Should I kill my travelling companion or incarcerate him?

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 22:36
ThreadID: 70231 Views:3968 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
After 10, 000k+ on the road I don't think I can.

My first night on the road I heard him. Camped beside the road near Wakool NSW, I heard a scratching sound.

The next night near Hay.... the same, and again near Orange and then again near Barraba. Finally after driving through the floods, I arrived at Toowoomba and by that night I was sure that a MOUSE had set out with me on my travels.

I heard the mouse many times scratching around in cupboards and found tell tale signs of his [or her?] presence. A big hole in the side of the bread was definitive.

Couldn't find where it lived.. then in Litchfield National Park...Wangi Falls, my daughter spotted him hanging out a hole in the bottom of the Transits back door. Just a head and front feet, then he was gone, back up the door. In broad daylight!

I'm home now. It has to end. The van is starting to stink.

I have ordered a 'humane' mousetrap. I don't have the heart to set a normal trap or feed it poison. But..... am I anthropomorphisizing? Am I being too soft? Should I destroy it just the way I have countless others?

We he be happy in a little mouse cage, when he is such a far travelled mouse?

Sigh

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 22:55

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 22:55
First thing you have to do is 'catch' it then you have to REMOVE it
(if it's still alive)

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 372263

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 00:21

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 00:21
Yep! I had the same problem when camping east of Esperance. Got a mouse in the wagon, and couldn't get it out. Travelled all the way back to Perth with us, sampling my provisions along the way. And it chewed out my rear door seal, costing about $170, plus chewed up polyfoam inside the wagon's aircon (I know, 'cos lots of little white bits flew out the air vents when I turned on the aircon). And the smell was getting intolerable after a few days.
Finally got it with one of those banana-shaped mouse traps, which tilt when the rodent enters, shutting a door behind. Humanely introduced it to the wheelie bin.
AnswerID: 372268

Reply By: Rockape - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 06:23

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 06:23
Royce,

We have to use the enviro mouse traps at work because of the native rodents.

They work well , but once you have caught your mate take him out in the scrub a long way from where you live, or he will be back.

Many of ours that are released don't last long in the daytime, if there are kites around.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 372275

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 10:45

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 10:45
This is no native mouse... it's Mus musculus [?]

I certainly won't be dumping him in the bush.... it's either the Great Mouse Hole in the Sky... or maybe a pet of a special kind.
FollowupID: 639536

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 11:43

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 11:43
Royce,
please give him a proper funeral.

FollowupID: 639540

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 12:20

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 12:20
Have you any friends with a pet python.
Slip your mate into a plastic bag and then slip him into the freezer.
Gives the mouse a purpose in life and the python a feed.
FollowupID: 639549

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 15:59

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 15:59
Did have a mate.... 1972 it was.
He kept a carpet python in his holden ute to stop potential thieves.
He thought it would spend the day wrapped around his steering wheel. ... It died.
Wrapped through the electrics of the dashboard.
Maggots dropped for weeks, as he couldn't extricate it!
FollowupID: 639566

Reply By: Member - Josh J (NT) - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 07:57

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 07:57
Royce,

12 gauge should sort him out...!!

Josh
AnswerID: 372280

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 11:14

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 11:14
Take the pellets out of the cartridge and replace with rice.
It's called forced feeding.

Noel k.
FollowupID: 639538

Reply By: austastar - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 11:32

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 11:32
Had one of the little pests in the camper.
Couldn't trap him - way too cunning.
Ended up starving him out. No food in the camper for 3 weeks and we noticed he had moved on.
Easier to do at home rather than on the road though.
AnswerID: 372295

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 11:44

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 11:44
If you want to try to trap him, I suggest using a little blob of peanut butter as bait (or cheese flavoured twisties) - despite what the story books might tell you about using cheese! ;) I've never known a mouse (or rat) to go past a blob of peanut butter.

See here for the tale of trapping a rat.
AnswerID: 372296

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 12:47

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 12:47
yes, that's the only thing I've found I can get to work for rats in my neighbourhood. They're too cunning to get caught by a trap, or to take the normal poison bait, so I mix Bromakil with peanut butter.
FollowupID: 639553

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 21:38

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 21:38
A lot of native rats and mice are carnivores. In the past we have found Smackos dog snacks are great bait in traps.

( it's funny when my dog tries to eat them too )

JOKE only kidding no dogs were harmed in this post!
FollowupID: 639630

Reply By: AlanTH - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 12:13

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 12:13
Catch him humanely and then let the cat have him.... or over the fence for the neighbours cat if you haven't got one!
They stink something horrible when they die trapped in the vehicle somewhere as the manager of Home Valley Station found out a couple of years ago when one was trapped and stinking in the aircon of his Troopy.
I lent him a screwdriver beside the Pentecost and he eventually got it out much to the relief of the passengers who weren't looking forward to getting back in for the trip back to the homestead.
Alan.
AnswerID: 372304

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 16:38

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 16:38
I group cats with mice and rats..... cats certainly aren't humane when they kill a mouse.

My jack russell would certainly like to have a munch though.
FollowupID: 639570

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 21:30

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 21:30
Royce our Jack Russells where better mousers then either of our cats.
FollowupID: 639626

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 21:40

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 21:40
I have a tenterfield terrier, she loves to play with snakes and lizards but is terrified of rats and mice :-(

Coward !!!
FollowupID: 639631

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 12:14

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 12:14
Royce,
If he's a native marsupial mouse then gently trap and release a goodly distance from home.

If it's an introduced European mouse then advanced SCUBA minus the SCUBA is the only way to go.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 372305

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 16:38

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 16:38
Ive always wanted to say this,

KILL, KILL, KILL

Send the rodent to his happy hunting ground.

Kill, Kill, Kill.

He He He He.

I hate meeses to pieces.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 372330

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 17:42

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 17:42
And I've always wanted to say "KILL, CRUSH, DESTROY" .... "KILL CRUSH DESTROY"!
FollowupID: 639576

Follow Up By: ob - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 18:07

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 18:07
C' mon guys .......what about EXTERMINATE....EXTERMINATE.......EXTERMINATE

i LOVE DR WHO

And it's so suitable in this case

Cheer ob
FollowupID: 639585

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 20:28

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 20:28
You can get any thing you want at Alice's restaurant.

Isn't that so Dodger?

FollowupID: 639611

Follow Up By: Gramps - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 20:52

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 20:52
Arlo would be proud of you LOL

FollowupID: 639616

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 20:57

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 20:57
And so he should be Al, I know how to ride a motorsicle with a pickle too!

FollowupID: 639617

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Jun 30, 2009 at 09:04

Tuesday, Jun 30, 2009 at 09:04
Yep just lurv that restaurant,
Buffalo, Roo, Camel, Crock, Emu, Galah, Crow, Goanna, Snake, n Toad for the desperate.

Jest to name a few.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 639657

Reply By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 18:35

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 18:35
We had a band of party rats in our roof :-( every night they romped and fought through the night.

The usual traps did not work so finally and reluctantly we opted for poison.

We now have the wafting odour of decaying rat in one of our walls, not pleasant !
AnswerID: 372347

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 18:38

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 18:38
If it is a native animal then you may have problems with keeping it as a pet.

You will need a permit, if you kill it and it is a native one, DOON'T TELL ANYONE !!! :-)
FollowupID: 639588

Reply By: Member - Au-2 - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 21:24

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 21:24
You were lucky, your party rats didn't have access to a Macadamia tree, D200Dug. Try lying in bed listening to them playing soccer in the ceiling all night long. Then there's those black feathered BIG BIRDS that carry the nuts to the apex of your corrugated iron roof and then start playing tennis with their mate on the roof of the house next door. After that comes mango season, and the drunks lobbing green mangoes on rooves near and far, from mid-night to dawn. AAAAAARGH! Give me a shotgun, I could turn into a hillbilly at the flick of a nut.
Sheila.
AnswerID: 372389

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 23:50

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 23:50
Sounds like you need deep shag pile carpet on your roof!!!!
FollowupID: 639642

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 17:41

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 17:41
we found and captured a mouse before a trip one time
we decided to put him in a mouse cage and took him with us.
evry place we stopped or visited we took him and got photos om him.
he did have a great holliday with plenty of happy snaps .
then when we got home we gave him to the cat
AnswerID: 372653