Gimme an idea guys

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 22:35
ThreadID: 6951 Views:1755 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
I am contemplating buying the following 4x4 and want to know what the general feel is for such a deal....
1996 GQ Wagon DX 4.2 Diesel, white in colour, arb winch bar (high mount) with side rails, 160litre fuel tank, 185,000kms, rear ladder on the door (bolted into the door), full plastic interior, rear arb bumper bar, airtec snorkel, oil and filters changed every 5000kms, BUTTTTT i would give the bodywork about a 6½ out of 10 and the interior about a 6½ out of 10 also... it seems to have been very used but on the other hand looked after mechanically..... what my question is "would the body being a little sub standard and the interior being a little knocked around with holes drilled in a few places for accessories which are not there anymore turn most people off"?..... $16,750:00 is the price.... I want to buy tomorrow but would like feedback....

Regards............._____________________________________________

Reply By: Martin - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 22:44

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 22:44
Voxson, don't be worried about whether it would turn other people off - it's what suits you that counts! Personally I always buy new but of course that costs more too. I would expect that the vehicle has a lot more kms left in it. I would be a bit worried about the care that was taken overall if the interior and exterior are pretty rough. A vehicle of that age and mileage could with a bit of care be still looking very good. Not much help? But it is your decision after all ....
AnswerID: 29748

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 22:44

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 22:44
gday voxon.
if you intend on using it of road and not to woried about getting a few scratches and dents(not talking trashing it) use the existing damage to get it down in price a little(dosnt seem to expensive but dosnt hurt to try).
nothing would be worse than spending huge $$$$$$$$ then being to scared to take it any where.you should see the body and interior of mine.but thats what there designed for.—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
AnswerID: 29749

Follow Up By: Martin - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 23:11

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 23:11
Agree that they're designed to be taken to difficult places but can't agree that that has to go with being knocked around. It's not hard to travel outback roads, deserts or high country and still care for your vehicle! I've had heaps of mud and dirt on mine but no dings, scratches, tears or holes drilled!
FollowupID: 20835

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 13:40

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 13:40
gday martin.
the point im trying to make is you will get scraches and dints no matter how carefull you are just dont be put of bye a car that has a few scraches ect if the price is right—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
FollowupID: 20860

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 22:50

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 22:50
6/10, and asking top $$ for it? Would the holes drilled and it lookin like a clunker for top $ Turn me off? Yes.

Chances are that if its been treated hard, there will be $$ required to be spent on things real fast. Bearings bushes, brakes, etc etc...

Then again if its a 96 model, its one of the last, but still I think its a bit $$.

Redbook says but this is for a top cond one too remember.

1996 NISSAN PATROL
GQ II Wagon DX 7st 4dr Man 5sp 4x4 700kg 4.2D

average kms 140,000 - 170,000
trade in price guide* $14,900 - $17,800
national average price - private sale* $17,100 - $20,600
price when new (RRP) $49,540

AnswerID: 29750

Reply By: Luke - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 23:27

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 23:27
"would the body being a little sub standard and the interior being a little knocked around with holes drilled in a few places for accessories which are not there anymore turn most people off"

Would it turn me off? Yes it would, I like to keep my car looking as good as I can. That doesn't stop me from having fun in it and going places, it just means that I try to look after it as best I can.

Does it turn you off? Only you can answer that mate - question is are you happy in a car that looks like a pig inside and out, or are you prepared to spend money on it to get it up to scratch?

I guess if the vehicle is sound mechanically, and you are happy with a rough interior and exterior (or are prepared to fix them), then go for it :-)
AnswerID: 29756

Reply By: Peter L - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 08:48

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 08:48
Voxson, are you able to verify the servicing?
Can't help but wonder why an owner would be so fastidious about servicing, but not care about appearance.
That being said there is no option to having holes where equipment has been mounted unless you leave the equipment in.
If you buy then I suggest some anti-rust and plastic plugs to improve appearance.

Good luck, Peter
AnswerID: 29764

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 09:09

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 09:09
Ok.... I may have been a little rash with my judgement on this vehicle..... I have been for another good look at it and i would probably give the body an 8 out of 10 and the same with the interior.....
I have just stop driving my previous 4x4 which was a GQ with all the creature comforts but in petrol and to see what a DX looks like compared the interior of an RX i spose i was shocked......
I think the right word for the interior is SCUFFED....but like i said "shocked" because of how bleak it looked.....
And the exterior 2 dings in the front of the bonnet and a dent on the roof at the back which i would call a little ding also....

The overall word should be "WELL USED"....
My first post was a little exagerated from shock...._____________________________________________

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 09:52

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 09:52
It all comes down to if your happy with it.

96 models with 4.2's are rarer than dogs balls on a mozzie.

I thought the DX and RX were basically the same, then the ST and Ti?
FollowupID: 20850

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 09:54

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 09:54
Also, the tank capacity, I thought all LR tanks for GQs were 147ltr not 160...
FollowupID: 20851

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 11:10

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 11:10
RX has carpet and plush seats with nice door trims and a velour roof lining, elect mirrors, pwr antenna etc.... creature comforts..... and as you would know,,,,, a DX has almost zero....
oh,,, and rear sliding side windows and the DX are one piece..._____________________________________________

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 13:57

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 13:57
160 litre definately..._____________________________________________

Follow Up By: Member - Eric- Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 21:52

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 21:52
Just get a price on getting the trim fixed and the body repaired, if your happy with the total price , go for it , Remember crunch crunch crunch on price lol
FollowupID: 20888

Reply By: Tony - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 14:28

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 14:28
For mine it sounds like a reasonable price. Is there room to haggle a bit?

In no time you will have it looking like a new pin with a bit of TLC and elbow grease.

You never know some of the holes might be where you will want to put something so they will be covered up after all. The dint on the roof may have come from using a roof rack hence the ladder on back door.
AnswerID: 29774

Reply By: Member - Nigel (QLD) - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 22:12

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 22:12
does the DX have all vinyl floor (ie no carpet)...

that's gotta be a bonus - much easier to clean - less panic when the kids spill drinks...
AnswerID: 29824