Landcruiser BJ42/ FJ40

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 16:42
ThreadID: 7009 Views:6978 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
hi i am a uni student and I am thinking about buying a toyota landcruiser bj42/FJ40, i would like to do several trips up north and west but also need to use it to run around the city. I know they are old and a bit rough but can someone please advise me on wether i am making a good decision
Thanks Aaron
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: zigglemeister - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 18:43

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 18:43
Hi Aaron,

All depends on how rich a uni student you are... FJ40's are a great truck, but most of them these days fall into one of two categories: (a) someone's already done a lot of work to make it into a nice truck, and accordingly want a lot of money for it; or (b) the work hasn't been done yet, so there's a lot of it to do! They are extremely thirsty in the petrol versions, and both petrol and diesel can be really expensive to fix if there's work that needs doing. Personally, I'd look hard at a Daihatsu Rocky instead, especially if you can find a turbo-diesel one, or an earlier 4-Runner. Both are a really good truck, and IMHO much better value for money. But if you do get an FJ40 you'll probably fall in love with it anyway, even if it does keep costing you a mint, there's just something about them...

That's my two cents worth, others will no doubt follow!
Tim Z
AnswerID: 30021

Reply By: fj45ute - Thursday, Sep 04, 2003 at 14:02

Thursday, Sep 04, 2003 at 14:02
Hi Aaron