Troopys and 3rd doors

Submitted: Friday, Sep 05, 2003 at 15:57
ThreadID: 7051 Views:2372 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
G'day,

having just returned from a trip to Broome (unfotunatly in a plane and not by Troopy) I saw a few 3 door troopies. I stopped one guy on the street and he was willing to talk about it. He purchased his ex Telsra with a "arkana" he called it 3rd door conversion. This take a larger (drivers side) rear door, swaps the hinges to the other side and mounts in on the passenger side. apparently Telsra have many of these and get them converted from new. This gentleman states he purchased his from Auction, and didn't know where the conversion was done. He stated he had loked at a ?? TJM i think he said conversion that had poor seals, leaked dust and water and rusted the floor acording ti its owner.

This one the owner was very happy that it didn't leak dust etc,

does anyone know a) who does the conversion and b) $$$$$

shaun

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 05, 2003 at 20:25

Friday, Sep 05, 2003 at 20:25
Place in dandenong does the 3rd door conversion on normal Troopys, and its around $3000-4500 for the job. they use 75 series door, and its all legal and engineered.

Lots of $ but if I had a troopy, id do it
AnswerID: 30225

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Friday, Sep 05, 2003 at 22:18

Friday, Sep 05, 2003 at 22:18
hmmm truckster and a troopy lololol—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
FollowupID: 21285

Follow Up By: Troopyboy-vk3hsc - Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 21:24

Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 21:24
Well, I brought it 6 years old and that was a few yrs ago now. Its 14 yrs old now, need to weigh up the cost, it will need to have the seat and everything for that $$$$, but I'll ring them thanks for the reply

shaun

PS, that looks remarkably like a Datto to me :). hehehehehe
FollowupID: 21319

Reply By: awill4x4 - Friday, Sep 05, 2003 at 20:38

Friday, Sep 05, 2003 at 20:38
Shaun, the company's name is Polans Truck Refinishing. Phone (03) 9794 0626.
They are in Dandenong South, I think they may be in Elliot Rd but I'm not sure.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 30228

Follow Up By: Troopyboy-vk3hsc - Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 21:25

Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 21:25
Andrew thanks for the reply, I;'ll call them, I have heard of Po0lans, but not for 3rd door's.

again , thanks for the prompt reply

Shaun
FollowupID: 21320

Reply By: Harry - Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 21:01

Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 21:01
G,daye troopyboy,
Depends if you live in Melb. The Landrover owners club have a 4wd feild day at Wandin, just out from Lilydale in Feb. every year and there's a Troopy conversion mob has a stand there and they guarantee there jobs, but don't quote me on that. If you need more info, then i can chase it up for you.
AnswerID: 30279

Follow Up By: Troopyboy-vk3hsc - Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 21:15

Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 21:15
Thanks harry, lived in lilydale til a few months ago, and live in Heathmont now, am am aware of the Wandin field day. Have never seen the Conversion mob there before...anyway... i need to look at it cos i need a back seat to put my new baby in come december, thanks for the reply

Shaun.
FollowupID: 21316

Follow Up By: Troopyboy-vk3hsc - Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 21:31

Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 21:31
Actually, Any other info you had would be great. I was wondering if there is another company that might be doing it in Melbourne

Thanks in advance

Shaun
FollowupID: 21321

Reply By: Troopyboy-vk3hsc - Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 22:54

Saturday, Sep 06, 2003 at 22:54
http://www.alphalink.com.au/~shaunc/troopy.htm
AnswerID: 30290

Reply By: Alby - Monday, Sep 08, 2003 at 14:50

Monday, Sep 08, 2003 at 14:50
Hey All,

I had a troopy and after 12 months of messing about with passengers climbing over mine and the "war office's" seat, I looked at geting the 3rd door fitted. At $3 - 4,000 dollars - I used that as the lever to buy a new 100 series. Its sooooo much better than getting the troopy "cut and shut" so to speak..... mind you the change over was a fair bit more than the door conversion.

I'm interested in the outcome of the conversion cause I have a mate who would consider having it done to his truck

AnswerID: 30440

Follow Up By: Troopyboy-vk3hsc - Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 14:49

Tuesday, Sep 09, 2003 at 14:49
well, i'll endeavour to keep ppl posted. With the new bub on the horizon, and the Missus wont let me take her new Forester anywhere near the places I'll take the Troppy, i need to look at something. The old girl is strong, and I just spent a few $$$ on a reco'd transmission and transfer case, so I'm not getting rid of it anytime soon.

Just a quick one Alby, did the $4K include fitting of a seat, or was that for the door only ????

Ta, Shaun
FollowupID: 21610