Vehicle registration costs in Qld, get the facts right you whinging Qlders.

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 08:36
ThreadID: 70290 Views:50552 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
Been getting emails about the cost of registration in Qld, and costs going up.

And they compare Qld rego to Vic., the total on the bottom of the bill.

Get the facts right.

Look at the invoice, Qld 6 cyl is $335.90, plus third party which comes to $709.35.

I will say that again, QLD IS $335.35 FOR A 6CYL TO REGISTER.
Less for my 4 cyl.

Vic I understand pay third party insurance seperately, so the rego is only rego.

Sheesh, but that does feel better, having a whinge about the whingers :o)

Reply By: discovery099 - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 09:08

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 09:08
Get the facts right...LOL.

Famous last words spoken many times John.

Victorians do not pay their third party insurance seperately. There are only three items listed on a Victorian registration bill. Stamp Duty, Third Party & Registration. These are itemised but you have to pay the bill in total.

So to register my Discovery Td5 is $593. Total. That's it. We also do not have any scheme on size of vehicle.

So I can see why the Queenslanders are whinging.

AnswerID: 372577

Follow Up By: discovery099 - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 09:24

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 09:24
Even I have famous last words.......

In line with the new CPI increases the Victorian Vehicle Registration is now $612.

Its all understandable now...how else these politicians are to be kept in their lavish lifestyles.
FollowupID: 639806

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 02, 2009 at 21:07

Thursday, Jul 02, 2009 at 21:07
I believe Victorians do pay third party separately! I just paid my rego today on the cruiser:

$178 - Registration Fee
$378 - TAC Charge (includes $34.36 in GST)
$37.80 - Insurance Duty (10% on the above I guess)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
$593.80 Total

So, the TAC being transport accident insurance that covers people that get smashed up in an accident (medical and hospital and rehabilitation cover for personal injury), not the damage to other vehicles involved.

You still need to take out third party insurance with someone else (QBE, RACV, whoever) for an additional $150-180 or so.

Warren.
FollowupID: 640076

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 09:14

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 09:14
It is not the cost that worries me as much as the misinformation which goes with it.

We are told that rego increases for 4,6 or 8 cylinders as a reflection of "gas guzzling" and "environmental impact" yet fuel consumption is not taken into account. My V8 200 series uses a less fuel than a lot of 6 cylinders and my I30 uses only 5l per 100km. All these vehicles just use the road with 4 tyres on the road yet have differential taxing.

"gas guzzlers" pay extra tax through extra fuel they guzzle so why tax twice. There is no sound strategy here just tax grabbing. There should be encouragement for lower fuel consumption.

AnswerID: 372579

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Friday, Jul 03, 2009 at 19:44

Friday, Jul 03, 2009 at 19:44
Totally agree with you alan, this sort of taxing is so far out of date. I have been thinking about this for a while, specially now toyota has bought out the v8 which has consumption figures equal to some fours.
The intelligance of our pollies really baffles me. I looked at fitting solar pannels to my house to save on my power bill, i went away from the idea as most pannels are made in China, and i refuse to give them any more money than i have to. I looked at fitting a wind turbine which puts out twice as much as solar, works 24/7 and is half the price. Rang the Govt dept for the rebate, but they declined to pay as they said it wasnt solar,as the rebate is named. Go figure. Col
FollowupID: 640198

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 09:18

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 09:18
John,

not sure where you got those numbers from....using https://www.service.transport.qld.gov.au/eQuote/eQuote.jsp gives me the following information:

Date of registration 01/07/2009
Quote type Registration renewal
Include CTP insurance in quote Yes
Vehicle type Passenger car
Purpose of use Private
Type of engine Cylinders
Number of cylinders/rotors 6
Concession category No Concession
Pay term 12 Months
CTP insurance class Cars and station wagons
Input tax credits entitlement (ITCE) No
CTP insurer NRMA

Registration fee 415.60
Traffic improvement fee 45.80
CTP insurance premium 340.00

========
Total fee ($) 801.40
========

In Victoria, CTP is included in your vehicle registration and is covered by TAC, therefore general costs would be:

Registration Renewal Fees - Light Motor Vehicle

Postcode at which the vehicle will be garaged: 3001
Are you eligible for Pensioner Concession?: no
Do you have a Health Care Card?: no

Registration Fee: $183.30
Transport Accident Charge: $390.00
Insurance Duty: $39.00
Total Fee Payable $: $612.30

Happy to be proven wrong in this case :)

AnswerID: 372582

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 09:24

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 09:24
Adding to that, $648.25 for a 4 cylinder in Qld....still more expensive than Victoria. :(

FollowupID: 639807

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 02, 2009 at 21:09

Thursday, Jul 02, 2009 at 21:09
G'day Andrew,

See my followup above about TAC. We still need to take out third party seperately.

Warren.
FollowupID: 640077

Reply By: Member - Effie C (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 10:36

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 10:36
Easily fixed all move back to Victoria:))
Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

AnswerID: 372592

Reply By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 10:46

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 10:46
I am told that CTP insurance for utes in Qld will rise by $90 due to the increasing number of accidents involving utes, ( Now usually driven by younger drivers )

the old days of utes being driven by dads farmers and old tradies are gone, they have become a fashion statement now :-(
AnswerID: 372595

Reply By: wicket - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 11:09

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 11:09
If you want to whinge about rego come to SA, my last bill was close to $900 for my Hilux and it's just gone up again so later this year wil be $900+ !!
AnswerID: 372603

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 20:38

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 20:38
My Landcruiser tray is classified as goods-carrying, so cost me $909.00 last month. I can't change the way its registered unless I fit a bed permanently inside it and call it something else, in which case it will need to be weighbridged before they can tell me how much it will cost..........its all too hard!
My wife's Xtrail cost $595.00.
FollowupID: 639928

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 11:16

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 11:16
Settle down guys... the explanation could be a simple one.. Victoria is a small state so the road infrastructure is small and so the costs are low. Queenslanders have a big state and probably have been paying a lot less than required for a long time..OR!!! Just mismanagement of state govts in general. Michael
AnswerID: 372604

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 11:17

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 11:17
Got to agree- QLD whingers
in ACT 80 series is $821 , same as holden crapadoore, is classified as station wagon.
LC ute $900 if registered for private use or double if business vehicle (Classified as goods carrying vehicle).
not sure if these reflect CPI increases to take effect from today.
still not too much to force me to move to VIC.
howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 372605

Follow Up By: tim_c - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 12:08

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 12:08
Yeah, what *ARE* they whinging about? I think NSW & ACT have been competing with each other for a long time for the title "Most expensive Vehicle Rego in the Southern Hemisphere"! :)
FollowupID: 639833

Follow Up By: Canvas Charisma - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 12:26

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 12:26
Hi Guys,

I think we might all have something to whinge about.

Fuel Up
Rates Up
Rego Up
Water up
Tolls up
Electricity up
100,000 extra jobs - Yeah right
Health in a mess still
Teachers going on strike in QLD

This is just a few of the big ticket items and there are a lot more out there.

The list just goes on. What a load of crap. The pricks in power could not lie straight in bed
FollowupID: 639837

Follow Up By: tim_c - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 12:44

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 12:44
You might have something to whinge about, except that all these "ups" are just CATCHING up (to what the rest of us have been forking out for years)!
FollowupID: 639842

Follow Up By: Canvas Charisma - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 13:51

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 13:51
Tim,

It still doesn't make it a good situation though does it?

As I said we all have something to be unhappy about.

FollowupID: 639857

Follow Up By: tim_c - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 14:21

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 14:21
Too right Brian. Australia is a top place to live but if it were to become less developed, the undeveloped countries could easily look on and say "What are you whinging about, that's how we've had it for centuries" but it certainly would be something for Australians to be unhappy about.
FollowupID: 639861

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 21:55

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 21:55
You whine about having to pay more for some things in this thread. Then in another thread on non related subjects you will be gloating about how much better off you are.

Why don't you learn to thake the good with the bad?

FollowupID: 639940

Follow Up By: Canvas Charisma - Thursday, Jul 02, 2009 at 07:53

Thursday, Jul 02, 2009 at 07:53
Peter,

If that's directed at me could you point me in the direction of where I have done it as I was pretty sure I haven't. And if you are happy to continually pay more for things all the time then that is your business but I am not.

Have a good one.

FollowupID: 639973

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Jul 02, 2009 at 11:20

Thursday, Jul 02, 2009 at 11:20
Peter, I suspect you're referring to my comments... I just took an example to illustrate my agreement/understanding of Brian's point, certainly not gloating - in fact, the opposite: Look at what we enjoy, we shouldn't be content to squander it under wasteful governments.

"Why don't you learn to take the good with the bad?"

No one likes to pay more than they have to for things, although often we are willing to pay more to get a better product/service. However, it is objectionable when a government increases taxes, rates, etc. yet the services, infrastructure, etc. don't improve, or worse: decline! It is even worse when you see those taxes going to waste - and so we get onto the topic of undeveloped countries - they are that way simply because the services & infrastructure are poor standard, mostly because of misappropriation of taxes, funds, resources, etc. This is the direction I fear Australia may be headed...
FollowupID: 639999

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 17:55

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 17:55
Thanks everyone for the replies.

Yes, I do have a few corrections to make to the original statement.

I also have a better idea of what is happening across the country and what the facts are :o0
AnswerID: 372656

Reply By: Austravel - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 19:44

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 21:46

Wednesday, Jul 01, 2009 at 21:46
Don't forget, Queenslanders had subsidised fuel for a long time. It was costing about 10c a litre less than anywhere else.

I reckon get rid of the states. They are sheltered workshops for the lazy and the corrupt (politicians and public servants). Sadly, Rudd has been too gutless to take over the hospitals.
AnswerID: 372709

Follow Up By: Matthew Clements - Thursday, Jul 02, 2009 at 00:14

Thursday, Jul 02, 2009 at 00:14
BOB I agree, get rid of State Government and for once we could abolish stamp duty - on LVs and houses. Trying too figure out why Stamp Duty varies from state to state. Personally i don't like topping up State MPs coffers! Would rather spend that cash on small business.

A lot of regional roads are in disrepair and Road Tax and fuel excise should cover that.

Unlike State and Federal MPs - i wish my superannuation payout was TAX FREE!
Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 639958

Reply By: kiwicol - Friday, Jul 03, 2009 at 19:52

Friday, Jul 03, 2009 at 19:52
QLD rego for 4 cyld $340.00 CTP
$262.45 rego fee
$ 45.80 traffic inprovement fee
Total 648.25
Have my bill in front of me payable by 4/8/09
Not looking forward to my bill for my 6clyd patrol and my v8 triumph stag.
col
AnswerID: 372970

Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 03:59

Saturday, Jul 04, 2009 at 03:59
Well that is interesting.. the regos for Qld were to go up from the first of july..

I paid 2 of my 3 vehicles regos in the last month. (all 3 are 6cyl)
pajero due on 30th june
commodore due 5 june..
both of those registrations were $752 and so many cents for a year and $415 and so many cents for 6 months..

yet my GQ rego in April? was in the $600 mark and I think somewhere in the $300 mark for 6 months.. what the usual rego price was.

So the rego rise was as of the first of july.. but they have hit me up for it in june!

Maybe I need to make a phone call....
AnswerID: 373014