Looking for my first 4wd $10-$15k

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 00:30
ThreadID: 70595 Views:6409 Replies:11 FollowUps:22
Hi, I've seen a few posts on here about buying used 4wds but cant really find anything recent, also have search for hours on the net but can't find anything. Long story short, my 2004 Commodore just isn't very fun, the last year or so I've had a massive craving to go offroading, or in general just to buy a 4wd.

It will mostly be used for suburbs/city driving and maybe go away for a weekend per month with the occasional longer trip. Now, I'm thinking I'd be able to sell my Commodore for around $14,000ish as its only up to 34000kms.

So far, from what I have researched I think a Jackaroo would be a good choice for me, probably in a petrol version because I have seen quite a few bad reviews about the diesel models. My budget is basically $10k to $15k max

Any advice I could get from you guys as to what 4wd to go for would be greatly appreciated, or even other forums/websites I could check out.

Thanks, 'soon to be 4wder' Rick

Reply By: kym111 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 00:55

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 00:55
Hi Rick
my hubby & I recently purchased a late model Nissan Patrol 4.2td. We're so far very happy with it (apart from the stick in the radiator tonight), we've had it up the beach, he's been crossing creeks etc this week and in the mud. Our plan is to get a van and travel around Australia with the kiddies, hence the 4.2ltr, and we want to do a bit of off-road work. I'm not sure what you'd pick up a 1997 - 2000 model for (ours is 2004 and worth about $30,000).
Otherwise, I have a friend who does a lot of extreme bush work for his job, and drives Land Rovers (he swears by them).
Just my opinion...
Kym111
Geraldton WA
AnswerID: 374126

Reply By: timglobal - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 01:19

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 01:19
For urban driving manners and brute off-road ability, your budget suggests a 2000 vintage Jeep or thereabouts.

Turns on a sixpence, good running gear, but drinks like Ollie Reed. But then if you wanted a fuel-efficient car, you wouldn't buy a 4wd would you?

You can get larger cars, but do you need the space and manouvering hassle around town? Depends on your needs, but a Jeep is easily and extensively modifiable by you. Just get the recovery points and a snatch strap first.

Others will have other views, I might consider the Suzuki as well. Depends how you roll.
AnswerID: 374128

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 08:49

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 08:49
I would be looking at a Pajero in that price range. A few more grand and you are in Prado country

I dont think the Jackeroo is all that bad,but the styling has never appealed to me
AnswerID: 374149

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 13:31

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 13:31
Just realised I can reply to every post which is cool... with the Pajeros whats the ones to stay away from? Early 90s or something I think it was? Anyhoo ive found a couple on the net that are 1997-2001 and generally the kms are pushing over the 200,000 mark... whats the go at buying a used 4wd over 200,000kms?
FollowupID: 641398

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 16:48

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 16:48
Im not sure about the early 90s,most of my friends have 96 on models and they are happy with them and I think the ride is quite good
Mileage of 200000 will be ok if it has a service record. A lot of these have been soccer mums cars and will not have seen a hard life.

Check that they havent been towing caravans around oz most of their life or that are not someones bush buggy.
Of course that applies to any 4wd

Have you considered an 80 series landcruiser on LPG?. They would have high klms but they are tough vehicles and many of them have had a relatively easy life as family cars.

FollowupID: 641423

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:42

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:42
Hi Ross, I wouldnt look at any 4wd pre-1995 model (maybe a Crusier if it is clean and looked after) but thats definitely an option. Saw a 2001 LC 100 series with 270,000 on the clock, it had every offroad feature you could need including the raised springs, winch etc - but going by that wouldnt it have mainly been used off road? Would that be a good thing?

Basically I think I get what youre saying, it doesnt necessarily matter what the kms are so long as its been looked after and serviced regularly.

Im going to give myself a couple more months to research the right car and try to save up a little more money so I can look around the $18000 range.
FollowupID: 641447

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:05

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:05
You are on the right track. Good things come to those that wait and it couldnt be more true when it comes to 4wds.
If you have the patience to look at 20-30 vehicles ,you will get something good

A lot of owners put all that gear on and do one serious trek into the unknown and never go offroad again.
Some owners do go offroad reguarly,but with careful driving and attention to maintenance,the vehicle can still be exceptionally good value.

When you are buying,you got to keep the owner talking with lots of well researched questions.
Idiots who are trying to sell a flogged out vehicle usually run out of answers pretty quick.
Im always wary of the seller who says its been "fully serviced" but cant actually tell you what has been done and has no paperwork to support it

Landcruisers after 93 are the best models. They had the newer petrol engine and a few other updates.
FollowupID: 641454

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:27

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:27
I have the patience to look at 300-400 cars so long as I find the right one, Ill start off at dealers who have a good variety of cars - but wont the dealers get annoyed if I want to test drive 3 or 4 of their cars and then dont buy one straight away?

As for the Cruisers, with my price range I wouldnt be able to get anything under 200,000kms - doing a quick search this is probably the best one I can find is a dual fuel, 1996 GXL FZJ80R and thats 220,000kms. For a cruiser I supposed thats low kms haha?

Id really want the serivce papers to see what has been done/needs to be done - as for my Commodore its only been serviced 3 times (Not counting free 3000kms service) and I have the papers from that
FollowupID: 641465

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:21

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:21
I recently bought myself a 1997 Diesel 80 series Landcruiser with 232,000km and it runs beautifully- if you find one that has been well looked after they really do run forever. It was within your price range too! It uses around 12.5K/100km which is a whole lot more efficient than the older petrol fourbys :)
FollowupID: 641486

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:17

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:17
I think you would find the Jackaroo would be a good car for you Rick , they are much underated and have all the essentials. My neighbour had a monteray and he was hard to shake.

Some cars like pre-current model Hi-luxes and the popular Prado roll far to easily as they have poor side slope ability. Often an existing 4wder will cope with this without much of a issue , but when you step from a normal sedan you tend to automatically apply the same driving rules to the 4wd and you can get yourself in big trouble.

AnswerID: 374155

Follow Up By: jerozan - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 18:28

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 18:28
I really love the NP Pajero because it handles so much like a car. The NM is pretty similar and you might get one for that price. Here is some more info on the NP review 4WD Pajero NP.
FollowupID: 641594

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 10:41

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 10:41
As a biased Jackaroo driver I have no hesitation in recomending them. I have a 2000 3.5 V6 auto I picked up for $14k 3 years ago with only 85k on it. I dont
think they are ideal as a daily driver, as they like a drink if not driven sedately.
I only use mine as a holiday vehicle & it has been faultless, giving 15l/100 on
last outback trip, with 4 adults on board & towing a C/t. Plenty of good runabouts around for about $5k to handle the daily driver thing, I use Peugeots..Your budget will get you into a good Jack, but hunt around for low
k's . The perceived ugly look keeps the prices down, but believe
me, you cant see it from the inside. More room than a cruiser or Patrol. I couldnt find the value in spending another ten grand or more on the more
popular brands or a diesel, & so far have no regrets after 30k. Your Commodore
is a fine example of what depreciation does to the wallet. Only 30k & 5 year old & has cost you probably close to $4k a year in depreciation alone, if you
bought it new. I knocked back $15k for my Jack last week & I thought that was top dollar, worth more to me than that......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 374172

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 13:37

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 13:37
Yea I got the Commodore as a demo in early 2005 for $27999 and lost almost $14000 in 4 years haha its awful. Still ive put some 18" mags, spoiler, tinted windows, upgraded the sound system etc and because its such low kms I should be able to sell it for $14000 pretty easy.

With the used Jacks what ones should I stay away from? Anything over 150,000kms? The 3.0 diesel?

I found this ad online, what do you reckon? Im guessing hes prolly sold it already http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Automotive/Used-Cars/4WD-Wagons-SUVs/AdNumber=TP002177264?BackToResult=true

FollowupID: 641399

Reply By: jarz85 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 11:34

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 11:34
Hey thanks for the quick replies guys, I think I'll look into the Jackaroo more as, to be honest, I actually dont mind what they look like. Should I go for the petrol v6 or diesel? As for the Jeeps or Landrovers I havent really looked into them, but will now. Im not going to rush into anything and will spend a couple of months researching the 4wds, then try and sell my Commodore and hopefully have some extra money saved up to by the extras (bullbar(if one isnt already fitted), recovery points, snatch strap, snorkel? etc).

As for the Jackaroos whats considered as decent km's? <120,000 or should i be looking under 100k. Also, one ive narrowed the market down to 1 or 2 cars I would probably get the RAA to do an inspection as I cant seem to find a website saying which parts of the car I need to check out to make sure its not trashed.

I saw a 1997 Nissan Patrol a couple weeks ago with 160k on the clock and that was $17990, however it had no radio, the wheel alignment was majorly out, it had no petrol when i was going to take it for a test drive and the back door wouldnt open - so I kinda left that dealer pretty quick.

Im hoping to have my 4wd by October or early November at the latest as I would like to spend a couple of months doing some training and getting the feel of it before we go for our trip up to the Gold Coast and Cairns in January.

You guys are a really nice bunch of people and never say a bad word to anyone which is awesome. If 4wd clubs are as nice as you all then I think Ill have a 4wd for the rest of my life :)

Thanks again, Rick
AnswerID: 374178

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 13:05

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 13:05
Rick, a quick look at eBay shows the following Jacks that may fall into your range
These are dealers cars & you should be able to knock at least a grand off the asking price.
02 V6 Man 96k...$16k..top dollar but a good buy if it checks out..Newcastle.
99 V6 Auto 127k...$13k....as above.Sydney.
02 V6 Man 163k...$10k. More k's..less $$.
01 V6 Auto 135k..$15k. looks a bit dear but maybe knock him down some.Melb.
There are diesels around but hard to find with low k's & there have been some issues with them. The add ons & toys are a personal thing, but you dont need
to add anything to a Jack to do the type of 4WD & outback touring most of
us do. Apart from adequate recovery gear that is. Hoping this may be
helpful.......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 641393

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 13:29

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 13:29
Thanks baz for another good reply, Im having a week off work this week and might go for a trip around Australia to check out the cars in different states haha. Is it normal to have such a massive craving to buy a 4wd and go offroading!? I dont know whats got into my but its been over a year now that ive just been so jealous.

Tomorrow im gonna go hit the car yards, test drive everything I can find and get a good feel of it... on the Pajeros would anything over 200k not be worth looking at?
FollowupID: 641396

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 14:07

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 14:07
I'm not aware of any Jack you should avoid. Be aware that the V6 went from
3.2 to 3.5L around 98 I think, & that the "Wide Body" model from 01 to 03
has auto hubs as opposed to the manual ones I prefer. Look for a vehicle that
shows it has been cared for, as these are far more likely to have had all necessary services as well. Later models are all 7 seaters too, but can be easily removed. I believe older, high k jobs are not worth it. You can easily spend
another $5k & still not catch up. Remember, everything is more worn the
older you go. I would sooner buy a towbar than a vehicle fitted with one too,
for obvious reasons. In your price range I wouldnt be looking at anything with
over 200k on it. I suggest you stay under 150k for a Jack, not because they
wont do a heap of k's, but you are paying for k's someone has already done.
And bargain hard...its a buyers market at this level......oldbaz.
FollowupID: 641403

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 17:11

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 17:11
Wide tracks do not have free wheeling hubs to my knowledge but a similar sytem to the hiluxs. I am happy to be corrected on this.
FollowupID: 641428

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 17:50

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 17:50
Goodday Baz,
I know it is terrible but that 02 with 96000ks is worth max of $12000. Mate went to trade one with this many ks and first offer was $6000.
Sals was immaculate with 76000ks( $5000 worth of extras) and we paid $14000.
Where we went wrong is by the time we put and ECB b/bar, driving lights and uhf in it , it had cost us $16500.
FollowupID: 641436

Reply By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 12:17

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 12:17
Having just added an extra jeep to the stable in the past 12mnths I can only echo timglobals comments.

If you have a budget of up to $15k then you can have an exceptionally well setup XJ cherokee for that amount.

The most recent XJ was bought to be a duplicate of the other, for two vehicle touring.

1997-2001 model is in my view the better ... but earlier ones can be found in pristine condition. Do not buy an XJ diesel !! Your research will show why.

The vehicles are american - so some attention needs to be paid to the effectiveness of the cooling system here in australia - depending on use.

Parts are as common as old holdens from a variety of outlets - but parts prices can vary dramatically.

This latest one cost $6k and will have $6k spent on it before travel. Not that there is anything wrong with it ... just completed 1500klm trip towing a loaded car trailer in addition to its regular 500klm fortnightly, sunday offroad/touring training drives.

The additional spending is on new suspension / new cooling system / wheelbearings / spares / tyres / storage system etc., in preparation for peace of mind long range travelling.

Recently inspected a 98 model in excellent condition with all the extras wanted, except a winch fitted - to make it complete ... wish it had been for sale a year ago .... was $8k.

The 4.0l is as good or better than most jap petrol 4cyl and V6 engines for highway economy but definitely a bit heavier on fuel use around town as its easily driven as an SS commode. Has the ability to leave plenty young drivers and their doof doof rice burners in its wake.

Do not buy a used model with extravagant (high) suspension systems etc., if you are going to be mostly town use and general offroad exploring - its not nescesssary ... An XJ in factory specs will go most places other brands struggle with.

My other choice would be as per Robin Miller ..... A Jackeroo ... Like the XJ cherokee - its another maligned underdog ... by all who know nothing of them. Again - its a matter of buying the pick of the bunch - quite a bit of good Jackeroo info on this site.

In the end though ... Your "new" vehicle will depend on what you feel comfortable in and and best suits your application. Pointless buying anything for yourself and then having to change your way of life to suit the item.
AnswerID: 374183

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 12:48

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 12:48
Thanks for another good answer, other than the diesel model what other cars should I NOT consider, what is too high kms? Is it worth maybe buying a 4wd with over 150,000kms for maybe $5-8000 and then spending another $5000 or so getting stuff changed and ready for offroading? I dont want to spend $14000 on something and then have to replace stuff anyway
FollowupID: 641390

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 16:55

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 16:55
Low klm 4wd for $5000-8000,Ill take 3.
Seriously,these can be vehicles no one wants for good reasons.
The name Sangyong seemed to pop into my head then.

Saving some money for aftermarket gear is a good move,but its even better if you can find one that some other sucker has already blown thousands on.
Those kind of accessories dont return much for the seller in the used 4wd market.
His loss ,your gain.
FollowupID: 641425

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:10

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 20:10
XJs are monocoque ... not a separate chassis vehicle - so I personally avoided buying one that looked as though it had been misused as a regular, "heavyduty" towing vehicle.

Owners who regularly maintain and service expect 300,000klm engine life - 400,000klm is common and U.S. forums display quite a few early ones up around 750,000klm.

Units with 150,000klm average, bullbars / sidesteps / cargo barriers / driving lights etc are fairly common on the market.

rossm has a good point about them not being wanted for a reason.

The $6k one needed exhaust manifold, rear engine seal, flywheel sensor, and a new radio antennae. Probably about $5000+ of dealer repair costs for the previous owner to get done .... I did it all for about $1000. Any extra money spent on it will be wear and tear items I would replace on ANY brand vehicle because of the intended future use.

Im not saying the XJ is a perfect vehicle by any means but they are a lot better than then toyossan brigade make out. Again ... Your vehicle choice will depend on your needs and location of use. e.g. ...

If you are going to be towing ... the bigger the vehicle the better ... body and engine size. Smaller vehicle can do it fairly easy ... larger ones dont notice they are doing it and have a heavier, control weight factor.

City driving ... as small a vehicle as you can EASILY fit all your travel/camping gear in.

Fuel economy - its relative to the performance you expect out of the vehicle ... little engines can and will use more fuel, working hard ... compared to a big motor bludging along. Probably the reason toyota has finally got around to fitting V8s ... after all these years of being a "perfect" vehicle.
FollowupID: 641460

Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 17:40

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 17:40
Rick Hi,
You are on the right track with the Isuzu built Jacks. How do I know this?. Well we have three of them now. I have a 98 se man with 146000ks, (the one in my profile) Wife has an 03 Jack Nullarbor with 82000ks , this one is an auto. No 1 son has an white 02 man. with 130000ks. He paid $11500 and it came with an ECB b/bar, dri8ving lights and tow bar(only towed box trailer to tip.) This last one drives as new, and I am in new cars alday.
The 3lt Diesel was years ahead of its time, but the injection system was not sorted, and leads to nightmares and marriage break ups.
In my opinion the best petrol motors are the nissan rb30, 4.5 Toyo( very thirsty) and the two Jack v6s. Tim from this site had a 3.2 that had covered 395000ks and had just started using a bit of oil when he sold it.
Manuals are fuel efficent, the autos pretty thirsty. Mine does less then 15l/100 on very short runs(3ks to work) Sals auto averages between 18 and 20/100 arround town. But still managed 14.5 towing my boat at an av speed of 95.
I have been to Thornleigh and back to day in mine 377ks and it is just below half full. But I was wishing I had taken the auto after the 100th set of lights.
The paj in my profile pic was our old one, and I was very fond of it, but they seem more trouble after 200000ks then jacks..
Its not often I disagree with my old mate Baz, but I would go for one with B/bar, t/bar, driving lights etc because its makes no diff to the price. If the rear springs are either sagged or replaced with hd units it may have done heavey towing. Check the back yard to see if they have a large van.
Cheers cPete
AnswerID: 374205

Follow Up By: jarz85 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:51

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:51
Hey Fish, thanks for the reply. There are quite a few Jackaroos around Adelaide that are for sale, most in car yards and a couple private. Some have b/bar, lights etc added and some dont. I think, so far, what im going to look for is something under 150,000kms, preferably manual, on petrol that hasnt done heavy towing. It shouldnt be hard to narrow the field down to a couple of cars and take it from there.

As for the Pajero, I dont really think its my cup of tea. As for the 80 series LC I think they are right up my alley, only thing is they are more expensive and probably use up more fuel. This just means extra ongoing costs, which isnt a hassle.

On a side note, I got my Commodore bogged this afternoon, stupid me wanting to go driving through mud for the fun of it, cant wait for a 4wd. Had to get my friend to push me out with his truck
FollowupID: 641450

Follow Up By: tim_c - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 12:33

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 12:33
Hi Rick,

Yes, I'll happily recommend the Jackaroo. As Madfisher said, I recently sold mine with 395,000km on it and had only just started topping up between oil changes (10,000km). I was a bit worried buying it with 225,000km already on it but the most significant maintenance I ever did was change the timing belt (clutch had been replaced just before I bought it). It served me well for a couple of outback trips including some fairly rough areas that the crowds shy away from.Mine was a 1995 3.2L V6 manual and I averaged around 14.5L/100km in the city (it was my only car because I could buy a lot of fuel each year for the cost of another rego, insurance, maintenance, etc.) and down around 12.0L/100km on the highway. I could drive it all day (I think the longest was 12 hours) and never get sore and I often had passengers comment how comfortable it was to travel in as well. You'll have to make up your own mind about the looks (personally I think they're one of the neatest looking vehicles around). They've got a good lo-range and good torque but the low ground clearance under the front (particularly when going down steep hills) can catch you out if you're not careful.

If you've looking at a lot of outback travel, it's well worth a look at the 80-Series LC which are around the money you're looking at although they'll be older and have higher mileage for that money than the Jacks. The main reason I say this is due to parts/accessories availability, particularly in remote areas. The LC is a bit bigger than the Jack so might not be so good for parking etc. - it might come down to what size vehicle you want. I don't know a lot about the LC's but you can check out www.lcool.org to find a lot of useful info.

Either way, look for a sound vehicle in good condition (ie. well looked after) - if it has lots of accessories, these are a bonus but it's better to buy a good one and buy a bullbar for it than to buy a stuffed one because it already has a bullbar. As you've mentioned earlier, the kind of accessories fitted can also give some indication as to how the vehicle's been used (whether it's had a hard life or an easy one).

Tim.
FollowupID: 641552

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 19:32

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 19:32
Just worked oout my fuel fig for the windy and steep bells line of road plus some congested traffic and 60ks sitting on 110. 390ks used 46l which is 11.79 by my calculations or 8.47k per litre. At no time was I driving for economy except when stuck behind slow traffic. lol
Sir Kev eat your heart out
FollowupID: 641603

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 16:38

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 16:38
Hey Pete, you are collecting a fleet of Jacks...good on ya. My comment re the towbar was meant to mean that a car that hasnt had one fitted hasnt towed either. Do the late model jacks have full time 4wd or just electrical circuits to
engage hubs or transfer case? I knew they were different but not sure how.
Your auto consumption still seems high. Although my dailyrunning is not really city driving I've never got worse than 13L/100 not towing, 15L/100 towing C/t
& 18L/100 once when towing & hoofing it too.
Even son got 16L/100 when he borrowed the car & camper to go to Port Macquary recently, & he's a bloody leadfoot !! I was wondering if any of the front drive line turns all the time in the later models. I run 40 psi by the way.
cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 641730

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 18:48

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 18:48
G/day Baz,
They are not full time, but the diff and cvs are most likely still turning all the time. Plus both Phils and Sals Jacks feel heavier then Mine. Phils vehicle was in drives great(I wanted to sell him mine,and I would buy the one he brought but he would not be in it lol) His av economy is 13.8. His is a 5 speed man as well. But my old girl will blow both the newer ones into the weeds.
You press a button on the dash to engage 4wd then to engage low range move the lever. Frankly I prefer the system on mine.
Trying to talk Sal into having the throttle body cleaned, iac cleaned and the egr cleaned.
I have not even changed the oxygen sensor on mine yet, its due about 150000ks.
Just put two bridgestne 694s on the front which I am quite impressed with so far.
Was running 40psi but have backed off to 36 as my back is a bit iffy.
FollowupID: 641758

Reply By: troyza - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 09:57

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 09:57
Hi there

Just my 2c. I have had 2 hilux 88 & 2000. A troopy, 80 series and a 98 disco. I now have a 94 Pajero............ a lot of ups and downs but i am really happy with what i have now. All i have used for touring and off rd but Paj (done 290 000km) in my view is fantastic. 10lt per 100km, its not too big but big enough for family, the most reliable ive come across and cheap parts if something does go wrong.

It comes down to what you need it for. You will be on road and track 95% of the time so thats what you mainly cater for. Spend a little on the Paj. 2'lif and front locker as the rear LSD is fantastic, hand winch and you will go everywhere the others go, cheaper, more comfy. And the biggest factor is the driver no matter which car you go for.

They are all good cars.... just thoroughly check any car over or yu can easily get done over and think badly about the brand (as most do) when its not the cars fault but the buyers for not checking!

Have a super time!
AnswerID: 374293

Follow Up By: troyza - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:03

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:03
PS, why not desile? Talk about ongoing costs.......... last longer, better fuel, less problems, better for touring.........
FollowupID: 641534

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 20:44

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 20:44
Rick,

You'd be well advised to check out the Hyundai Terracan. You'll get a 2004/5 model V6 with less than 100,000 km on it within your budget.

Very capable off road.

Another option is the Kia Sorento. More car like in appearance than the Terracan, but looks are deceiving, it's very good off road as well.

AnswerID: 374390

Reply By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 07:40

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 07:40
Rick spotted an immacualate 98 Jack 3.5 In Goubourn NSW with 86000ks. The web site was country cars. Price was $11000.
AnswerID: 374586