Worth it? 88 Landcruiser $6500 250k

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 17, 2009 at 22:44
ThreadID: 69930 Views:5239 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Looking at getting a tray top Landcruiser
I've found a 1988 HJ75RP going for $6500 that has done 250,000km and is currently unregistered
Something strange though the details say its a 2H engine but in the comments its says it has the 1HZ engine
I have two questions
1. Is it worth it?
2. Whats the best way to get a mechanic to test it?

Reply By: jezza68 - Wednesday, Jun 17, 2009 at 23:59

Wednesday, Jun 17, 2009 at 23:59
1) 1988 HJ75 was powered by either 2H diesel or 2F petrol
2) I own a 1988 HJ75 a bit rough but I only paid $2K. It had 330k on it.
3) Very simple to check as they are IMHO one of the best 4WD to ever be built.
4) Starting to get difficult to get second hand spares but most mechanical bits can be sourced.

The most annoying things with that era is the glow plug systems, as they were evolved from 6volt to 12 volt. This matter needs to be confirmed as it can be frustrating working out the correct plugs

$6500 seems expensive to me
AnswerID: 370598

Follow Up By: chris123 - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 00:19

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 00:19
i cant find any better value on carsales
where did you get it for $2k?
FollowupID: 637920

Follow Up By: jezza68 - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 23:01

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 23:01
I bought it locally in Broome from a guy who owned it from new.
Needed TLC. The windows hadnt been wound up for a decade I reckon so was full of dust.
Spent a weekend stripping it down and cleaned and polished. Dropped all oils, changed bearings, new suspension. Even scored a couple of new front seats for $100-00.
Came with 5 new rims and tyres, and 160lt diesel in the tanks!!
FollowupID: 638084

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 00:01

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 00:01
get a cold compression test from a diesel injection specialist , make sure that cyl -cyl are no more than 10%
AnswerID: 370599

Reply By: rocco2010 - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 00:32

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 00:32
Gidday

Don't know anything about old Landcruisers or what state you are in and what is involved in relicensing there. But I reckon a 21-year-old unregistered vehicle is basically worthless. It could be mechanically sound but it will surely have issues if it needs to inspected by the licensing authority. Get the vendor to register it and then start negotiating.

My son went down this road when he let a licence lapse on a perfectly driveable old sedan. Some desperate would have given him money if they could drive it, but no licence, no sale. went to the scrappers.

Rocco
AnswerID: 370602

Reply By: Member - Rob - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 07:49

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 07:49
Hi Chris

I have had a lot experience purchasing old vehicles and I am still kicking myself. I have 2 x HJ60 Landcruiser, 1 which is for sale. I bought it for $5,000 2 years ago and have spent about 6 on it during that period but I knew I would be up for that when I bought it (but still I did it). Water pump, radiator new suspension, new tyres, new swivel hubs and other accessoriies. I have priced it at $6,500 which could be concieved a bit over the top and it has done 300,000km. but basically all the work has been done so the purchaser has nothing to spend for awhile other than services. If you buy a vehicle of that age be prepared to aprt with at least another 5 on if it has not been maintained. Good luck with it.

And yes a cold compression test.
Rob
AnswerID: 370615

Reply By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 08:18

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 08:18
Hi Chris

I just sold beginning of this year my 1986 dual cab landcruiser for $7000. I had upgraded the motor to the 12ht turbo diesel - (the most bullet proof motor toyota has made with heaps of grunt). It also had mods of - LSD diff, sunrasia rims x 6, enclosed lockup on tray, full roofrack, roo bar, spotlights, dual batteries, completely new suspension - leaf springs, shocks, bushings etc, bucket seats, overhead console, long range tank, ssb CB Radio, stereo/CD player, two reconded tailshafts and just paid to have gear box overhauled with new bearings, bushes and seals.

You get the picture. At 23 years old it was looking a bit old and a few patches of rust - not critical rust. Anyway I was real happy to even get that price. So if your unit sounds as good may be you could buy it.

The 2H only has 2 engine mounts and one gearbox mount the 1HZ has 4 engine mounts and no gearbox mounts so it would be alot to change to the newer motor.

AnswerID: 370623

Reply By: chris123 - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 15:52

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 15:52
Short of looking at it Im thinking its not worth it
AnswerID: 370698

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 16:04

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 16:04
Ditto.
I purchased an '88 sahara with a brand new motor from a dealer 4 yrs ago for $4500 with no rust and even had an ARB bullbar on it.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 370699

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 16:06

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 16:06
Redbook says

* Private Price Guide $3,300 - $5,200

* Trade In Price Guide $1,300 - $3,200

2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 637999

Follow Up By: chris123 - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 16:24

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 16:24
redbook, where do they get their figures?
I've been looking at other cars too, and most on offer don't fit into the redbook price range, the only ones that do are rather crappy
FollowupID: 638002

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 16:40

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 16:40
I think that they take the prices from the traffic authorities from the stamp dutiful value when the rego is transferred.
Newer vehicles seem to be above the value quoted and over 10yrs seem to be close.

Dealers use Redbook and Glass's guide

2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 638006

Reply By: chris123 - Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 03:04