Construction Stops for the LACK of:

Submitted: Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:31
ThreadID: 70559 Views:2659 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Countersunk Pop Rivets.

Can anyone in Perth tell me where I can get countersunk pop rivets. I'm building some bits and bobs for the caravan and I can't get countersunk pop rivets anywhere. I've got one left and I need about a dozen.

So far I've tried:

Bunnings
Mitre 10
Mandurah Nuts & Bolts (can get them but 500 at a time !!)
Coventry's Fasteners
Glenn Ford Tools

All advice appreciated.

Reply By: guzzi - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:49

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:49
look here, google is your friend

http://www.lincolnsentry.com.au/Product.aspx?id=978

They have a store in Perth, pop rivets with 3 head styles, one of which is countersunk.
Goodluck with it
AnswerID: 373970

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:54

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 17:54
Thanks Guzzi,

Good searching on Google, I didn't think of that although it is something that I use a lot.

However, they supply in lots of 1000.

I'll have to keep searching.

FollowupID: 641164

Follow Up By: Horacehighroller - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:06

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:06
Gday Gonebush,

Why not ask them to whom they have recently sent supplies.

Then approach them with some cash for their Christmas Party (or whatever)

FollowupID: 641165

Reply By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:03

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:03
Got a Blackwoods over there ???

Not likely to be a item in one of the boring, run of the mill "hardware" stores.

Will need to be a specialist trade store I would think.
AnswerID: 373972

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:27

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:27
I think they would only sell in bulk too, they have a minimum cash sale amount of $20 I think, maybe $10, can't remember, but either way it would be a lot of rivets
FollowupID: 641167

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:34

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:34
Yes, I've tried Blackwoods (used to be Atkins Carlyle over here, then became Blackwoods Atkins and are now just Atkins, keeps the stationery printers in business) but I forgot to list them earlier.

FollowupID: 641170

Reply By: Wheatbelt Wayne - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:42

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:42
Hey Gone Bush

Have you tried Aircraft suppliers? Amateur built aircraft feature lots of countersunk rivets. This link may be of some help, but they're not in Perth.

Countersunk Pop Rivets

Hopefully they may be able to help.

AnswerID: 373980

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:48

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 18:48
Thanks Wayne, I had a good look at your link and I think that the rivets they sell are probably so well made that they would be expensive and 500 from my local nuts & bolts bloke might be cheaper.

Just guessing at the moment but thanks for helping out. I'll look into it a bit more.

Thanks again

FollowupID: 641172

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 19:00

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 19:00
I see i need ONE of them for a locking mechanism for a commercial sliding glass door....aaaargh!

Might be worth approaching glass and aluminium manufacturers to see what can be arranged locally. Off to hound them for one lol.

AnswerID: 373982

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 19:20

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 19:20
Andrew, thanks for the excellent tip.

One of my good friends owns a large glass company here in town and says he has heaps of countersunk rivets. I'll be looking tomorrow.

MM me with the size you need if you find it impossible to get any. Postage is cheap.

FollowupID: 641174

Reply By: Member - KC (TAS) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:19

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:19
Have you tried a caravan repairer. I don't know if they use them, but might be worth a phone call. Hope you find some. good luck.
AnswerID: 374011