How much would you pay? 98 triton 4x4 270k 2.8l diesel

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 17:27
ThreadID: 69953 Views:3172 Replies:7 FollowUps:13
Looking to buy a ute
I found one on eBay trying to check it out physically before bidding
Currently registered but wont be supplied with a RWC. It is on sale by a used car dealer
1998 Triton 4x4 diesel 2.8L cab chassis 270,000km
The vehicle is described "Tray but has got the standard rust colour that you get on the galvanized steel. Driver's seat needs repair as you can see in the photos. Mechanically the vehicle is reasonably good and it drives quite well, probably needs a wheel alignment. Electrically, the windscreen wipers don't work, the fan only works on your face, not on the feet or windscreen."
What's it worth?

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 17:52

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 17:52
I'd pay $809...lol

If it's been a workhorse, then 270K on the 2.8L might be straining it somewhat.

With the current economic market, my brother was offered a trade in on his average condition 1996 Triton Dualcab of something like $1200.....scrap metal prices really. He said no and kept it for a backup vehicle.

AnswerID: 370719

Reply By: Madfisher - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 17:55

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 17:55
Chris it sounds to me this ute has had a hard life. Whatever you pay for it remember that will only be a deposit, you will be up for injectors, fuel pump and with in a short while a new engine. that will come to at lest $10000. Now you could buy a one owner eg with log books and less then 200000ks for less then $10000. Make sure it has a service history if you must have it.
Good luck Pete
AnswerID: 370720

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 17:57

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 17:57
$350.
AnswerID: 370721

Reply By: chris123 - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:23

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:23
ok forget that one
AnswerID: 370725

Reply By: chris123 - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:25

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:25
maybe i should just put down a list of utes im thinking of getting rather then indivudally
AnswerID: 370726

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:50

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:50
Hi Chris,
Use the Red Book as a guide to what you should pay for a vehicle.

FollowupID: 638021

Follow Up By: chris123 - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:54

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 18:54
I find redbook doesn't reflect current prices very well
FollowupID: 638024

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 19:14

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 19:14
If you go to car sales. com au they have a valuation guide. Best thing is to work out your budget, then look at heaps. It is a buyers market at the moment. After you have looked at fifty or so you see some bargains. I do not like Ebay to buy, but it is great if you want to get top dollar for rubbish. Same with auctions, brother just paid $200 over new price for a trailer as he got competivie and had to have it.
What state do you live in?
What is your budget?

FollowupID: 638026

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 19:21

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 19:21
Chris, I use it as a starting point, as a guide only. Then I check out web sites such as Carsales, Countrycars, Drive and even the Nrma an d Racq to get an idea of what things are worth.
At the moment we need to replace our faithful VL dunny door and we are looking for maybe a Camry wagon about a 2002 model for about 10k, we'll take our time and look.

You'll find the right vehicle in time, good luck with your search.

FollowupID: 638027

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 21:51

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 21:51
Heaps of good/excellent used vehicles out there, obviously your after a 4wd diesel and a ute ?? Dont rush, as Pete has mentioned will cost you a small fortune not long down the track. Doesnt matter how old they are, if there been looked after they shoud have service history and being a diesel oil and filters are vital if you want the engine to last. ebay is ok IF YOU can check it out first other wise I would not buy just going by their descriptions, your excellent condition is probably different to mine. Just over a month ago I went to Melbourne to buy a supposidly excellent condition 80 series. Bloke was the biggest bull sh#t artist around, pictures on the net,, yeah it looked great,, I even spent a week ringing him and asking him to check certain things and when I got there he hadnt even checked them even after telling me he had. Drive them all, sit in them, get specs on them, power,torque, do you want to tow ?? what do you intend to use it for, carrying heavy loads, etc..Take you time, dont let the heart over rule your head..... All the best, I reckon its easier to buy a house then a second hand car LOL................. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 638067

Follow Up By: chris123 - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 22:22

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 22:22
I start off at car city check out and test drive a bunch of cars, see what i like and what I don't like and also gives me an idea to base cars on.
Then actually go look at some potential cars.
I have a GQ patrol wagon, that I used for everything. Upgraded to pathfinder for daily driving and now looking for a 4wd ute, petrol or diesel, for all the other nasty jobs, mainly transporting wood and other crap.
Based on my previous budget I've found out if I spend a few thousand more the vehicles are half the age and 50-150k less km.
Currently looking at cars under $10k under 200k and about 10 years old
FollowupID: 638077

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 22:37

Thursday, Jun 18, 2009 at 22:37
Chris my brother is thinking of upgrading his narava tray top 3lt diesel. 150000ks and its 12/01 so sold in o2. Needs a good detail as he is a farmer, but he is strict with his maintance. looking for arround $11000.If interrested get back to me.
FollowupID: 638078

Follow Up By: chris123 - Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 03:02

Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 03:02
I'll take a look if he lives near Melbourne
FollowupID: 638094

Follow Up By: chris123 - Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 04:15

Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 04:15
Does it have the same engine thats in the patrol?
Isnt it prone to die?
FollowupID: 638097

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 18:04

Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 18:04
Sorry NSw, yes it is the zd 30, but they are no0t as troublesome in Nararvas as Patrols as they do not have the variable vane turbo that leds to overboosting, and because they are heaps lighter do not work as hard.
Good to see you on the ball young fella lol
FollowupID: 638226

Follow Up By: chris123 - Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 18:45

Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 18:45
I'm not too worried about detail
It's pretty much ideal rather tempting but about 2k over my over budget already.
Where abouts in NSW?
I'd need some more convincing
FollowupID: 638234

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 21:35

Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 21:35
Central Tablelands area about 50ks south of Bathurst. He has not made up his mind yet, just passed a comment the other day he is thinking of buying his mates 3 year old Rodeo. Does need the drivers side seat fixing(tear). Because he is a farmer he is in and out of the ute all day so the drivers seat gets a lot of wear and tear.
Mid 90s hiluxs are great vehicles if they have been serviced. Both the 2.4 petrol and 2.8 diesel are low stressed long lasting motors, if serviced.
If he decides to update he will send it to a detailer then list it on Country cars or Car sales.
FollowupID: 638269

Reply By: olcoolone - Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 14:17

Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 14:17
If you are serious I would go looking at other one's and gauge it form that.

Why not do some homework first!

AnswerID: 370902

Follow Up By: chris123 - Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 17:40

Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 17:40
i have looked at other utes including triton
Cant get hold of the owner so I'm not bidding
FollowupID: 638219

Reply By: Stu-k - Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 21:44

Friday, Jun 19, 2009 at 21:44
$50
AnswerID: 370971