Cheap winches @ Aldi

Submitted: Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 15:31
ThreadID: 70556 Views:4654 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
My local Aldi (Springwood) is selling 9,500lb winches for $250..

Reply By: Member - beachbum - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:09

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:09
Yours is cheap then. I have been in three of their stores on the north of Brisbane today and they are $499. They look o.K. externally BUT what are they like inside?
AnswerID: 373945

Reply By: warfer69 - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:12

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:12
Hiya Mr Bitchi

My Warn XP 9.5 retails about $2400 maybe a bit cheaper here and there.Now considering your Warn if gets dunked under water the warranty is void.You can nearly buy ten Aldi's to one Warn.Reading some forums the Aldi brand comes up quite well...
AnswerID: 373946

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:29

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:29
Hi Guys,
do a search here and you will get more info on them as they have been discussed before ,and yes that sounds very cheap compared to when I saw them I say give it a go if the others are out of your price range .

FollowupID: 641149

Follow Up By: howesy - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:01

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:01
I bought a cheap chinese 12000lb one off sleezbay and painted a stripe with a sealing rust paint around every seam and sprayed the cable with spray grease and its paid for itself with its use and been dunked a few times. If it failed tomorrow the only thing I would cry about is having to try and lift a new one into place while trying to line up bolts. Like you said you could buy several cheapies. So long as your prepared to go "ah well" if it stuffs up.
FollowupID: 641159

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 20:28

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 20:28
"If it failed tomorrow the only thing I would cry about is having to try and lift a new one into place"
If it failed on a steep hill like this winch did you'd have more to cry about than that. Recovery equipment is something I will never take shortcuts on as I've seen the dangerous results on several occations.
Cheers Craig............

FollowupID: 641182

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:27

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:27
OUCH! sounds like he would still be at the bottom of that hill if he didn't at least try!! what failed IE: cable break or did the winch just let go ?
FollowupID: 641191

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:02

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:02
Just out of curiosity Craig are you saying an Aldi winch was responsible for this ???? and also are you trying to say this would not happen with a Warn Winch ???? or are you just using the fear tactics lol to justify the overpriced $$$$$ Warn demand.

From reading other 4x4 forums i would have to believe they must be hurting as the Chinese are catching up at a fast pace..

Is there any chance you could you please provide a detailed report on this accident,its looks old so maybe not..Could have been shackle,wire,anchor point,stupidity etc etc..

FollowupID: 641196

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:51

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:51
The accident happened on Herne Spur coming out of Wonnagatta. After missing a gear change he backed it into a tree leaving a small dint. While recovering it back onto the track the winch gears let go & free spooled sending it over the side. No it wasn't an Aldi winch (too many years ago for that) & as you suggest Warfer this could possibly happen to most any brand. My point is simply cheap recovery gear what ever it is (winch/shackle/cable/straps/jack) has a far higher likelyhood of failure. The photo was just to illustrate that there can be more at risk here than a little inconvienience lining up the bolts.
Cheers Craig.......

FollowupID: 641206

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 10:32

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 10:32
This reminds me of cordless drills in the workshop.

They only ever run out of juice while you're doing a job.
FollowupID: 641229

Follow Up By: howesy - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 15:33

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 15:33
Seems to me that the ever increasing amount of companies out sourcing to china to have components made and then assembling them in Australia etc that the reliability of even leading brands these days has taken a backward slide in the last few years. You take risk with any gear its up to each individual to assess perceived risk and make a decision. Luck of the draw these days I reckon although I do think a reputable brand would be more likely to listen to you if you came back to them with a problem.
FollowupID: 641273

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 16:05

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 16:05
***I do think a reputable brand would be more likely to listen to you if you came back to them with a problem.***

Hiya Howesy

I believed this misconception too once upon a time. !
FollowupID: 641278

Reply By: Wherehegon - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:22

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:22
My mate bought one last year for his patrol. He has used in numerous times, has been dunked in mud many a time, river crossings well up over the winch, does a lot of hard 4wdriving and till this day the winch still going strong.. Will it outlast a warn ??? Probably not but for the price of the Aldi one................. Regads Steve (Springwood NSW ?? )
AnswerID: 373948

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:26

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:26
Springwood QLD, you cockroach. LOL..
FollowupID: 641147

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:31

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:31
Hey Steve I was heading out of Penrith up the mountain myself at that price LOL!!
FollowupID: 641152

Reply By: Member - Porl - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:24

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:24
Hmm, moments like these I wish I had a bullbar (with a winch slot of course)
AnswerID: 373951

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:27

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:27
Me too. My Smartbar is the no winch version :-(
FollowupID: 641148

Reply By: ozwrangler - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:44

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:44
Can't comment on the winch, specifically, but I've had really mixed experiences with Aldi products. Range from excellent to very poor.

Usually have a 60 day return guarantee, however, am not sure how you give a winch a good testing?
AnswerID: 373955

Reply By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:59

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 16:59
Gday John,

I purchased one a year or so ago and raved about until It put me in a really awkward position, lucky I had other vehicles with me (check out thread 60139).
However many friends have purchased the aldi winch, used and abused them and are still going strong. I ended up with aldi giving me a full refund and I purchased the Iron Man 9500lb, so far no probs.

AnswerID: 373961

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:20

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:20
Isn't the Ironman winch the same as the Aldi one?
FollowupID: 641264

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 21:29

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 21:29
Yes shaker,

They were manufactured by Iron man, but the ones on sale now are not.

When mine was returned they had no stock in any Aldi stores and ended up getting $100 a the new Ironman winch.

FollowupID: 641337

Reply By: chisel - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:21

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:21
Might pick one up. Is the "springwood" aldi the one near the logan hyperdome? Aldi website lists one near the hyperdome and one at slacks creek.
AnswerID: 373965

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:06

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:06
It's on the service rd, just past the Watland St overpass.
FollowupID: 641198

Reply By: 100 Series - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 19:31

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 19:31
Poor man pays twice.
AnswerID: 373983

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:24

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:24
Hey 100 ser ,
Sounds like the poor man can pay 10 times at that price and still have a warranty LOL!

FollowupID: 641190

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 19:35

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 19:35
I have the 12000 pound repco winch on the cruiser, got it for about $650. Have given it a floggin. Gunshot was the last one with the trailer on aswell. Half way through it wouldn't unwind. Let it cool down and good as new. It has been under water and mud. Can't justify top dollar when the cheapies do the job. We carry a turfor just in case but never needed it. Buy the Aldi one then go bush and try it while under warranty.

Josh
AnswerID: 373984

Reply By: Smudger - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:41

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:41
Tests that I'm aware of showed that the main difference between the Aldi cheapies and the top shelf stuff is internal ..cast iron cogs in the cheap units. Some go the distance, others crack up early in life.
I reckon the real question is ..do you really need an expensive piece of jewellery for your truck?
Except for blokes I now who compete in extreme 4X4 comp's, I don't know anyone who has used a winch while touring, except for the sake of using it.
AnswerID: 374066

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 16:18

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 16:18
**I don't know anyone who has used a winch while touring, except for the sake of using it.***

Hiya Smudger

Is Touring basically classed as Black Top only ????

If it isnt the problem here is you just dont know whats around the next corner off road,Ive been to place's that while dry its great,one bit of rain and it turns to slush real quick and ad a small incline,it doesnt take much...

Years ago i went to Phillip Island and there was a track where other vehicles had previously park..We had a picnic on the foreshore.Packed up and had to get up small incline.Tried about 1/2 dozen times.Had the RACV winch me out,he said there is moisture in the grass but you cannot see it..Lesson Learned.

FollowupID: 641281

Follow Up By: Smudger - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 16:37

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 16:37
Of course you're right mate, never been off the black top. Too scared!

FollowupID: 641285

Reply By: chisel - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 17:53

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 17:53
I went to the aldi in question today but they had sold out. 2 other Aldi's nearby (which I went to first) had them at $499. The springwood one had them as one of a few items on half price for the week. I guess one of the other aldi's might do a half-price deal on them at some stage ....
AnswerID: 374077

Reply By: barely there - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 18:51

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 18:51
Hi there,I was just wondering if anyone knows if there are any left at Springwood,price sounds good.Thanks
AnswerID: 374081