OT. RE THREAD 70390 FOOTY ILLNESS UPDATE.

Submitted: Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 11:01
ThreadID: 70435 Views:3948 Replies:14 FollowUps:21
Thanks to Members Sir Kev & Toadkeeper Jo, I contacted Mrs Footy on the phone she was pleased to know every body is thinking of him and appreciates all the Best Wishes for him, at the moment he is in the ICU at the J F Hospital, and still in the Induced Coma,she said it will be a while before he is moved to a Private Room, and then 2 or 3 months of treatment, I mentioned if there is any thing that we could do, re help around the home ect or any other help, and she said that her Family and close friends have it under control, but thank you for the offer, I also mentioned to be prepaired for heaps of Get Well Cards ect, she said that would be fantastic, Footy lives just on the other side of the hill from us, or as the Crow Flies about 8 ks away, and I have never met the Man, but you can rest assure as soon as he can have visitors I will call in and see him, I told Mrs Footy that I would keep in contact with her to see how he is going from time to time, she said please do, JIM WOULD LIKE THAT, he is in good hands at the JF Hospital.

PS, Mrs Footy also said that as soon as he gets well enough she will get him onto the Laptop, so he can give everybody an update as well.

Reply By: tim_c - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 12:02

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 12:02
Thanks for the update Daza - please keep us all informed.

I don't personally know Footy but have certainly valued his contribution to the forum, and it's not welcome news to hear of anyone in this situation whether you know them well or not.

It must have been quite a fall for him to be in ICU in an induced coma?
AnswerID: 373297

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 13:00

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 13:00
Thanks for the follow-up Dazza, much appreciated.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 373303

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 13:12

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 13:12
Daza,

Good to hear you got in contact with Mrs Footy.

He is going to be in for the long haul when he wakes up and gets moved to a private room, so I reckon that EO will give him something to look forward to when he gets his Laptop.

AnswerID: 373305

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 13:38

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 13:38
G/Day Kev

Not to sure if Footy owns a Laptop, Mrs Footy said she might have to get one, I'll confirm that over the next couple of weeks, might be a project to organise one for him, we should be able to get something going, I will leave it to you and the others to have a discussion on the matter in the near future.
FollowupID: 640471

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 13:41

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 13:41
I am sure something could be arranged, sounds like he will miss the St G gathering as well :((

FollowupID: 640473

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:28

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:28
Does anyone know exactly what happened to Footy?

AnswerID: 373316

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:38

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:38
GB,

It is in the original post

FollowupID: 640480

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:39

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:39
Member - Dick (Int) posted:

Posted by Malcolm Langley in the Codan Forum

Re Jim.
From what I understand he slipped over in the house and bruised himself quite
badly. Went to a doctor who said all was ok. A few days later the bruise started
to smell. It was then diagnosed as that flesh eating bug. Operation took place
to remove the damaged flesh and he was put in an induced coma to help with his recovery and prevent him from moving too much and upsetting the vacuum dressing applied to the rather large wound. They have no idea how long he will be there. One thing they do know is that he will require a number of skin grafts. It is expected that he will be in a hospital for about 3 months or so if everything goes ok.

FollowupID: 640481

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:48

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:48
Thanks Kev,

I was following that Post but missed Dick's Follow-Up.

Sounds bloody awful.

Footy, when you get around to reading these posts, all the best from way over here in WA. Let's hope you can make it out to St george in September.

Good wishes to you.

FollowupID: 640482

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 19:55

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 19:55
Had some internal surgery too for the infection. Must have moved around the system quickly.
FollowupID: 640516

Reply By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:46

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:46
Dazza,well done on the contact & updating us with how Jim is getting on.
Hope his wife is also coping at this time.
Get well soon Jim we are missing your contribution here,i know you are in good hands there in John Flynn hospital as we had a family member there a couple of yrs back & she was very well looked after.

AnswerID: 373318

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:46

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 15:46
Hi Daza

Thanks for the update, much appreciated even though we don't know footy personally EO is a big family which we are happy to be a part of.

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 373319

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 16:45

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 16:45
Evening Daza

Thanks you so much for following up and making contact. I originally did the post just to let EO know that 1 of our members was unwell but it seems that EO really are a very widely spread but close knit family.

Might even bring a tear to Footy's eyes when he realises how many people out there in cyberspace care about his wellbeing.

Thanks again

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 373324

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 18:26

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 18:26
Thanks for that Daza.....

As I mentioned on the original post, I had work in the hospital today, so this afternoon I went to the ICU to check up on Jim. I spoke briefly with his nurse and she will also pass on our (EO) wishes. I also left a business card for Mrs Footy to call me if she needs anything, if there is anything she needs, I am certain this great forum will help!

I'll keep visiting when I can, and post updates when I do.... with any luck Daza, we might meet there one day!

AnswerID: 373344

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 21:41

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 21:41
Hi Brian, can you send me via member message, footys last name and address so I can post off a get well card please or if you dont think its right to send his home address the full name of the hospital & address and I will send it there, (not sure he would get it thou if I post to the hospital ??)...... Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 640533

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 21:42

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 21:42
Or even your home address and if you could pass it onto him as you obviously work there...... Regards steve M
FollowupID: 640534

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 21:58

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 21:58
Steve M,

I have sent you a MM.

FollowupID: 640536

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 22:08

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 22:08
I wouldn't overload it

This mat be a way to help

Regards Richard

All the best Footy
FollowupID: 640537

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 22:10

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 22:10
Thanks Brian, got it. regards Steve
FollowupID: 640538

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 22:18

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 22:18
Darn fingers "This mat be a way to help" MAYBE
FollowupID: 640539

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 21:10

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 21:10
Like everyone else, looking for a speedy recovery from a nasty illness.
Looking forward to some more of that wicked sense of humour and some of the poetry he has dished up over many years on many forums.
AnswerID: 373374

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 22:48

Monday, Jul 06, 2009 at 22:48
To all that are wishing Jim all the best, the following maybe a way to help out.

I have down loaded three E-books of Jim's for $15.00 USD I hope he gets some... also hope it's the right JIM. (Footy).

Anyway it's up to you no pressure to do or not

The Books

The books are

White Man's Dreaming
Have a Nice day
Glitter
AnswerID: 373392

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 02:06

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 02:06

Great idea and I would be only to willing to buy them or even send the price directly to Jim, my only worry is does this all go to him or through a publisher.

I also thought about what others have said about a Laptop for Jim, which I agree with Mrs footy he will need.

I have one that I could sort out for him way below cost, if others wanted to put in but don't want it to sound like I'm trying to just get a sale, it is the last thing from my mind.

Any idea's about how to do this with the laptop would be greatly appreciated.

FollowupID: 640549

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 07:04

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 07:04
Blaze,
I think that's a great idea. I'm willing to contribute and I'm sure others will be as well.
Let me know what you think the $$ will be and we'll take it from there.
Perhaps work out how many of us are putting in for it and work out a "share"..... as for delivery, feel free to send it to me and I will make sure he gets it. Details are on a reply post below.

FollowupID: 640553

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 21:07

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 21:07
Blaze

I know what you mean, but we buy the book Jim and the publisher get some money, if we don't buy the book no one gets any money.

Jim is a business man and he would under stand,

by the publisher getting payed it alows them to be able to publish works like Jims

FollowupID: 640645

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 02:08

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 02:08
Forgot to mention to anyone who reads it and doesn't know I own a retail outlet for PC's.

AnswerID: 373408

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 09:44

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 09:44
Darn, I thought it was a Coffee Shop.
FollowupID: 640565

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 07:10

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 07:10
Late last night I was thinking about Steve's (wherehegone) post above about sending cards to the hospital and MM'd him with my details for him to send his get well card to me and I would deliver it.

If anyone wants to send cards or letters etc.... to Jim, please feel free to send them to me and I will see that he gets them. Address the envelope as follows;

Footloose
C/O Chill-Zone Refrigeration
PO Box 2943
Nerang
Qld 4211

AnswerID: 373414

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 11:16

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 11:16
I am informed that Sir Kev has the wheels turning organising whatever Footy will need, I spoke to him this morning and it seems all in hand. Certainly makes more sense to get one from up there if it's needed.

AnswerID: 373438

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 11:29

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 11:29
Myself and a couple of others I might add :))

Thanks to Brian also for being the Postman for the cards and get well items delivery .......... One question though - will we get to see a photo of Brian on a Postie bike on his way to the Hospital to deliver them?? haha

FollowupID: 640580

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 15:55

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 15:55
Sir Kev & Darkie posted:
"Myself and a couple of others I might add :))

Thanks to Brian also for being the Postman for the cards and get well items delivery .......... One question though - will we get to see a photo of Brian on a Postie bike on his way to the Hospital to deliver them?? haha "

ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!! That...... is GOLD mate!

Me..... on a Postie????? Not sure they'd handle the load!! LOL......

FollowupID: 640598

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 16:08

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 16:08
We can all live in hope Brian LOL

See my reply MM

FollowupID: 640600

Follow Up By: eerfree - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 20:23

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2009 at 20:23
I would like to see Brian (or anyone) deliver the cards to Jim's house on a Postie bike, that would be a Hoot, that driveway is a Doozy!!!

FollowupID: 640634

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Jul 08, 2009 at 06:51

Wednesday, Jul 08, 2009 at 06:51
Bob,
I was more concerned about getting the Postie bike into ICU!!!!! LOL....

FollowupID: 640676

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 08, 2009 at 12:50

Wednesday, Jul 08, 2009 at 12:50
Hi Daza,

Thanks for the update and I wasn't aware of the accident to Mr Footy. I hope it all works out well - please keep us informed.

AnswerID: 373586