Long time employment tribute to Roachie.

Submitted: Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:07
ThreadID: 70566 Views:4100 Replies:25 FollowUps:33
Having been self employed for most of my working life i find it hard to comprehend what it would be like working for the same company for near 40 years, or as Roachie says, 38 years, 7 months and 6 days, but who's counting!!!
Have known Roachie for about 5 years and as i understand it he started with the NAB as a young wipper snapper in shorts making coffee and sweeping the floors.
He has been posted to many corners of the country and New Guinea, and im sure met many types of people.
On monday he retires from the NAB and is going to get a real job, probably full time nissan modifier!!!
Im sure they have paid him well over that time, but remaining in the same job for that long still deserves to be recognised.
So if you need a loan, get in quick !
Good one mate.
There are sure to be other stories of long employment out there.

Cheers Pesty

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:20

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:20
Gee, I'm humbled by these words of wisdom from someone soooooo great; and a Toyota owner no less!!!!

I only joined the bank as a 15 y/o for (supposedly) 6 months until I could get an apprenticeship with a joinery firm. Now I suppose they'll all say I'm too bloody old to be an apprentice. DAMN!!!! hahahaa

AnswerID: 373996

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:04

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:04
Good going Bill, not many people can or will be able to do the same..

Take it easy..

FollowupID: 641197

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:23

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:23
G'day Bill,

It goes without saying that you will enjoy your time 'retired'

I am into my 3rd retirement..and it will be my last, I hope!!

Just don't know how I had enough time to go to work...

Michael
FollowupID: 641210

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 12:29

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 12:29
All the best Roachie, call by if you are over this way, we owe you a tad of hospitality mate and Mrs Roach could do probably with a break from you after traveling such a distance.

FollowupID: 641239

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:47

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:47
Thanks for all your kind wishes.
I'm still going to have to work, but a change is as good as a holiday.
I've heard that pest control work is pretty easy to do, so I might get into that field next; goodness knows, I've had to deal with a few pests over the past 38 years, but unfortunately there is a law against spraying them!!! hahaha

FollowupID: 641249

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 16:20

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 16:20
Maybe a joint venture with Lucy.... - You could call yourselves UnLUCKY ROACH....

hehehee

FollowupID: 641282

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 22:41

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 22:41
Hahahahaha Love it MR "B"

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 641343

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:24

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:24
In the time since 20.37, i have had a call on the landline from the very tolerant Mrs Roach, with the story of Roachies farewell party on thursday night, and he went to one town for the party and the rest went to another, he was 30 minutes late for his own farewell.
I can feel a muckup award coming on LOL

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 373997

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:48

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:48
Thanks for sharing my ineptness with the whole flamin' world Mr Pesty!!!! ;-)
FollowupID: 641250

Follow Up By: Luke SA - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 23:16

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 23:16
HAHAHAHAHA Good one Roachie! Good news travells fast lol
FollowupID: 641345

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 08:13

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 08:13
are they retiring him due to him contracting dementia?....thats unlawful...but he'll never know...lol
FollowupID: 641523

Reply By: blue one - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:06

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:06
I thought he was employed to reclaim oil from sand, as the amount oil his 4wd has lost could sustain Aus for 6 weeks.

AnswerID: 374003

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:49

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:49
I only did that sort of stuff to try and raise the share price of my favourite oil company......
FollowupID: 641251

Follow Up By: blue one - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 21:35

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 21:35
On ya Roachie

The profits from your oil experiences have gone to the Smith Family.

ie: every time this site has enlightened me with humour there has been another donation to the Smith Family.

FollowupID: 641338

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:46

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:46
Hi Roachie,

Gee's that is a long time with one company - must have been good to you to have stayed all that time. All the best in your retirement, though it sounds like you have plenty planned already.

AnswerID: 374008

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:52

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:52
G'day Captain,

Thanks....but it's not so much that it was a good company to work for....more a case of me not having the fortitude to get out and try something different....

Hope the 200 is going well for you... I've actually been considering a 4.5 V8 myself, but think I would go for one of the single turbo versions (IF I do.... and it's a BIG "if").....

FollowupID: 641253

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 03:17

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 03:17
Roachie,

After I read those words, typed above I considered ringing the Star Force, thinking you must be held captive or similar and were using it as a code to attract attention.

Mr Neeeesssan in a 4.5 Yota, all I can say is Shame Shame Shame. I have come to the conclusion it's a forced retirement as you are clearly showing signs of Dementia.

Bet SWMBO will not let you cut a hole in a new rig to fit a different Snorkle LOL

Cheers Bloke

P.S. Are you still heading off to Mt Ives.

FollowupID: 641657

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 08:22

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 08:22
G'day Blaze,

No trips planned at this stage....next big one is hopefully to the St George gathering.... that's if the old Chev-trol doesn't break in half, half way there!!!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 641668

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:25

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:25
Hi Roachie,
as one who had nearly 38 years with the one company, and pulled the pin back in 2000 (geez is it that long ago?), I say congrats to you and your retirement!
Now to work out how you're gonna have enough time to do all those chores!
Je ne regrette rien
Gerry

AnswerID: 374012

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:52

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:52
Thanks very much Gerry.......
FollowupID: 641254

Reply By: warfer69 - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:31

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:31
Good on ya Rochie...

Hav Fun
AnswerID: 374014

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:53

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:53
Cheers warfer.....always having fun....it's just that sometimes it doesn't seem like fun at the time ;-)
FollowupID: 641255

Reply By: didiaust - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 05:24

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 05:24
Congratulations

I was always too restless to stay in 1 place too long - wish I had

Enjoy the following best years of your cycle.

Di
AnswerID: 374020

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:55

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:55
G'day Di,

Thanks for your congrats.....

I think the secret to my being able to stay with the one company all those years, was that I moved around sooooooo much. Never in one place more than a few years until this last posting here at Kadina, where I have been for 6 years.

FollowupID: 641256

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 08:26

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 08:26
Hi Bill via Steve,
All the best with your future new working like. You will now have no excesses for next years planned trip?. I promise that I will make it an easy trip.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 374025

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:57

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:57
G'day Stephen,

Unfortunately I still have to work to keep the wolves from the door . Hopefully the Super might recover in the next 5 years and I might be able to start to take it easy after that. Meanwhile, do you know anyone who wants to hire a burnt-out old fossil???

FollowupID: 641257

Follow Up By: Krakka - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 10:41

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 10:41
Come on Bill, you're not trying to get Annette back out in the workforce are ya? Hahahahaha. Sorry Annette, I really am.

Krakka
FollowupID: 641374

Reply By: Member - Alex B - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 08:36

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 08:36
Congratulations Roachie on a great innings & 'not out'!

Wishing you an amazing retirement.
Alex B
AnswerID: 374026

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:58

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:58
Thanks for your kind thoughts Alex; much appreciated....

FollowupID: 641259

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 08:37

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 08:37
What a challenging career, I wish you well in your future adventures. I was a little concerned when you & Pesty stopped posting here for a while as I enjoy your shared knowledge.

Hopefully we will catch up again, I still remember Mrs Roachies scones at Burra George & wish her & your youngers well.

AnswerID: 374027

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:00

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:00
G'day Cuffs,

Yes, I am indeed fortunate to have the amazing Annette here with me.... She is SOOOO (not) looking forward to me being here under her feet more often in the weeks to come.!!!!

My job will now be to FIND a job.....

hahahahaha

FollowupID: 641260

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:46

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:46
Roachie, Doyley and I sitting here having a coffee - can't believe that you are 'retiring' - poor Mrs Roach having you hanging around all day. Nice of Pesty to tell us about your farewell party - typical, eh?
Pity you are not out here at the moment - gosh it's nice. Annette and the boys would love it.
Suppose we'll see you in not too distant future.
Ruth and Ian
AnswerID: 374033

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:02

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:02
G'day Ruth and Ian,

I wish you wouldn't have told me how nice it is up there at the moment!! Damn!! Makes me want to hitch-up the wagon and let all those Chev ponies have their head!!!!

We'll be back up your way "sometime". Meanwhile, you still owe us a visit down here too don't forget!!! hahaha

FollowupID: 641261

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:47

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:47
Good luck to you Roachie, may it be a long and rewarding retirement!!
AnswerID: 374034

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:45

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:45
Thanks Leigh....no real retirement for me as such though....We still have youngsters at school so I'll have to work in some other job for another 10 years or I reckon.

FollowupID: 641248

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:53

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:53
It is something to be congratulated on as it does not happen very often now days.when i started with the RTA here in vic(now Vic Roads) in 86 i thought i had a job for life,but no thanks to Mr Kennett for carving up the government departments caused me to grab a package and bail out before we were shoved out without anything.after some years i realised that it actually was a good thing and have not looked back out in the contracting field as Vic Roads have outsourced all day labour for this field,8.5 years with V/R and 15 years as a contractor to them.i hope one day to meet Roachie face to face so i can shake his hand,as only our cars have met on a car carrier hahaha.I say well done and enjoy what ever you do next(hopefully lots more outback travel-lucky bugger!)
AnswerID: 374036

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:56

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:56
ooops,missed a few bits there but you get the idea!!
FollowupID: 641226

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:37

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:37
G'day Paul,

I have a photo of your Cruiser as my screen wallpaper..... Well, actually it's yours, mine plus the red Nissan ute; all on the back of the transporter>>>

So, everyday it is there as a reminder of yet another stupid thing I done...hahaha

The photo is dated in one corner..... "10/07/2008"; so yesterday was a sort of anniversary.

Cheers and thanks for you good wishes. One day I'm sure we will meet in person.

FollowupID: 641245

Reply By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 10:26

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 10:26
Congratulations mate. We only met once and you may or may not remember a trip with 3 Ultimates and a Jayco. But we always remember enjoying yours and Annette's company and in particular, your wonderfully well behaved sons. Have a good retirement, and we hope to meet up with you again somewhere in the wild blue yonder. (By the way, The Jayco went to God!!!)
Terry & Barb
AnswerID: 374039

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:43

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:43
G'day Terry,

Yes mate, I remember you well and that great trip we did back around 2001 or so.

I can still visualise going over the cattle grid between SA and Qld (Nappa Merrie I think, or Arrabury??) . As I followed you, I jumped on the UHF with a voice of disbelief...... "Ahhhh Terry; both of the top shock mounts on your Jayco have just broken off and they are hanging limp on the axle" (or words to that effect).

And, what about the major bogging we had north of Cameron Corner, when you and Barb went "bush" around the whole boggy area? I still tell that story to anyone who will listen...hahahahaa

So, what happened to the Jayco in the end? and do you have a replacement camper these days?

It'd be great to catch up again some day.......

FollowupID: 641246

Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:31

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:31
Yes it was a great trip and a classic introduction to the outback for some of us. You might recall the Jayco was virtually brand new. It lasted another 3 years of pretty heavy work before the wheels fell off (literally) on the way out to Dalhousie in 2004. After a lot of stuffing around we finished up replacing it with an on road caravan. If you have a look at my profile there are a few pics in there that show what happened to the Jayco. We still do a bit of travel in the outback - always carry a tent with us and quite often will park the van up for a week or two and take off in the tent.
We certainly remember the bogging incident - just wish we had been able to get some of the recovery work on video.
BTW the Prado is still going strong, and I don't care what they say, I love my traction control!!!
We look forward to catching up with you and the family.

t & b
FollowupID: 641360

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:55

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:55
If you have retired Roachie, does that mean you will make it to both the St George Gathering as well as the Pyrenees?? LOL

AnswerID: 374061

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:05

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:05
G'day Kev,
Mate, that very much depends on whether I've been able to sucker someone (errrr, I mean "convince") that I am worthy of being employed by them.

I have put my name down with the local ABB (Aust Barley Board) as they are always looking for people at harvest time.... so we'll have to wait and see what happens I guess.

I'm hoping to be able to get to St George at least......

FollowupID: 641262

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:26

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 14:26
Wel I am guaranteed to be at St George along with quite a few other QUEENSLANDERS hehehe

The Pyrenees is also looking good again, holidays have been approved just need to convince SWMBO to come along this year LOL. Trying to convince her that we could stop in Dubbo to visit the zoo with the kids and hopefully end up kid free for the rest of the trip ;)

FollowupID: 641265

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 18:12

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 18:12
Maybe............... just maybe, just hopefully, your SWMBI & the kids could continue the trip Kev free?? Poor woman, after all she probabley could do with a well deserved break? You would look well behind bars!! LOL & cheers
FollowupID: 641310

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 16:38

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 16:38
Congratulations Roachie on taking a big step for a man with kids still at school.

The easy option would have been to stay put until the kids were done and then retire.

You'll fall into something that you'll absolutely love.

AnswerID: 374070

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 17:08

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 17:08
Geoff, in the end they made me an offer too good to refuse (redundancy), so if I'd have elected to stay on (in a different position) it would have meant I worked for the next 2 years, just to get the cash they want to throw at me to leave now..... a no-brainer really!!! hahaha

But you're correct, a brave move to a certain extent.

FollowupID: 641292

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 17:21

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 17:21
As you say mate, no brainer.

Go for it!

FollowupID: 641297

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 17:24

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 17:24
Best wishes in your retirement & congratulations on sticking with your career for nearly 40 years.
I have not yet had the pleasure of meeting you, but I know you enjoy a great deal of respect & friendship on this Forum and therefore I would think that those who had the occasion to deal with you in your professional capacity in the banking world would have come away from their dealings with you with also nothing but respect for you.
So good luck to you & your family with whatever path you choose to take & safe travelling. Cheers.
AnswerID: 374074

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 17:48

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 17:48
Good on you Roachie
You have done well sticking it out for 38 years, best of luck with your new venture or career, I stuck it out with the one employee for 26 years, and then started working for my self,

Then come to think of it, I have been working for the Cook for nearly 40 years lol lol, and get realy good Fringe Benefits.

AnswerID: 374076

Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 21:10

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 21:10
Congralutions Roachie on firstly being with one employer for 38 years. Very very rare theses days. Think positive and something will turn up , that you will love, and acquire some new skills. My co worker at work is and ex bank manager, now 69 and wanting to retire for a third time, but the boss values him so much he has talked him in to coming in monday and tuesday mornings. Mind you he has gone walabout at the moment somewhere in Qld for a month. Our other young bloke is in Canada, so in three weeks I have had 2 days off and this is my semi retirement job.lol
AnswerID: 374247

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 08:13

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 08:13
take it easy Bill and enjoy your retirement well
AnswerID: 374274

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 08:21

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 08:21
Thanks to everybody for all your kind words and wishes......

One door closes................. hahahaha

AnswerID: 374275

Reply By: landseka - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 09:28

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 09:28
I bet that if you knew it wasn't going to be a permanent job you wouldn't have taken it in the first place. LOL

All the best and enjoy whatever the future holds.

Remember, today is the first day of the rest of your life!

Neil
AnswerID: 374287

Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 12:18

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 12:18
Well done Mr Roach!
I get fed up with a job after 2 years and need a change...
ohh I got that happening now.. 21st of July I am redundant.. (be alright if I had a choice in the matter)..
I could not imagine staying with the same company for so long!... but then... I ain't as old as you either :p :p

enjoy your time now that is for you! with all the stick we give to the banks, you probably really need a holiday now!!!!
AnswerID: 374480

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 20:51

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 20:51
Thanks Jo,

Actually, the only thing that has kept me sane over all these years is the fact that I have moved around the country (and PNG) so many times. So, every time I moved to a new town it was like starting in a new job altogether.

I have a brother who is in his early 60's. He left school with his Leaving Certificate at age of 15 (or maybe it was 14 in those days). He got an apprenticeship as a barber in Narrandera (my home town) back in the early 60's. He now owns the shop and has worked in the same shop ever since.

I simply cannot imagine going through the same door every morning for around 50 years or so. He says he will retire at 65. It'd be an interesting exercise to try and work out how many haircuts he has "performed" over the years.
FollowupID: 641778

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 00:07

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 00:07
Gee Roachie,

I have been at my place of employ 19 years so that puts me only about 1/2way on the career track to get to your longevity!

Congrats on a great career and hope you can free up lots of roadtime to wear out the camper.

Muddy and Judy
AnswerID: 374574

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 22:51

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 22:51
All the best Bill, We just got back from Innamincka and just goin through the post and found yours,can't believe you have been in Kadina for 6 yrs it has gone so quickly,any way mate all the best and look forward to the future what ever it brings you.cheer's GD
AnswerID: 375006