2.5L CRD TD Power Loss

Submitted: Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 18:24
ThreadID: 69541 Views:3744 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
hey all,
i own a nissan navara (2008 model) 2.5L common rail turbo diesel ute which has 8800km on the clock.

first service is at 10000km.

well it happened around 8100km that the engine seemed to have lost power.

originally the first 5000km or so i ran the stock filter, but me being young i chucked a Pod filter on as it was high flow and seemed to work pretty well (i didnt take it offroad as its a 2wd).

at around 7500km i put back on the stock filter and for some reason the car ran like a bat out of hell. i had so much more torque and power and i was loving it.

though after all this enjoyment of having a car that launched you back into your seat and wouldnt allow u to drop the clutch at 1100 revs without the tyres spinning, it seems to have dissapeared.

though it happened around 7900km that when refilling with jerry cans the red jerry can lining peeled off and got it my fuel tank. it ran fine for ages until 8100km (300km later) which is when the power seems to have been lost.

because i thought it could have been the paint i replaced the fuel filter which was full of paint flakes and i cleaned out the tank by hand at 8200km as i had a road trip. i also put a whole tank of new fuel in.

through the road trip its been fine and had no issues, but it still just didnt have that insane power it had before.

so still to this day it just doesnt run the same and doesnt have that great low end wheel spinning grunt like it used to, but she still does the job and goes well.

so what does everyone reckon? whats the issue? what should i get done? what should i replace?

thanks for reading this all and all questions are welcome.

cheers,
george

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 19:16

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 19:16
wonder if you haven't got a partial blockage in line between tank and fuel filter
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 368588

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 20:03

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 20:03
Hi George. You possibly have an electric fuel pump inside the tank. It would have some sort of fuel strainer to stop heavier material entering the pump. It may need removing and cleaning. Regards,Bob.
AnswerID: 368600

Follow Up By: maddog-george - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 22:54

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 22:54
hey,
i just checked my workshop repair guide and it shows there is no fuel pump inside the tank, theres just the long metal pick up tube and the fuel gauge mechanism.
FollowupID: 636181

Reply By: maddog-george - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 20:05

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 20:05
reckon i could take it to nissan and complain it is lacking power?

get them to do a full check as it is under warranty
AnswerID: 368601

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 20:17

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 20:17
I doubt if Nissan would cover the problem if caused by paint in the tank.

A friend had problems with the fuel pump as a result of contaminated fuel and Nissan refused to cover it.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 636155

Follow Up By: maddog-george - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 23:24

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 23:24
hmm,
after my first service i'll give it to them all stock and tell them how it has lost power, and that it has done BEFORE i got my service done.

just have them check over it and see if they actually do find something blocked or partially blocked.

FollowupID: 636185

Reply By: Patrol22 - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 20:42

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 20:42
Maddog - go over to either Clubfrontier and click on the International link or the Navara Aus/Asia forums and pose this question. You might also like to do a search on the Pathfinder forum as these guys have had a few years experience with the 2.5CRDI engine now. I've got 12000km on my 2008 D40 4x4 and all has been fine thus far.

Pete
AnswerID: 368620

Follow Up By: maddog-george - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 20:46

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 20:46
i'm already on the nav asia forum and i'm just being told that the paint got through the fuel filter and is probably blocking my injectionl pump, the injection nozzles or is blocking at the pump in the tank.

hmm
FollowupID: 636160

Reply By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 22:29

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 22:29
EH George
Striaght to the point mate you stuffed up.......I reckon You should go to a machanic that has nothing to do with warranties ...what have you...tell him about the jery can and paint bit and see if he can sort it out for you then when all is well again ...don't do anthing before seeing the dealer machanic

best of luck
AnswerID: 368645

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 23:23

Friday, Jun 05, 2009 at 23:23
Always use a filter when using jerry cans.
I bought a funnel with a fine filter in it for a lot less than it will cost you to fix the truck.
A hard lesson learned.

AnswerID: 368658

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Jun 06, 2009 at 10:08

Saturday, Jun 06, 2009 at 10:08
George...don't delay.....have your common rail system cleaned out and your injectors clean and checked as soon as possible.

Drain your tank as well so that all the contamination is removed....don't wait.

Injectors are $1089 each plus GST and you have four of them....and injector cleaner is NOT enough.
AnswerID: 368681

Follow Up By: maddog-george - Saturday, Jun 06, 2009 at 14:25

Saturday, Jun 06, 2009 at 14:25
i said in my post that i cleaned out the tank and put new fuel in it, so dont worry, i havent been running more crap into the engine.

how much roughly and where should i go for a full common rail clean/check?

FollowupID: 636220

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Jun 06, 2009 at 21:17

Saturday, Jun 06, 2009 at 21:17
George...it depends where you live...but is there a good diesel injection service centre near you?...make enquiries, ask mates,ask around, etc, get a few quotes and go from there.

But do not leave too long.

FollowupID: 636274

Follow Up By: maddog-george - Saturday, Jun 06, 2009 at 23:43

Saturday, Jun 06, 2009 at 23:43
i'm in perth.

i called up a few mobs.

1 mob wants 180 for a flow test

1 mob wants 220 for a series of dyno runs/checks to see if they can determine where the power loss is and see if its the pump or injectors by the dyno pattern or some stuff.

i still got my 10 thou km service thats coming up soon.

reckon i should wait for that just incase it turns out i just need a good first service? and if it is still an issue then get it checked out?
FollowupID: 636285

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Jun 06, 2009 at 11:40

Saturday, Jun 06, 2009 at 11:40
Not of much help, but I also had one of those chinese steel jerrycans, and all the paint inside peeled off. Luckily I was transferring diesel to another can rather than into the wagon and I saw literally sheets of curled up red paint coming out the can. What a heap of cr@p.
As the others suggest, I'd be cleaning out the whole system, but not by a Nissan dealer. If the power problem is something else unrelated, Nissan will use that as an excuse to void the warranty.
Gerry
AnswerID: 368689

Reply By: kiwicol - Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 19:23

Sunday, Jun 07, 2009 at 19:23
dont tell nissan that you drained fuel from a jerry can, only giving them ammo to void warranty. col
AnswerID: 368855