Lake Eyre trip

Submitted: Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 21:23
ThreadID: 69281 Views:3054 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
Just back from our trip to Lake Eyre awesome but a bit short on birds if you want to see the photos go to www.flickr.com/photos/morleytravels probably best to look at slide show and only read my dumb comments if you like. A bit disappointed by bird life on the lake but Birdsville made up for that as was meeting many great people.
Was amazed at how many bad drivers on gravel there are and can't believe how many people must have tight deadlines judging by the speed they travel at.
We covered 5300km used 854 litres of fuel averaging 16.15 litres per 100km in our Ford Ranger.
If you have tyre problems near Innamincka you can have 100% faith in lady that runs the tyre join there she is a gem and very knowledgeable. PS don't offer to help if your a bloke.
Despite what Kerry O'Brien thinks the water level was dropping when we left on 16/5.

Reply By: Member - OzGazza - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:06

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 22:06
Cool photos - looks like a great trip
AnswerID: 367261

Reply By: Peter W - Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:55

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 23:55
Looks like you had a fantastic trip.
Some real good pics to boot.
AnswerID: 367283

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 01:07

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 01:07
Hi Colin,
Just a question out of interest really, have you thought about doing a write up and putting some of your photos into your Members Blog? Maybe there are features in the other that you prefer which is fine, just asking incase you have any useful feedback that we can take onboard for future improvements.

MM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 367287

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 01:40

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 01:40
Wow - i've just spent the past 30mins going through all your photos. I was very impressed with all your travels with all your various setups and canoes, bikes etc and I didn't realise I could turn on the captions until near the end but I had fun playing a guessing game for where the shots were taken. I kinda feel like I know you and Lorraine now (but did I need to see the nude one?LOL) Great stuff, well done to you both!

MM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

FollowupID: 634991

Follow Up By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:03

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:03
Haven't used this function before but will give it a try next week, only used the other site as I had updated it for the family and friends.
Re your second post unfortunately I lost Lorraine on New Years day this year after 43 years of marriage so for this trip I had to take and old surf club mate as my travelling companion but I know she would have loved the trip and was probably with me in spirit.
FollowupID: 635032

Follow Up By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 04, 2009 at 19:30

Thursday, Jun 04, 2009 at 19:30
Michelle I have just started my blog and only have the return trip to enter hopefully tomorrow. Didnt realise how easy it would be and how user friendly the uploads are much quicker than flickr. Would appreciate your comments what you think of the first attempt. Thanks for the private note.
Colin
FollowupID: 635994

Reply By: DIO - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:20

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:20
According to an ABC TV report recently, there are tens of thousands of birds of many varieties there. Perhaps you weren't looking in the right place.
AnswerID: 367306

Follow Up By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:10

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:10
I watched Kerry O'Brien show the other night and that footage was a month or two old. According to the pilots most of the birds have left already and are going to other water ways. In Birdsville we did see heaps of water birds, hawks and Eagles on the Diamantina. The locals told us that the flocks of pelicans had finished nesting in the lakes 50km north of Birdsville and returned to town so we didn't go up to the lakes.
FollowupID: 635034

Reply By: Member - Len H (QLD) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:58

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 07:58
Hi Colin

Looking at your pics confirms that we were on the road to the same places at the same time. In fact, I would almost be certain I saw the rig in Innamincka!

Ripper of a trip, and I agree with your comments about the bird life, disappointing.

We travelled from BrisVegas and its clear we covered the same route south by west.

trust you enjoyed it as much as we did.

AnswerID: 367316

Follow Up By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:12

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:12
Yes we had a ball. We were at the Innamincka pub for the Sunday roast 10/5 pity we did not meet had the Exploroz stickers on back of truck.
FollowupID: 635035

Reply By: Member - Mark C (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:25

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:25
Hi colin
nice photos, and a more detailed report would be great.
Couple questions 1 : how much was the flight ?
2 : how long did u have to wait to go on flight?
AnswerID: 367325

Follow Up By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:17

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:17
Flight cost was $340 for the 2 hour flight from William Creek the closest point to the Lake therefore less flying over desert when compared to Marree or Birdsville flights. Booked a month ahead. There was a two week wait for flights when we were there although if you are a punter some people don't turn up and they have last minute cancellations but its a long way to go to trust "standby" and beer at the pub is $5.50 can.
Will attempt to do a blog on this site next week to give more detail ( presuming I can figure out how it is done).
FollowupID: 635038

Reply By: Member - Mark C (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:34

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 08:34
sorry forgot what payment options are there ie any cards accepted.
Am leaving tomorrow on roughly the same route but already looks like being wet around bourke. How many places once off the bitumen could you get potable water?
AnswerID: 367330

Follow Up By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:22

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:22
Can pay all places we went by Visa Mastercard or Epos. We had 160 litres on board and that did us for the trip. Plenty of casks of water available at all stores even in smallest towns. Potable water in camping grounds is scarce.
FollowupID: 635040

Reply By: Member - Bytemrk(VIC) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:32

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 18:32
Looks like a fantastic trip Colin,

Beautiful photos...makes me itchy to get back out there !..

I wont get to Lake Eyre until late Sept/ early October.... looks like I will miss the best of it, but still can't wait to go.

Cheers, Mark
AnswerID: 367447

Follow Up By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:17

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 19:17
You might be right by then if Kevin keeps buying phantom water it might find its way back to the lake somehow. Hope to post some more photos next week on the blog if I can work out how, have fun - travelling a bit slower will let you see more and save your tyres and windscreens.
FollowupID: 635111

Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Friday, May 29, 2009 at 20:12

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 20:12
Just had a peek... love all your photos Colin!
AnswerID: 367474

Reply By: Michael A (VIC) - Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 08:46

Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 08:46
great shots. I was there in early April and am about to go back...can not wait !!!!

Thanks for sharing

Michael A
AnswerID: 367543