Travel insurance

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 10:03
ThreadID: 70574 Views:2770 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
Oldbaz
in your in your thread 70381 you made mention of how to save on car rental insurance, where do you take out your travel insurance, travel agent?, tick a box when booking airline ticket?, or something else.

My son visits Melbourne from Central Coast often, always has hire car and the travel ins would save him heaps i reckon.

Geoff43

Reply By: deserter - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 12:17

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 12:17
I have a Gold Visa. Costs me about $150 per year. I recoup that easily each xmas by cashing the points for shopping vouchers. And - it covers free travel insurance, vehicle insurance and health insurance.
AnswerID: 374052

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:51

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:51
I also have a gold Visa, but as far as I am aware the travel insurance offered is
for overseas only & you need to pay 50% of the cost with the card as a
prerequisite. Thats with NAB, others may be different...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 641252

Follow Up By: Rob! - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 16:20

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 16:20
Same with ANZ. Overseas only, and you must bill a certain amount of your travel costs to the card BEFORE you travel.
FollowupID: 641875

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:16

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 13:16
G'day Geoff, I do it on the net. I used to use a mob called Cover 1, but I notice they seem to be called 1 Cover now. For around $35 you get 5 days domestic cover which includes $5k of Hire car excess. All the options & cover levels are there for you to see, its very simple, you need a credit card though.
In the event of a claim you need to pay up front & claim back later. I've not had reason to claim so cant comment on that, but the price is right & the peace of mind invaluable..cheers...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 374059

Follow Up By: cobber - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 18:22

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 18:22
Hi Oldbaz...........I got a quote from 1 Cover, 5 days Domestic cover $135.00............As a Member of HBF with a 10% discount the HBF price is $118.00.............I noticed that in the disclaimer 1 Cover is and Agent for Alliance Insurance, so i got a quote from Allaince and it was $171.00, Thanks for the info i would never have thought about travel insurance when hiring a Vehicle, I would be a BIG saving if you had a accident!
FollowupID: 641313

Reply By: Geoff43 - Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 19:14

Saturday, Jul 11, 2009 at 19:14
thanks one and all

I dug this out from your suggestions

http://www.artog.com.au/ArtogTravelInsurance/compareInsurers.aspx?f=ad-cont-travel-insurance&gclid=CLas1M2lzZsCFQ9JagodrzmjLQ#resultList

GEOFF43.
AnswerID: 374084