My kids love reading so they're easily entertained. For the times they dont want to, they have a selection of magnetic board games to play whilst on the move.Chess,backgammon,draughts,hangman,chinese checkers,etc.
Hangman we can all join in, so that usually gets a run during a long drive.
Reply By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:48
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:48
How'z 'Hangman' go?
Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 13:22
Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 13:22
One person thinks of a word and tells the others how many letters. All the other people have to guess the word by guessing letters one at a time until you think you can guess the word.
If you guess a letter right, it gets put in to the correct place(s) in the word (similar to that TV show where the people guess letters until they guess a phrase - Wheel of Fortune or something?).
If you guess a letter wrong, the person who thought of the word starts to draw a stick-figure 'hangman' (ie. gallows, rope, person) one line at a time. If you guess the word and get it wrong, two lines get added to the picture.
The idea is to guess the word before the picture of the 'hangman' is completed.
Sorry, it's a bit hard to describe without typing all day... let me know if you need more info.
Follow Up By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:42
Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:42
tim_c - Yes I do remember the hangman concept now.
I think my Missus would really enjoy stringing me up. So there's a good'n.
As I do 99% of the driving I'd of course need to keep an eye on her when it was her gallows being built that she didn't construct something like the Opera House, as she is always one for style when it comes to her. Yet somehow basic for me will do just fine.
But I like it. Thanks.
Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:54
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:54
My wife and I actually talk about all matter of things (never put a CD in and only occasionally listen to the ABC news). Other than general 'yacking' we still play our childhood favourite 'I Spy...'
Follow Up By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 13:01
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 13:01
At a boy Craig.
It's a huge relief to know that we're not the last ones on the planet still talking to each other.
Although I'm toying with that GPS idea "quite Dear........I'm checking the GPS"!
Boy oh boy .... I could just imagine how that would go down.
Follow Up By: Nic I - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:10
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:10
Here are another two - Michelle and I never seem to run out of things to discuss whilst driving, we never listen to music or the radio.
However, in
camp, and very occasionally toward the end of a big day's drive, we listen to a talking book, usually one we've both read.
Follow Up By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:24
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:24
Nic I - The talking book idea sounds nice.
I can
well imagine us doing that around the
camp fire or just laying back in bed listening to the stories.
Just a question on this. My Dad (since deceased) lost his eye sight and used to have something that sounded like something like that, provided by the hospital. I womder if it's the same thing.
It sounds like a lovely idea. Where abouts do you get such a thing?
By the way I like you
pic of
Acheron Way. Worth the trip alone to drive through there. Magic.
Actually I'm toying with the idea of finding a nice 3/4 size guitar for
camp fire songs. Just the two of us & of course other tunes as
well.
Follow Up By: Nic I - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:41
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:41
Hi Wayne,
I wasn't quick enough, somone answered this further down. Books are available either from almost any public library or from various online websites. MP3 is the most economical format to store them in, but CD's, DVD's tapes are also available.
Yes, the
Acheron Way was an absolute jewel onf a little road, alas now burnt to the ground. I was lucky enough to see it in its glory several times.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 17:39
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 17:39
actually, we've been selling "talking books" in the
Exploroz shop now for years, but they don't sell very
well so if you're interested, take a look at what's left in stock as we aren't buying any more - and yes, the prices have been dropped significantly, basically cost price. Go to the Bargain Bin (we've even gone so far as to remove the category audiobooks).
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 21:46
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 21:46
We where going down the boring hume to get on the ferry when Swmbo put on a harry potter talking book. I was driving and was becoming so engrossed in the story I had to get Sal to turn it off as I was having trouble concentrating on my driving lol.
Reply By: viz - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 13:34
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 13:34
A 60 Gig iPod full of music from Bach to blues and everything in between, connected to my Cruiser's upgraded sound system...
I don't go anywhere without my music. And if I have not got my iPod or I get bored, I can connect my iPhone to same system and stream music from friend's or family's - or my - music library via 3G internet... Last count was 13,000 tracks, so not spoilt for choice!
Yes I am a techno geek :)
viz
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:06
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:06
LOL, just marginally behind my 13,600 tracks..
Follow Up By: viz - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:00
Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:00
Depends on how many servers I connect to ;) - that is only 4 servers including my own [7641 tracks). Got potential for up to 30 on this system - the mind boggles as to how much music you could listen to then - probably all that has been composed since the beginning of time... :)
viz
Follow Up By: viz - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:02
Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:02
Depends on how many servers I connect to ;) - that is only 4 servers including my own [7641 tracks). Got potential for up to 30 on this system - the mind boggles as to how much music you could listen to then - probably all that has been composed since the beginning of time... :)
viz
Follow Up By: viz - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:04
Friday, May 29, 2009 at 22:04
ooops sorry, pressed the button twice
Fat Finger [viz)
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Jun 01, 2009 at 08:06
Monday, Jun 01, 2009 at 08:06
My collection is pretty much
rock based, from the sixties on.
And that is my personal collection only... ;-)
Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 13:45
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 13:45
A portable dvd player for the kids to watch in the back
seat is the greatest invention by mankind in the history of the world .
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 16:55
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 16:55
I won't go off topic troopyman, but children who look for entertainment instead of making their own grow into teenagers who look for inputs for their thrills - - - -
Throw out the DVDs and make them learn how to enjoy themselves without having stuff dished up to them.
Mh
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:05
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:05
The
Cook and I just talk about lots of things, when travelling in QLD, we count all the Mexican and Cockroach Number Plates, on the vehicles ect, I usually have a yap on the UHF, and also listen to Gene Pitney CD's.
PS. Also
check out the Road Kill, name the species, if it's fresh make a stew in the Dream Pot, lol lol
Daza
Follow Up By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:37
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:37
Yeah I know what you mean. We
check out number plates too. "Oh look a bloke from NT and driving a Corolla" that sort of thing.
Actually one thing we tend to do is play the 'wish list' game. You see we will probably never be able to afford to go past the camper trailer stage but believe me, that doesn't stop us from dreaming. And a good off road caravan is our latest dream.
So we look out for Bushtrackers, Trakmasters, Kedrons and one or two others. "Oh look here comes a nice BT and they're from where????? ............Sth Australia........". Varoom!!!!!!! As they go past.
So look out all of you owners of expensive
Off Road Caravans. You may think you own them but we dream that WE own them.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 16:51
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 16:51
So when you whiz past us, say g'day on UHF 40.
Mh
Reply By: Member - John & Sally W (NSW) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:10
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:10
This one helps the grey matter........I went to the
shop and bought an apple....... Person no 2 says I went to the
shop and bought an apple and a banana.... back to person no 1 or next person in the car etc going through the alphabet. Works with fruit and veges, articles of clothing, or visiting towns and cities, body parts etc. What really gets you thinking is going through the alphabet backwards. Someone in the car always cheats and wrights down the letters backwards in order. It can sometimes be a little challenging or maybe we are challenged?!
Sally
Follow Up By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:29
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:29
Actually I am always on the look out for ways of stimulating the mind. I think as my Dad suffered from Alzheimers & my Mum has dementia, that I'm odds on to get something. Maybe I already have & just don't know it yet.
But I love the idea of memory games. And that alphabet backwards is a nice start.
Good on ya.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 17:45
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 17:45
alphabet backwards! You've just reminded me of the time I thought I was going to die... long story, but basically I was on a very light aircraft over water in Vanuatu... anyway, we survived obviously, but the thing was this is the hardest thing for the brain to do, so I did it to try to take my mind off crashing. I never did get the hang of it either.
MM (definitely not DM he would find alpha backwards easy, that's his type of fun).
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:32
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:32
When living in
Alice Springs, I was impressed by the HUGE range of talking books in the town library. The mob up there really have driving long distances down to a fine art. All our friends there used this service extensively and recommended it to us. Talking books, we find, to be better than music. Music eventually starts to make me doze off. A good thriller, or similar on the other hand (especially with some naughty bits every so often) keeps you involved. You can get them on tapes; CDs; put Cd's onto Mp3 players to save space, or buy just about any book there is from a book download service such as audible.com
If listening to music, I much prefer to use an mp3 with "shuffle" so I don't know what is coming next, which helps to keep me awake. I like to mix jazz; rock; classical etc so the music goes all over the place. And my favourite piece of driving music. Bob Seegers Greatest Hits followed by
Miles Davis "Sketches of Spain.
Follow Up By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:40
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:40
Thanks. I'm going to check with the library and look around for those talking books.
Then I'm going to ask someone under 18 about Mp3 and how it works.
I may not be as
young as I was but I know people who are.
Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 17:42
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 17:42
Wayne, a bit more about the technology. Talking books come on cassette tapes or CDs. A full novel howver might take about 10 cassettes or Cds. That's a lot of listening, but it's also a fair size thing to store. My cassette player is prone to jamming every so ofter and library cassettes often have done a few km so can be prone to problems. CDs and Mp3s are the better way to go. Be warned. There is nothing worse than being several tracks into something rivetting and the next tape/disc wont play properly. I would never do this because it may be illegal, but for thrill seekers, it is quite possible to borrow a CD novel from the library and transfer it to an mp3 player, if you have a computer. A much simpler and more trouble free way to do things. You can also download "podcasts" onto an mp3 player. The ABC has a wonderful collection with everything from "The Science Show" to just about any topic that takes your fancy and also radio drama. Go to the the ABC site and check out there podcast section. A big advantage of these is that each episode runs for 30 minutes to an hour if you don't feel like a 10 hour or so novel.
Check Audible.com You have to pay for these, but they have a vast collection of novels and radio plays.
If you are in to the classics, you can find these for free.
You are right. Anyone over the age of 10 (and many much younger) can show you how to do it. But it's not hard.
The betterhalf and I also seem to find ourselves discussing whatever we have listened to. And to our surprise, the 19 year old is both listening and joining in to the discussion. There tends to be a family discussion about selection choices before we leave.
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:42
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 14:42
Should have also mentioned "Pings " and "Pongs". Highly competitive family entertainment that keeps everyone glued to the windows and actuall looking out of the car. First persin to
spot a white horse calls "Ping". Scores one point. A goat is a "pong". Scores 5 points. Game over at end of the drive.
Lots of exciting opportunities to argue for hours about just how white the horse has to be to qualify. Should you "ping " a cow, minus a point. I know several other families who used this game and tended to develop other, more complex, scoring systems. But we kept it simple
The big snag to this game was the number of times my father had to backtrack to settle a dispute about whether it really was a white horse etc that someone claimed to have seen. When I became the driver with kids, it was my turn.
Reply By: cobber - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:14
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:14
We play Poker with the on coming vehicle number plates, or guess what the next vehicle will be Ford/Toyota/Holden etc
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:18
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:18
We do a lot of
Who's the first to tell what the next sign says?
Think of words using the number plates.
A biggy for us since were a truck driving mob is guess the truck coming, Kenworth, Scania and so on.
Wide loads are a good one, Who can guess what that's for?
Our kids have a small Hema map book I have the big one and they have learnt to work out what the Mountains, ranges and big hills are called that we are passing.
Just getting into the MP3 players and DVD. But we still go back to the old ways.
Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:56
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 15:56
We are too busy taking in the scenery to need any other entertaining.
When the children came with us on long trips, all entertainment involved looking outside the car. Helps if they tend to motion sickness as well. Games like "I Spy", counting sheep/cows/horses, number plates (not so much fun now so many are 'generic' instead of showing where they come from).
No in-car DVD players for mine. Let them find their own entertainment, not give it all to them, and they will grow up all the better for it.
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 16:39
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 16:39
I agree totally. I have taken my kids (now adults) on quite a few trips, and for entertainment they looked out the window and asked questions. Spotting the first kangaroo/
emu etc became almost obsessive.
We prepare notes beforehand (still) to give us an idea of the country we are travelling through and its historical significance, which kept the kids on the alert. Being able to visit memorials,
cairns etc with historical significance was a bonus.
No dvd players then, and would not use them now. My wife and travelled around
Australia in 2005 with a car full of cds, and ended up playing one (Joe Cocker) while having a cuppa by the side of the track and I was fixing a loose
battery mounting under the bonnet. For the rest of the trip it was peace, perfect peace.
jack
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 16:57
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 16:57
Us too Jack. We take an MP3 player, and rarely use it. The music sort of conflicts with the scenery. We don't talk lots - hard to hear over the diesel motor, and my husband is fairly deaf so long conversatiions don't work, but just enjoy the land around us.
Mh
Follow Up By: j100 - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 09:33
Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 09:33
Our boys never had movies/Dvds etc but did as Motherhen said too in the scenery etc, learnt from the info at visitor centers and to this day still laugh at the Roo who was too busy looking at us and tripped up on a fallen log Face first in the dust
Reply By: tim_c - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 17:26
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 17:26
I've heard of one called "Bug Bingo" but I don't know how legal it is...
You draw up a
grid on the windscreen (obviously not where the driver looks through!) and write a number in each 'box' of the
grid. Then each person selects a handful of numbers and writes them down. When a bug goes "splat" into the box that contains one of your numbers, you cross it off until all your numbers are crossed out. The first person to cross out all their numbers wins the "Bingo"! If you use a whiteboard marker, you can wipe it off the glass easily with a dry paper towel/tissue or a cloth. As I said, I don't know how legal it is to draw on the windscreen...
Usually we just talk with some background music on (ie. not full volume!) although my brother also likes to play Sudoku (he has a book full of the puzzles) but obviously this is only good while he's a passenger.
Another number-plate game is to look for the letter "A" on a number-plate (could also include road signs). When you see it, you look for "B" and so on through the alphabet. This one doesn't work so well on quiet roads like the Tanami where you can drive parts of it for hours without seeing another vehicle (and even then, it may not have number plates!).
Reply By: D200Dug- Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 19:40
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 19:40
I usually start "asking are we there yet" over and over and over and over.
Plan B is "If you are quiet and don't say anything we will stop for McBurgers and ice creams at ............."
Just before we get there I say something outrageous that I know they will reply to and then I say "you spoke ! no McBurgers"
If those fail I threaten to put them on the roof racks if they don't be quiet.
:-)
Follow Up By: D200Dug- Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 19:45
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 19:45
PS when traveling with or without kids we rarely travel more than 100km without stopping to take photos or look at something.
Often it was the kids asking me to get back in the car and get going again.
if you want a pleasant trip don't be in a hurry. I have seen people who try to travel huge distances with
young children strapped in the back
seat then they wonder why the kids keep them up all night after they have either been asleep or done nothing physical all day.
Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 19:50
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 19:50
I listen to the hum of the motor...
Feel that power....mmm....music, pure music...
Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 13:29
Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 13:29
Hee hee... those 6cyl diesels do sound good don't they?!
Too bad the Mrs. doesn't understand/appreciate it tho'
Reply By: Member - Kevin J (Sunshine Coa - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 09:26
Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 09:26
I spent a deal of my working life driving from place to place and usually in a hurry. Long drives - 12 hours plus - were a daily event so now that we are able to travel at a more respectable pace and can take time to smell the roses it is just wonderful to be able to study all that makes this country so great.
We carry books on birds, animals, snakes, flowers, trees and even info on ant nests. When we see something new or different the navigator can pull out the book and read up on what we have seen.
I worry about people who take the time and spend the money to travel and then just go from town to town, Maccas to Maccas, RSL to RSL and miss out on the really good stuff.
Tennant Creek to
Katherine - Boring. I don't think so!
If nothing else get some material concerning the history of the area. Why would you travel the Channel Country of
Queensland without knowing the story of Sidney Kidman or the Kimberly region without the Duracks. I know they are not now accepted as politically correct but Ion L Idress wrote some wonderful books about Northern
Australia and travelling just brings the stories to life.
While driving the Barkley just think about
the drovers taking 1800 head of bullocks from Kamillaroi to Kununara and they had to travel in the wet season so that they could be sure of water supplies. The outback is full of stories and this is your chance to fantasise.
Our kids had both travelled more than 5000 k by car before their first birthday and it was only when they were 8/10 yo that we had a tape deck. Radios were next to useless once you left the major cetres so, for mine turn off the DVDs and look out the windows.
Kevin J
Follow Up By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 10:14
Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 10:14
Yes Kevin it's rather nice being able to take your time when travelling. We live in a pretty laid back part of the world and visitors here from the big smoke or overseas make us laugh with their 'urgency'.
It takes them a few days to understand that we do have time, and life is not all about being first, and people are interesting to talk to, and slower is easier on the car and one's nerves.
By the time they return home they are changed people. But then the next lot of visitors are all hyped-up and so we start all over again.
Sounds like you've got things sorted out nicely. I like the idea of checking into the history of the area. Many towns have wonderful little museums with folk in charge that are a treasure strove of information. Nice tip, thanks!
Reply By: Member - Greg T (ACT) - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 19:01
Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 19:01
on the long stretches we in counter on our 'not as frequent as we would like' trips. the bride and i like to play lots of games. one is when we see a number plate, we try and make a sentence out of it.
For example YDB 32P (our old plate) stands for 'You Drunk Bas%$#d 32 Pints' that goes on for a while. but then when we get off the beaten track, the game slows down just a tad.
or name that 4wd. to my wifes advantage, my eyes are not as good as hers and she always beats me.
i have a broken CD player and a busted antana, which i like. As soon as we get out of a town, no music. So we are forced to talk to each other..... well not forced, but we have no distractions (except driving and the dreaded navigating). its a good thing and we actually find ourselves closer for it....(ohhhh, everyone mumbles)..
thats the beauty of traveling with a loved one....
Follow Up By: Member - Wayne David (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:35
Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:35
Nice idea & could really be a laugh. No dout it is.
Remembering numbers, dates, names........anything can be a real challenge for me at times. What was I saying again?
I've bought books, gone to lectures and tried a whole bunch of things from word association to 'you name it'.
My worst is introductions at a party when the host says Wayne this is Jack, "gidday Jack glad to me you", his wife Sarah "hi Sarah", our neighbours Josh & Rose "Josh & Rose......delighted", ..........
Around about here my slow old brain hasn't figured out where or how to file the names of Jack & Sarah let alone Josh & what's her name, and the introductions haven't finished yet. Yikes!!!
My current hate is the password for computers etc. I have one all worked out and the system I want to join (let's say it's a
forum) rejects mine. So I alter it ever so slightly & it works. Trouble is every time I play the 'alter' game I need to somehow remember the new name and number. I obviously need my dogs to name it after.
So I really think anything to stimulate the brain is the way to go. My rego was AHQ02F and I remembered it by 'Australian Headquarters - not two friends'. Kind of a rubbish way of remembering now that I think about it but it worked well enough.
Reply By: greybeard - Monday, Jun 01, 2009 at 15:44
Monday, Jun 01, 2009 at 15:44
depending upon where we are.
1/ tree...... tree ....... tree.....
or
2/ post..... post..... post.....
or
3/ rock...... rock..... rock....
substitute ...... for variable time period :)