Patrol Diesel GU III faulty?

Submitted: Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 00:08
ThreadID: 69351 Views:3252 Replies:2 FollowUps:4
I read in some forums that the turbo diesel engine in the early model gu patrols are faulty.
Is the diesel engine in the 2003 model GU III prone to dieing? If it did die what would be the cost/options?

Reply By: psproule - Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 06:05

Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 06:05
Another 3 days, another ZD30 question :)

Hi Chris & welcome. If you search on ZD30 (model number of the 3.0L patrol motor) you will find a plethora of posts on this topic. You will also fine a lot of helpful people over at www.patrol4x4.com/forum including a lot of detail on how to stop one from imploding (as they seem prone to do from time to time).

Costs seem to range from $2500 for a basic in-chassis rebuild kit for those inclined to do it themselves, to $15,000 for a complete new long motor fitted. Some people choose to retrofit something a little more reliable, such as the Nissan 4.2TD, Chev V8's of all descriptions, or even a 4.2TD Landcruiser motor.

Cheers - Pat
AnswerID: 367705

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 09:27

Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 09:27
chris123

I owned both a 2003 and 2005 model.

The 2003 was fantastic. It had done 150,000km when I sold it. I had done 50,000km with it and in that time never had one problem - even towing the caravan.

The 2005 was my introduction to 'the grenade'. My thread in this forum is headed "four cracked pistons". Cost me around $1100 to buy an in chassis rebuild kit from Engine Australia and I rebuilt the engine myself. The Patrol4x4 is a wealth of knowledge on this engine and one soon learns that basically a couple of gauges and a sensible driving style, whilst towing, will provide much of the protection needed. I have now done over 6000km on my rebuilt engine.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 367715

Follow Up By: long haired nomad - Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 13:39

Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 13:39
Gday Malcolm,
I don't own a patrol but was thinking of getting the tray back ute, But are the majority of problems associated with blowing up due to towing?
FollowupID: 635381

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 13:45

Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 13:45
long haired nomad

An analysis of the generally accepted conditions under which this happens is "at 100-110km/hr under load i.e. towing trailer / caravan."

To avoid it, fit an exhaust gas temp gauge and don't let it go over 550c (post turbo).

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 635382

Follow Up By: KMitch - Monday, Jun 15, 2009 at 00:30

Monday, Jun 15, 2009 at 00:30
Hello Malcolm,

I must have the most rare Nissan 3.0Ltr Turbo Diesel in the whole world.

I have a Nissan 2000 GUII it now has 340,000km on the clock, i took a photo of the dash late last year 2008 when it reached 300,000. I travell 202km per day to work and back every day i change oil and filter evey 10,000km, coolant every 12months on and on, anyway i did strip 5th gear (overdrive) towing an excavator tailer to Canberra, i contiued to Canberra, picked up a Nissan 180SX and drove back to Bendigo. Crazy 4x4, i drove to Broken Hill in 47deg, the gauge never saw half way at 100km/h. Seriously, to all those out there with a nissan 3.0Ltr Turbo Diesel, ease up on the mods and stop tinkering with it, drive it appropriately, do your own service, i dont trust some pimple head apprentice that wants to go home early Friday afternoon and just says, yeah mate ive done the oil change, its as simple as that. 340,000km baby, just puring along, i am availavble to any person to check this vehicles history.
FollowupID: 637385

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Monday, Jun 15, 2009 at 08:35

Monday, Jun 15, 2009 at 08:35
Hi KMitch

Interesting. Especially seeing it is the 2000 model. Did you own it from new?

Agree with your sentiments re servicing by 'apprentices' - (charged out at full mechanic rates!).

"the gauge never saw half way at 100km/h" - Which gauge? We are not talking about water temp gauge - that hardly ever moves. The EGT gauge is the one IMHO that must be fitted.

Fitting gauges is not "tinkering". For-armed is for-warned.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 637401