Real or Hoax ?

Submitted: Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 09:03
ThreadID: 70047 Views:4375 Replies:15 FollowUps:36
We were pushing the limits a little deep in a pine plantation in constant drizzle south of the Victorian town of Alexandra on weekend , when we monitored a UHF ch15 radio conversation.

The conversation went on for quiet a while and gave the very real impression of a police officer catching a trail bike and confiscating it.

I don't think they would use UHF CB , so this could be fake , but I have monitored fakes before and this sounded pretty real and in context.

An "alleged" police car (possibly the local white Nissan patrol) spent
some time establishing comms with his base and then went thru a process taking serveral minutes to get details on a honda CR trail bike reg YF 206 (406?) and ended up confiscating it and over the next 15 minutes got a flat bed truck to come and take it away (as per radio contact with base).

Thru this time other 4wd users used this main CB channel a bit and eventually the alledged police car (which gave its ID number) told others to "vacate the channel".

Now I have never heard of such radio use and the police have there own secure channels these days , on the other hand very few people would know that the rego number given is of a type that is only used in Victoria for recreational vehicles, and the conversation was very consistent with bike being used on public road incorrectly.

Because of our situation we didn't feel disposed to challenge the conservation but many others should have heard this exchange as well.

Real or Fake ?

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 09:16

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 09:16
Hi Robin
I can not comment for Victoria, but I know that the Police have them in their cars hear in SA. As far as I know, it is to monitor traffic airwaves and if they have to talk to people, they can. About 4 years ago while travelling the black stuff up to the Centre and south of Pimba, there was a Highway Patrol vehicles, with more aerials than you could pope a stick at. One of the members in my group made a comment like it seemed funny to have so many aerials on the Police car. A voice then came over the UHF Channel that we were using "Do You Have a Problem with That"
My group then went very quiet, as we knew it was no one from my group and would have to have been the Police Highway Patrol, as there were no others vehicles seen for the next half an hour.

AnswerID: 371287

Follow Up By: DIO - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 09:29

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 09:29
Not ALL Ppolice vehcles have UHF CB radio installed. You will find them in Highway Patrol cars and Command Vehicles (used at major incidents).
FollowupID: 638565

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:12

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:12
Hi Stephen,
On the North Coast of NSW they use UHF, while traveling through WoodBurn, the truckies were letting each other know that there was a White H'way patrol car in town, And that he was stopped in front of the local Take Away shop, and that he was just sitting in his car. Each truck that drove past him commented on him just sitting there.
Then a voice came of the radio, " Morning Fellas" Which was replied to with " Morning Officer, Just making sure your alright sir" In turn the officer replied, " I note your concern and appreciate it, Now have a good day Gentlemen" The radio fell silent for a good few minutes after that. :)

FollowupID: 638570

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:13

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:13
Hi DIO
We live in country South Australia and all the local Police vehicles have them fitted. From what I have been told most country Police vehicles monitor UHF frequencies/.

FollowupID: 638582

Reply By: OzTroopy - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 09:56

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 09:56
Quite possibly it is a vehicle set up for the task of catching major criminals such as kids on unregoed bikes in paddocks.

The UHF may provide better communication in some areas than the normal police frequencies - also handy for listening to conversations that may lead them to a cash cow.

Then again ... it might have been someone just having some fun .... used to happen in the old days on 27mhz .... no reason it wouldnt happen now.
AnswerID: 371293

Follow Up By: GLX3000 - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 19:52

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 19:52
Could also be the "Bill" trying to haul in unlicensed - both road and third party - kids hacking through public open space during footy matches or end of school, without any regard for their safety or that of others. And "proud" parents bellowing that their kids are "off the street" and "leave 'em alone"!

Near where we live, there is a pine plantation to which unlicensed vehicular driving has been blind eyed by a very aware and understanding police. I applaud it. A venue where kids can let it all out, at their very own risk. But the very first time some mongrel parent, egged on buy a salivating lawyer tests the owner of the land when an accident occurs, that's when the rest of the kids will pitched against authority. That's when authority, and the other kids lose.

Shame really.

FollowupID: 638802

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 10:04

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 10:04
Extra Info

I phoned the likely police station and asked them directly.

They would not given any specific infomation , however the lady policewoman I spoke to said she has specifically has used UHF CB for police work as sometimes they can't make contact any other way.

AnswerID: 371295

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 10:04

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 10:04
It depends on where the vehicle is stationed...for instance, City vehicles would not have a UHF.

My UHF radio has an option for an extra 10 channels and I have those channels tuned to Police frequencies in the Riverina area of NSW as they still use UHF there...but not for long as it is all going over to Digital.

But country police cars will still have UHF radios

AnswerID: 371296

Reply By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 10:08

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 10:08
Coming home once near Bourke, we were in a convoy of three on the black top sitting on 120-125kph. A copper going the other direction must have been scanning and listening in on a UHF for when he had past us he politely said "the three 4wd's better slow down unless you want a ticket"

AnswerID: 371297

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:39

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:39
Much better to hear some pro active policing by a decent copper on the UHF ... than having some revenue raiser up your tail with wailing sirens.
FollowupID: 638576

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 20:17

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 20:17
Oztroopy,

They are not revenue raisers mate...why do people still say this....if you have seen what they have seen and visited parents to tell someone of a death...then you would understand....obviously you have not been touched by road trauma.

Don't speed...don't get a ticket...too bloody easy !!!

Drive safely...and make it home to your family.

FollowupID: 638807

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 20:49

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 20:49
Of course it's revenue raising, it's even used in the budgeting process. Qld just increased it's fines and where stating it'll help with the black hole we have. Fines do not stop people breaking the law, education and decent roads and systems do so. How much of the fines are spent on this, very little I hear you say, correct.

If fines or penalty of any kind where deterrents in there own right we wouldn't have law breakers. I do understand your view and yes have been touched by road death but fining someone after the fact does little. Here's a couple of examples. A friend dropped into the police station after he had a small accident where both vehicles where able to drive off. Said he thought it wise to at least report it, guess what the officer fined him as he said yes it was his fault, didn't give way. Now what do you think this mate will do next time. I was told by a solicitor that police warnings are a thing of the past the unwritten instruction is if you need to pull someone up they get a fine.

Either way fines are a form or revenue raising and if it worked the revenue would be reducing.

Just my view.
FollowupID: 638815

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 16:48

Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 16:48
And we will keep it that way...YOUR view.

There are more to your stories, but I couldn't be bothered trying to explain things as I don't think you would care as you think it is ALL revenue raising.

Good for you

FollowupID: 638926

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 20:19

Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 20:19
Well done Dunco, thoroughly thought out reasoning and kept at such a mature level you've totally convinced me of your opinion.

FollowupID: 638980

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 20:58

Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 20:58
Hi Austravel

If you haven't seen it this site is worth reading in detail

http://www.roadsense.com.au/facts.html

FollowupID: 638990

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 21:48

Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 21:48
Interesting Robin, thanks.
FollowupID: 639002

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 11:29

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 11:29
Yes it was AUSTRAVEL...as I have better things to do...

And those figures from Robin can be looked at a number of ways...WHO wrote it ?

And Another reason fatalities are higher over certain years...MORE people are on the road and the population has increased. Or don't we factor that in ?

Anyway, enjoy your thoughts and thank god we all don't think alike.

FollowupID: 639053

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 11:58

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 11:58
Yes all Interesting Robin......But I must admit I miss the open speed limits in the NT especially being on a short trip you could allways make a up a little lost time.

FollowupID: 639059

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 12:11

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 12:11
130km/h compared to 110km/h on a short trip will get you there a couple of minutes earlier...WOW !!! You can really make up some time :-)

I am currently in the Territory and am towing my van at about 95km/h...sometimes faster, sometimes slower. I had 2 blokes over take me the other day heading to Darwin and they would've been doing approx 130 -140. A few k's up the road I pulled up behind them at a traffic light at road works....off we went again and they took off at a similar speed....only for me to catch them up again further up the road at another traffic light and road works.

Wow...hahaha
FollowupID: 639062

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 12:17

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 12:17
Hi Ingo

AH Ha , now I know why our 4800's get different fuel consumption figures.

Hi Guys , That is not a ratbag site , it poses serious points but I don't think this post should get diverted off topic , so won't make any points but I would certainly go in hard in general support in a post specifically on those subjects.

FollowupID: 639064

Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 12:36

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 12:36
"Yes it was AUSTRAVEL...as I have better things to do..."

So you have time to write condescending and sarcastic posts but not time to defend your opinions.

"And Another reason fatalities are higher over certain years...MORE people are on the road and the population has increased. Or don't we factor that in ?"

Your assumption is that it hasn't been factored in.

"Anyway, enjoy your thoughts and thank god we all don't think alike."

Nor communicate the same.
FollowupID: 639065

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 13:58

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 13:58
hahaha... I dont drive like that all the time Robin and your right mate its not a rat bag site but One more say before I leave this post alone and stop fueling the fire.

Dunco...... mate!!!!! I hope I dont get as kranky as you when I get to your age...After reading a lot of your replies, maybe you should take a pill buddy Its just not good for your ticker.

"130km/h compared to 110km/h on a short trip will get you there a couple of minutes earlier...WOW !!! You can really make up some time :-) "

OK so you say you travel with your "mansion on wheels" at 95km/h and If I travel at 130km/h for 4 hrs, that puts me 140 kms in front of you!!!!
makes a big difference with a couple of screaming kids in the back that just want to have a run around.

Or....lets creep the speed up a bit more on a flat continual straight Rd for 6 hrs that puts me ahead 270 kms, your on the road for another 3.5 hrs. WOW!!!!

With my work in mind, when we do a trip its usually cram packed into 4 or so weeks & sometimes you can make up for a lost day over a few days by creeping up the speed a bit.
We dont all have the luxury of doing things at snails pace that is until I retire..................... IN 30 YEARS OR SO...hahahah

Stay Calm buds and safe travels!!

Ingo out!

FollowupID: 639081

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 14:06

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 14:06
Cranky ??

Where have I been cranky....with a smiley face and a "hahaha".

Obviously you only read what you want. I just like to have a bit of fun in here and keep you blokes honest....some of you take it the wrong way. Oh well. Enjoy your lives and get out there and bust a hump driving fast.

And I retired at 51... good luck with your retirement in 30 years mate !!

FollowupID: 639083

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 14:43

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 14:43
Also worth a read
http://wheelsmag.com.au/News/Photo+enforcement+blamed+and+banned.html?open&template=domWheels&fullarticle=yes
FollowupID: 639086

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 10:39

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 10:39
Some time back we were following a wide load on the M1, the Pilot Vehicle and the truck were in communication with the Police Vehicle on the UHF, I had the radio on scan, I dont recall what Channel it was on.

AnswerID: 371299

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 17:59

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 17:59
Thats sounds like useful common sense use of it Daza

FollowupID: 638632

Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:03

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:03
From the tone of some of these replies, it appears to me that some people may have an issue with the Police using UHF radios.

My question, if that is the case, why?

Anyone can operate a UHF, anywhere, at any time, and that includes police, firey's, ambo's and a lot of Govt dept's who need to communicate with others, both inside and outside their organisations..

OK it's probably not a good idea to transmit sensitive info by UHF, but at times it may be the only way of doing it.

Just my thoughts

Disco.
AnswerID: 371302

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:16

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:16
Disco

I dont think anyone has a problem with it???

In my case it saved me and 2 others a speeding ticket, If only all coppers were like that!!!!.

FollowupID: 638572

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:35

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:35
The Black Saturday Royal Commission has highlighted issues in relation to communications in this area; it shows a proper duty of care of Victorian police to use whatever means available to ensure communication

Why did the Police call for a tow truck after doing a rego check?

This implies that the vehicle was on public roads. If the rider had been riding a bit fast or on a closed track he or she would have probably got an on the spot fine and the issue would have left at that.

The bike would been confiscated under anti hoon laws or its’ rider should not have been riding on the road. Unregistered bike, unlicensed or drunk rider?

Whichever, I wouldn’t want to be sharing the road with it
FollowupID: 638575

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:32

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:32
This one sounded like a routine operation, not an emergency.

But there could be a real issue surrounding whether a transmission is
a hoax and hence not be taken seriously or even interfered with.

How would you know ?

I have seen a hoax used to clear a track on the very steep and congested Billy Goat Bluff track once causing vehicles to hurry out of the way.

FollowupID: 638585

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 13:42

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 13:42
Hi Disco Driver
I personally have no problems at all with Police monitoring UHF Frequencies. Drive past the local Police station 95% of the time and there is a sign on the front door "Station unattended - Police on Patrol". What a joke, if you need them in an emergency, they are else where, because of Government funding cuts. If there was a UHF Channel that was made public for them to be contacted on, it could save a lot of time if help was need quickly. Try and contact them at night and it is even worse. I do not know if things have changed recently, but if it was late and you rang the local Police Number, it would divert to Adelaide. Usually about 4 hours later, the local Boys in Blue would get the message from Adelaide.

FollowupID: 638596

Follow Up By: 93 Navara - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 08:11

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 08:11
I've an idea Stephen, ring 000. Could you imagine the amount of bodgie jobs that wold come over UHF. At least 00 ensures the job is recorded and passedon.
Would you rather that they sat inside or turned out to patrol or do jobs as requested? Everywhere needs more police, no more so than Vic. Strange thought process....
FollowupID: 638691

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 20:20

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 20:20
Disco driver,

Where in any of the above messages does anyone say they have a problem with it ??

Am I missing something here ?

FollowupID: 638808

Reply By: Ray - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:48

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 11:48
I was following a wide load here in W.A. one day and the traffic was piled up behind it for miles. I got on my UHF ch 40 and said "ain't it time you pulled over" whereupon the police escort replied " a good idea, we will pull this lot over in the next lay-by and let you all pass" this came from the initiative of the police vehicle not the escorts. We were all very grateful.

"THOSE THAT DO, DO Those that don't become escort drivers"
AnswerID: 371308

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:22

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:22
I was approaching Port Hedland last year and the cops came on Ch 40 warning all road users of a high speed pursuit travelling towards Hedland.
Couple of mins later a Falcon Wagon came past blowing smoke loaded with locals and they got stopped a few kays further down the road. The blokes ran off leaving the ladies in custody!
From what I could make out over the radio they'd pinched it from a roadhouse when the owner wandered off, maybe to pay for fuel.
I reckon the cops should use all available means to warn other road users of hazards.
Alan.
FollowupID: 638584

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:30

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:30
Robin, if it was the cops, don't think they have the right to tell you to get off the channel, surely a public system?

AnswerID: 371319

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 13:06

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 13:06
Not that I have a problem with the authorities using public access frequencies ... I would agree with the above comment I think.

It would take an "emergency" situation to command control of a frequency - not general business.

FollowupID: 638590

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 22:07

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 22:07
15 is the emergency channel on a uhf....if a cop asked me to "please" vacate the channel, i would.....notice he didnt direct anyone, but asked nicely :)
Theyve been chasin punks on bikes up here in NSW too....there seems to be many young ones riding all over the place thumbing their nose at the law.....why in my day........i did thesame :)
FollowupID: 638673

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 22:29

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 22:29
Don't know where you got 15 as the emergency channel from but it's wrong.
The emergency channel on UHF is 5 and on duplex that uses 35 also. And you shouldn't be on there unless it's an emergency.
FollowupID: 638677

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 20:23

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 20:23
There is an offence of

"Disobey a lawful direction from a Police Officer"

So if it was deemed "Lawful", then you have to obey.

FollowupID: 638809

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 18:22

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 18:22
There is no provision under the Radiocommunications Act for Police (or anyone) to take control of UHF CB channel - unless it was an emergency.
FollowupID: 639116

Reply By: rumpig - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 13:15

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 13:15
i have heard and have spoken to police on UHF Channel 40 a couple of times now. last long weekend on the way back to Brisbane we were about 30 klms south of Warwick when a white commodore was overtaking quite a few cars at a decent speed. the commodore started to overtake a couple more cars but only got past one when he spotted an oncoming car so ducked back inbehind the second vehicle he wanted to overtake. the oncoming vehicle was a highway patrol car and my mate travelling in the vehicle infront of me radioed back on the UHF, "geez that guy was lucky".
to which the highway patrol car asked us "what the white commodore".
i replied "yeh mate"
it took a couple of minutes (i'd been keeping an eye out for him but stopped looking after a few minutes went past) but sure enough when i looked in my side mirror there was a highway patrol car fair up my clacker heading back to catch up with the white commodore. it took another 5 or so minutes of the police car sitting a car or 2 back behind the commodore (he'd been stuck behind cars up ahead of us, we could just see them in the distance), but eventually the police car got him overtaking a few more cars at a decent speed along a straight stretch of road. we passed the 2 of them as the police officer had just gotten out of his car, he gave us a friendly wave as we went past. my guess was he didn't get his speed the first time, but he got him on the long straight stretch later on instead.

i've also heard 2 motorbike officers on the south east freeway here in Brisbane talking to each other as they were pulling up a few cars speeding through roadworks near the city. one guy said he'd take X vehicle whilst he said to other officer you go after Y vehicle.
AnswerID: 371324

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 17:53

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 17:53
The motorbikes in Qld DO have uhf's, I was overtaken by one on the Bruce highway, he slowed down in front of me and then asked for me to stop as soon as practical for the usual logbook and license checks.
If I didn't hear it myself i wouldn't beleived your story Rumpig.
Shane
FollowupID: 638625

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 21:19

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 21:19
Here in country FNQ the police definitely has UHF and uses them too, e.g. for traffic control during floods, advising the truckies etc. You can immediately tell it's them from the rather civilized message as compared to the usual "fk..ng this and fk..ng that". Locals (farmers) can usually be found on 28.

I have no problem with it, good communication helps. Nice to be able to pull over when you hear "4 metres northbound" and watch the ones without UHF trying to dodge the wide load coming...
AnswerID: 371402

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 22:14

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 22:14
Robin Check this out New South Wales Police Index
AnswerID: 371412

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 22:17

Monday, Jun 22, 2009 at 22:17
Robin Check this out New South Wales Police Index

I don't know what happen??????
AnswerID: 371413

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 08:12

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 08:12
Hi Richard

Reading things twice helps re-inforce the message when you getting less young.

FollowupID: 638692

Reply By: 93 Navara - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 08:14

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 08:14
Will be trail bike coppers Robin, been up that way of late. Cars have a diferent set up.
AnswerID: 371444

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 08:26

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 08:26
I suspect also now Navara , had some off-line feedback about how hard they have been hitting North of there for example in Southern Strathbogies over long weekend, and also from someone turned around at entrance of the fire closed road.

FollowupID: 638694

Reply By: Volvo driver - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 11:53

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 11:53
yes, the vic police use UHF, maybe not in the suburbs but certainly out in the sticks and on the highways,
they were probably doing a blitz on unreg/unlicensed trail bikes ( good on 'em too ) or checking deerhunters,
but what does "pushing the limits a little deep in a pine plantation" really mean?
LOL LOL
AnswerID: 371473

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 13:10

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 13:10
Secret Mens Business

FollowupID: 638724