Radiator Injury

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 00:36
ThreadID: 70596 Views:4924 Replies:15 FollowUps:12
I'm hoping someone is online this late in the evening. My husband has been out bush (Murchison area), and just called me to say he has managed to get a stick through the radiator. Looks like it's run out of coolant as the vehicle has just seized or stalled (as we spoke). He's driving a 2004 Nissan Patrol 4.2 turbo diesel.

Is it likely to be stuffed? Or can he fill up with water once it's cooled down (he's bunking down for the night and will check it in the morning)? He's within a few kms of the Overlander Roadhouse, and has a quad bike on the trailer, so he can get to the roadhouse in the morning for patch up if the vehicle looks like it might go. I've heard ground white pepper is excellent for fixing holes in radiators.

I'm no mechanic (that's my Dad's job and he's elsewhere in the state), so I don't really know if it's a tow truck job, or if we can patch the car up to get him back to Geraldton (300kms) for a new radiator.

Typical, being the weekend - overtimes rates for Sunday callouts!! :-)
Thanks heaps for any advice
Kym111
Western Australia

Reply By: warfer69 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 01:36

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 01:36
Lets hope the engine hasnt seized,It makes one of these look cheap either way.
Engine Watchdog Maybe buy one for the hubby..

Its stories like this that everyone should have something like it.

AnswerID: 374131

Follow Up By: kym111 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:42

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:42
He's got it running this morning, but it rattles & clunks like you've never heard.
FollowupID: 641362

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 01:50

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 01:50
holed radiators are best fixed by bending over and crimping up the holed cores - unless its a massive hole theres enough left to do the job

--- motors that are overheated until they stop are another thing..................................... If that is what has happened he may well get it going but it wont be the same
AnswerID: 374134

Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 02:26

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 02:26
he will know pretty quick once he trys to start it after it cools down. Overtime probably isnt going to matter, he'll probably need to get a radiator sent up, but wont happen on a sunday in gero unfortunately. Has he got the tools to do it himself?
There s a couple of radiator places in town but unlikely to get hold of anyone on sunday.
AnswerID: 374136

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 07:31

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 07:31
Temperature Gauges on virtually every car engine seem to be designed to indicate if the water is getting hot for various reasons - but to be totally useless if you lose water - the sensor will be out of the water and therefore not indicate engine block overheating, once the water drops below the sensor.
AnswerID: 374139

Follow Up By: wafarmer - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:11

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:11
Hi Kym111

I live in Kalbarri just down the road a bit.

If it is not a severe leak a product called Superseal will do the job, it is a bit like ground up pepper, and if a big hole as said try and crimp the tubes and add the product.

Most road houses will carry it.

If he is still stuck give me a ring or if he has phone coverage get him to ring and I will see if something can be done.

Ph 99372968 mob 0428620068

wafarmer
FollowupID: 641355

Reply By: wafarmer - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:15

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:15
Hi Kym111

I live in Kalbarri just down the road a bit.

If it is not a severe leak a product called Superseal will do the job, it is a bit like ground up pepper, and if a big hole as said try and crimp the tubes and add the product.

Most road houses will carry it.

If he is still stuck give me a ring or if he has phone coverage get him to ring and I will see if something can be done.

Ph 99372968 mob 0428620068

wafarmer
AnswerID: 374154

Follow Up By: kym111 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:47

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 09:47
Thanks, WAfarmer, for your kind offer. I'll take your numbers with me and if I get stuck I'll call.

At this stage the plan is to borrow a car trailer and I'll take it up with my Camry. A mate has a job this morning, but will come up afterwards in his Cruiser (how embarrasing!! lol) and tow the car trailer and Patrol back, and I'll tow the little trailer with bike etc on it.

We'll take the Patrol into the local 4x4 people tomorrow morning and see what their assessment is! Worst thing is it was a gold prospecting trip, and he found nothing, and now this! I might be also ringing the insurance company tomorrow morning....

kym harris
FollowupID: 641364

Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 11:30

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 11:30
Geraldton 4WD would be your best bet to use, in Flores Rd, or O-Briens just off Flores.
Are you travelling from Perth or Gtn?
AnswerID: 374176

Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 11:33

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 11:33
Why not just tow it? Much less hassle than a car trailer, they are a BIG load on a trailer?
AnswerID: 374177

Reply By: kym111 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:42

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:42
Just updating our progress....
I rang around some friends & family this morning trying to organise a lift for the Patrol back to Geraldton from the Overlander Roadhouse.

My brother-in-law works for Geraldton Toyota and offered to contact some car carriers tomorrow to see if they could pick up the Patrol from the Overlander during the week (on their way through to Perth from Carnarvon etc). I had reservations about getting a car trailer on a Sunday, although a friend said he would tow it back if we needed. He owns a Landcruiser, so we'd never live that down!! he he

I bundled the kidlets into the Camry and set off for the Overlander, with the view to picking up hubby and the trailer, and leaving the Patrol behind to grab a lift on a truck during the week.

By the time I got there, 2 1/2 hrs later, hubby had organised a lift with a couple of guys with trucks waiting for the Useless Loop road to open. They had gear to take in, with empty loads home to Perth.

The motor is well & truly cactus. We're hoping insurance will replace it, but naturally will have a few calls to make tomorrow to our insurance company and Perth 4x4 (thanks for the recommendation, we deal with them anyway!).

Thank you to everyone offering either assistance or advice. I really appreciate it, and got more support than from my own family!!

In the mean time, we found an ad in a recent caravan magazine for a device that monitors coolant levels, and sounds an alarm when it drops!! We will be investing in one of these! If you're interested, go to http://www.enginesaver.com.au. Their home page has my hubby's name all over it!!

kym111
AnswerID: 374228

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:47

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 19:47
Most of us careful types have been customers of his already and if you want to

be really sure you will buy the low coolant alarm/ overtemp gauge combined.

See previous threads from satisfied customers There have been two recent ones

FollowupID: 641449

Reply By: steved58 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:16

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:16
Just one more note RAC!!! if you were a member all the towing problems etc would have been solved I would not leave home without being a member
Anyway lets hope insurance wil pay best of luck

AnswerID: 374249

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:35

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:35
RAC doesnt cover off road does it?
Cant say Im a big fan of RAC anymore, have had it for my missus while Im working away but recently had them come to help when LC wouldnt start. He put a new battery in which also went flat next day, and it turned out to be a fuse. Cost $180 odd for battery plus our good one was disposed of.

They have their place but I dont know that its for people who are mechanically minded anyway.
FollowupID: 641492

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:49

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:49
I have very comprehensive insurance but am pretty sure a siezed engine is NOT covered nor are batteries and tyres.

You need a fordsure type of extended warranty for that type of "accident"

and by running it till it seized coud be construed as contributing to the result.

FollowupID: 641498

Follow Up By: steved58 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:54

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:54
I am very mechanically minded it's my job but don't always have the tools on hand and they will tow my caravan as well as car when it can't be fixed they have saved me many times what you lost on the battery but like all things they have good people and bad on their books it just another tool to use when your stuck

Ps I always dispose of my own batteries after I personally check them even if Iam not there at the time
FollowupID: 641499

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 07:31

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 07:31
I have RACV insurance, they paid to put me on a truck back in about 2002 and take me from Cervantes back to Perth, it would be about 300 Kms, they are called RACWA in West Aussie.

I would not attempt an Aussie trip with-out insurance that covers ALL of Australia's roads, both dirt and tar too.

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 641519

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:49

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:49
Think there might be a bit of confusion here, I thought Breakdown insurance (which is usually what RAC "membership" refers to) was being referred to, not normal Comprehensive which doesnt (AFAIK at least) cover any mechanical breakdown.
Mainy what happened to your wagon?

Unfortunately Steve I do the same (have about 5 useless ones in the shed!) but I am out of contact for a month at a time while working and RAC told her she wouldnt be able to dispose of it but they would for free.
FollowupID: 641546

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 19:39

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 19:39
fisho asked; "Mainey, what happened to your wagon?"

It suddenly lost auto-trans fluid and the transmission stopped working :-((
so I got a lift to Badgingarra and it was towed back to Perth on a trailer by the RAC.

Not a subject I'm proud of either, it was towed by an old F0RD ute @ 100 plus

Image Could Not Be FoundMaîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 641604

Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:38

Sunday, Jul 12, 2009 at 22:38
PERTH4X4 is a good mob to deal with also, Mathews family used to have O-Briens 4wd and he was great to deal with there.
AnswerID: 374251

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 12:02

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 12:02
One of the best ways to repair leaks like that even under pressure is to knead in some plain bread.

Never believed it myself until everthing fail to fix and hold a 22000 lt water tank base , this did.
It works by absorbing water as you feed it in and setting .
AnswerID: 374319

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 12:40

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 12:40
McGyver, eat your heart out lol

FollowupID: 641555

Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 01:12

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 01:12
Would be nice to have an update on this, for those of us that showed an interest?
AnswerID: 374576

Reply By: kym111 - Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 13:17

Friday, Jul 17, 2009 at 13:17
We contacted Matt from Perth 4wd Centre. He was able to source a brand new long motor from Nissan Australia for $6,000 for our car.

The quote from Geraldton 4x4 came to $12,000 worst case scenario (everything to be replaced, this included the motor).

Our insurance assessor rang this morning, he's been to have a look at the vehicle, and they have decided TO PAY!! We were on tenterhooks, as we were trying to figure out how to get the money if they didn't.... So we're up for a $300 excess plus whatever it costs to put a snorkel on, as that may as well be done at the same time. Everything will be kept off the old motor as spares.

So even though we didn't win Powerball last night, we 'won lotto' today.

Thanks for all your interest, I hope it helps you in the future if you're in a similar situation. In the mean time, we're going to order an Engine Saver Low Coolant alarm, in case a similar situation arises.

Kym
AnswerID: 374921

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 11:21

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 11:21
That's terrific news Kym111

Do you know on what grounds they paid? I'm just curious to how they make their decisions.

Did they regard the 'accident' as the stick through the radiator, and had to pay for all subsequent damage?

If so, this is a great thing to keep in mind. I would never have thought of making a claim in such circumstances.

Tim
AnswerID: 375031

Follow Up By: kym111 - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 21:33

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 21:33
Apparently it's not something they normally cover, but for some reason this time they did.

I'm guessing they based the assessment on the stick in the radiator was the accident part. The assessor agreed that it was easy to miss, considering the position and the conditions at the time.

Don't know if the motor ended up seizing, it still goes, just not very well....

We go through a broker, so I'm not sure who we're insured with this time around (it seems to change every few years), and I think it's standard comprehensive insurance. I don't recall getting a policy booklet, so don't know if we were covered for breakdowns. I'm grateful we paid the premium in time!

All is well that ends well, we pick the car up on Friday.
FollowupID: 642728

Reply By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 11:28

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 11:28
what Tim said-who is your insurance company and what sort of cover?
AnswerID: 375034