onslow western australia ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 18:59
ThreadID: 70094 Views:3034 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
hi all , has any one satayed at onslow w.a ? if so what was it like and what is there to do ? any feed back would be great . cheers

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 19:20

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 19:20
Will be there next week if that will be any help.

AnswerID: 371556

Reply By: JimDi - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 20:40

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 20:40
We stayed there late Sept last year for a few days in the caravan park near the main street.
Hardly anyone in the park and I could only describe the town as "quiet". The caravan park operator read us the rules and then dared us to break them.
The local servo charged me $200 for what was a filter and oil change and we left soon after.
But a bright light I found was the local museum. Maybe its just me but I found it fascinating.
Jim
AnswerID: 371570

Reply By:- Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 21:16

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 21:16
Not called ON Slow for nothing
AnswerID: 371582

Reply By: westskip - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 21:27

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 21:27
Have stayed there a number of times over the past few years. Very quiet little town with not a lot to do except go fishing. Worthwhile taking a drive out to "Old Onslow" and checking out the Ashburton River. Certainly a good spot to stop for a few relaxing days. Nice beaches to walk along plus a reef to explore at low tide. Two caravan parks one at the far western end of the main street and the other near the port(?) .

AnswerID: 371585

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 22:58

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 22:58
Yes, check out Old Onslow - this was the original port for the Ashburton district, where wool was loaded at the river mouth and lightered out to larger ships off shore. Still a few relics there, like the old police station and post office. Most of the other buildings were dismantled and shifted across to new Onslow around 1924. Suggest you get a map from the tourist office at (new) Onlsow.
cheers,
Gerry
FollowupID: 638837

Reply By: get outmore - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 21:52

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2009 at 21:52
went there a while back and really was probabally the low light of my trip through the gascoyne and NW

unless you have a boat and fish alot dont bother
AnswerID: 371587

Reply By: Foxhound (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 10:37

Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 10:37
I am at Onslow now, been here since 1 May. We come here each year for a couple of months and stay in the town caravan park. Yes it is a quiet little town with the main industry Onslow salt. As stated above to have any luck with the fishing you need a boat but only need a tinnie as the waters are fairly protected by the Mackerel islands. It is about 80K in from the main highway to the town and all sealed road. Onslow may not be everyone's cup of tea but if you are looking for a quiet spot to rest up from your travels for a few days then it is ideal. Park fees are around $180 per week for a powered site, fuel at the moment is $1.54 Ltr we also have a small supermarket and bottle shop with very reasonable prices. There is a Hotel and Police Station as well as a sports club that holds a BBQ on Saturday nights. As we come here every year we have got to know some of the locals and feel quite at home. It is raining here today which is a rare event for this time of year but should fine up soon, not cold though. Come and visit and form your own opinion. Regards all.
AnswerID: 371631

Follow Up By: zacc - Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 14:08

Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 14:08
thanx foxhound , can you tell me wether the servo sells lpg for cars ? if so how much please ?
FollowupID: 638908

Reply By: gjcumming - Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 13:46

Wednesday, Jun 24, 2009 at 13:46
Worth visiting. Caravan park on the beach is fine. Theres a long board walk (1km?) from the caravan park to another picnic park near the salt loading jetty.
A good museum in town. Good beaches a few km south.
WE were pleasantly supprised.
Regards: Grant
AnswerID: 371651

Follow Up By: Foxhound (WA) - Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 22:13

Thursday, Jun 25, 2009 at 22:13
Sorry for the late follow up mate, been fishing. Re the auto gas yes one servo sell it around a $1.00 Ltr, the first one on the left as you come into town. Regards,
FollowupID: 639158