New 4x4 for the family - Nissan/Pajero/older LC?

Submitted: Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:29
ThreadID: 70567 Views:3586 Replies:13 FollowUps:6
I know it has been thrashed out before, but would value some more opinions - we currently have a Toyota 4 Runner diesel 2.8 lt 1995 and want to upgrade. Need a bigger wagon to fit in the 3 kids and something with grunt to tow the camping trailer. Do a lot of around town, but also like to go off-road frequently and plan to do Simpson next year. Have approx $38k to spend. Have loved our Toyota but unsure if the extra $$ for older LC is worth it. Considering a Nissan Patrol turbo Diesel ST (3lt) or Pajero. Pajero seems to have more extras for the price - ABS, airbags, but Nissan better off-road??

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:37

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:37
Hi Cookie, I can't really help, but there has been a heck of a lot of discussion on here regarding the Nissan 3.0 TD. It seems they have a particular problem motor wise, that has earned them the nickname 'Hand Grenade' they blow up any time.
I guess you must take into account that SOME of the opinions will be biased, but I am interested in the replies you will get, as I am considering upgrading too, and am unsure if there is any manufacturer that doesn't have a 'problem child'.
Good luck, Dave
AnswerID: 373998

Reply By:- Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:40

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:40
Cookie,

If you have $38k to spend see if you can hunt down a Patrol 4.2TD. I got a 2004 ST-L for $39k in March and it is a cracking vehicle. Just another option.

Ev
AnswerID: 373999

Follow Up By:- Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:52

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:52
I used to have a patrol 4.2TD. Seemed to be bullet proof. Never had any trouble. I now have a 100LC TD, No trouble either, Just has a bit more up and go. Having owned both I would not advise either way. Both good. If you want a patrol try to get a 4.2TD IMHO.Have driven a pajero (hired one a few months ago) seemed a bit tinny to me. Went well though. Rear seats were uncomfortable. My brother - in - law was thinking of buying one and was put off straight away.Patrol very comfy.
Glen
FollowupID: 641195

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:57

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 21:57
Hi Cookie

Do it on a whole of ownership cost basis Cookie, many forget the overall picture , and I thik you will find that cars like the 4800 petrol Patrol will not only save you money but are unmatched in Grunt and ability and come in at well under $30k these days.

AnswerID: 374000

Follow Up By:- Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:13

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:13
Out of curiosity Robin, what fuel consumption do you get out of the 4800 petrol.
Glen
FollowupID: 641200

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 07:45

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 07:45
Mine has averaged 16.5lt over its about 200,000 Km Glen, which is below its rated 17.5lt/100km.

Its mostly driven conservatively.
FollowupID: 641218

Reply By: Member - Rob - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:58

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 22:58
Hi Cookie

Varying opinions on the 3L Patrol. I have driven them for extended periods but overall for towing once you get over 2 tonnes they are slower. The thing I hated about the patrol was how it revs when not at cruising speed. Good advice to find a 4.2TD Patrol if you can find one. As for the 4800 Patrol plenty of grunt but a little expensive on fuel but I know plenty of people who love them.
Cruiser wise I have a 100LC V8 plenty of with grunt but yes heavy on juice as well. I am in the Landcruiser because there is just so much leg room and plenty of room for a growing family. Plenty of V8 LC100's at a reasonable price. Dont disregard Carpoint either. I picked my current Cruiser up on there although I went to Adelaide to test drive it and check it out.
Good Luck with it
Rob
AnswerID: 374009

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:34

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:34
Hi Rob

Just wondering , my 4800 patrol has not got below 14lt/100km even on a good long trip with low 4wding sitting on speed limit.

Some LC100 V8 users have reported the odd dip into 12's even , have you experienced anything like that ?
FollowupID: 641224

Follow Up By: Member - Rob - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 10:16

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 10:16
To be honest no! I have achieved 14 per 100km but that is the limit. Many of my firends have 100 series and have never got below 16 per 100km. Towing a camper trailer weighing about 1.2 tonnes it kicks up to about 20lt/100. I am about to start a trek towing an expanda which will weigh in at 2.5 tonnes tomorrow so the figures should be interesting.

Having had many Toyota Landcruisers I would think 12 almost a once in a hundred year event. BUt stranger things have happened.
Rob
FollowupID: 641227

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:28

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:28
For $39k you would have a reasonable chance of picking up a TD 100 ser nowadays.

I had a Patrol 3.0l TI and glad I sold it.

It wasnt as comfortable to travel in, it was noisy enginewise and didnt give a lot better fuel economy when towing a large than does the cruiser.

Wife didnt want to spend the extra on the Cruiser but a drive down the same rough bit of road we had just gone over in the Patrol opened the chequebook no trouble.

We were just saying the other day 10,000k into the big trip "arent we glad we sold the Patrol before we did this."

It also scrubbed the front tyres and the wheel alignment guy said he couldnt adjust it out cos of the way they are built.

Maybe he didnt want to do it I just didnt pursue it further.

AnswerID: 374013

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 10:52

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 10:52
Fuel consumption over the last 12,000 k of our trip towing a 2.8t van I have averaged approx 5.5kpl which is about 18l per 100k.

FollowupID: 641232

Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:51

Friday, Jul 10, 2009 at 23:51
Cookie,

I went from a forerunner, which I loved, to a 100 series for the pure reason we had a kid. More room more grunt! It's a great tourer and it has performed to my every expectation. Including drinking heaps of fuel! Built it up from stock to a beast(45K), it is a 99 live front axel, but shes only got 120k on the clock which is close enough to brand new in my books! Your 38K should get you something pretty nice for you and the kids to travel reliabiliy and in comfort!
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

AnswerID: 374016

Reply By: Flywest - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 02:00

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 02:00
TD Cruiser would be the choice I reckon.

Hard to beat!

AnswerID: 374019

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:07

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:07
If you require an around town vehicle for most of your driving a $38k 4WD is
not a very economical decision. I would spend $15k on a good V6 Jackaroo
for your touring needs & you can buy a new runabout for the daily stuff &
still have change left over. Both vehicles should last many years ........oldbaz.

AnswerID: 374030

Reply By: scottp - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:50

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 09:50
Hi Cookie,

Have you given any thought to a Prado. I paid $38k for my wife's 120 series 05 GXL 4.0 V6 with the 5 speed auto and only 60000km on the clock.

Scott
AnswerID: 374035

Reply By: BenDiD - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 21:21

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 21:21
Mate,

I love my Paj and am now on my 2nd. and its a diesel.

For that money you would get a very good recent model Paj. Only caveat is that for a diesel the Klms would prob be very high (eg in excess of 100 - 150K). When I was looking around recently I would find 2 Pajeros of the same vintage for the same price but the petrol would have 40K on the clock and the diesel 100K. I would not buy a petrol Paj if you plan to tow or do any long touring, like the Simpson, as my experience with my first NP Paj was that it drank way too much. My current diesel (NS) is 90% as responsive, but much better and more consistent fuel usage.

I can't comment on the 3L Patrol, but plenty of others here have lots to say about that engine and its relability.

Good luck!!

Ben
AnswerID: 374108

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 12:08

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 12:08
If you are thinking of doing the Simpson, then don't go for anything other than a diesel. The range is quite good, and you wont have to carry that much extra fuel. My calculations were three jerry cans on the roof of the 3L Patrol we have.

I would rather carry diesel than petrol any day but thats just me. Willem has a petrol Patrol (GQ) and carries large amounts of jerries with no worries, so its doable, as are petrol 4b's across the Simmo. But with 3 kids on board and assoc "stuff" you'll need to tow or have a good roof rack.

AnswerID: 374181

Reply By: solo - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:43

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:43
G'day cookie,
Give me a ring on 0427 832667 and i can give you details of an option which might well suit your requirements for less money!

Cheers SOLO
AnswerID: 374252

Reply By: cookie11 - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 20:59

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 20:59
Thanks all for your advice - will consider.
AnswerID: 374394