Powder type fire extinguisher (.6kg) Do they have an expiry date?

Submitted: Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 09:59
ThreadID: 70628 Views:6441 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
As mentioned in an earlier thread I am picking up a Camel off road camper trailer tomorrow and I am just working out where to put every thing and what I can do to improve it, like put a carpet of some sort on the inside of the trailer and mount an tent pole carrier etc.

I had a look at the back of the troopy and made a mental note to move a few things around as well. Thats when I had a look at the fire extinguisher and was wondering where to put it when I noticed a sticker on the side which said

"expiration date 12/2/2004 supercedes 12/99"

Its a non rechargeable ext and the only checks that can be made appear to be visual.

The question is how was the above date determined and/or should I just chuck it as it appears to be about 10 years.

Reply By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:13

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:13
Chuck it Boo boo. Get a couple of new ones and bigger. Have a look on ebay...lots available. They alll have life. Get a fire blanket too.
According to modern astronomers, space is finite..a very comforting thought particularly for people who can never remember where they left things

AnswerID: 374297

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:44

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:44
Boo,
You ask "what I can do to improve it, like put a carpet of some sort on the inside of the trailer etc"

Go to a good carpet shop and ask to see their FLOTEX colour range, some may know it as Walkatex.

It's 2 Mt wide, stable in dimension so it just lays flat when you cut it in, is waterproof and stain proof.
I had it in my Camper trailer annex as the soft floor over stones or grass etc. just have to hose it down when it gets dirty.

I've a piece that has travelled with me now for 14 Years and is as good today as it was when I bought it, it's so good I now use it to cover the vinyl in the kitchen of my place here.

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 374306

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:51

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:51
Mainey

You are a genius.

I was thinking about putting a tarp under the floor, but never thought about something inside, especially flotex.

In my previous job I managed a retirement village and know a lot about flotex.

But I didn't even think about it for this application.

For what its worth flotex does not work well in Nursing homes, but would be excellent for this purpose.
FollowupID: 641538

Follow Up By: guzzi - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 18:59

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 18:59
BOO Boo,
Don't put a tarp under the floor, tarps as I have found out hold water quite well.
Shade cloth is a cheap alternative, it does protect the floor, wont hold water and keeps a lot of the dirt/leaves/ cow poo off, and is relatively cheap.
Pete
FollowupID: 641598

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 19:59

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 19:59
Boo posted;
"For what its worth flotex does not work well in Nursing homes, but would be excellent for this purpose"
I'm confused, it works well in Shopping centre malls, Kmarts, Hospitals and soo many places, why does it not work well in Nursing homes ??

My CT annex was open at the front most of the time, and it was nice to have something decent underfoot that was not 'plastic' Image Could Not Be FoundMaîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 641606

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 20:47

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 20:47
Mainey

Urine, even if the spill is attended to immediately there is a little left in the flotex no matter how much the area is flooded with fresh water etc and vacuumed.

I spent several months looking at new floor coverings for our nursing home an decided flotex was the way to go.

Just before Placing an orde I decided to go back to a nursing home I had visited 6 months ago when they had first laid flotex. It is a nursing home of very high standards, but they were looking at removing it as the urine smell was very noticable smelland they had tried every thing to get rid off it..

After a discusion with the CEO and DON I decided the existing floor coverings would remain in place.

Hope that answers your question.
FollowupID: 641936

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 00:19

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 00:19
Boo,
Ok, that scenario never crossed my mind
she doesn't use the Flotex that way :-)
I always thought she was well trained

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 641972

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:55

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 10:55
The 'expiry date' may just indicate when the next routine inspection is due. As has already mentioned, I would consider it a bit small.

KK
AnswerID: 374307

Reply By: Member - Fred G NSW - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:00

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:00
As takenbyaliens says Boo Boo, time for a new one mate. The refillable type have a manufacture date stamped on them, and then need to be checked and hydrostatically tested at required frequencies, thereafter, and the tests are recorded on a stamped tag. Too expensive an excercise for the small home type, and cheaper to buy a new one ($30 to $40 for the 1kg size)
I have 3 Dry powder, one in the front of the ute, one in the canopy, and one with a fire blanket near it, near the door inside the caravan. All 1kg quell and sold by Chubb.

Yours not being refillable, it would have been given a use by date by the manufacturer.

If the time ever comes when you need to use one, you want it to work.

Cheers from Fred

AnswerID: 374308

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:12

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:12
DO NO DISPOSE OF AT THE TIP... hand it in to a company that does extinguishers, or go the local firestation and hand it in to be disposed of correctly..... and yes... it is out of date. The powder starts to compact and the composition starts to change after a certain time. So do yourself a fovour, get new ones.

All the best with upgrades, updates, and safe travels.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 641541

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:16

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:16
Fellas

I've got the message, get a new one, make it bigger and get a fire blanket.

Thanks for the help, as always it is appreciated.
AnswerID: 374314

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:22

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:22
Don't forget to give us all a look at the new rig Boo Boo.
FollowupID: 641542

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:38

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:38
What about the option of taking it somewhere *safe* and out of the big smoke, and "practice" your fire fighting techniques.....it is good to see how they work, or how they don't, depending on the situation. Taking note of the amount of powder dispensed and possible area covered.

We have done this often with volunteer recruits in my Organisation (heaps of these extinguishers were available to us from the mines) and it gives them an experience of the situation before they ever need to use it.

Dispose of in a sensible manner afterwards.

Hope that helps.

FollowupID: 641545

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 18:16

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 18:16
Ha ha we did that once at the end of the season on the Miford Track.

Had a fight with the dry powder type all big ones as well.

Yard was covered in powder and that night it persisted down as it does there.

Got up in the morning and the yard was knee deep in suds.

Washing powder does foam up good in about 3 inches of rain

ROFLMAO

FollowupID: 641591

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:38

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:38
Fred

Its a 2003 model, but its in pretty good nick.

Australian built trailer and canvas. Has a tailgate kitchen, 2 jerry can holders, one gas bottle holder, tool box, 16" sunraysia landcruiser wheels and a boat rack that has been professionlly done.

The trailer is sealed and has 7 leaf springs.

I've got a basket at home that I think will fit between the boat racks which will then be able to carry the porta boat and the seats etc.

I will try and get the photos up in the next few weeks.

Even SWMBO is happy with it!

AnswerID: 374316

Reply By: fisho64 - Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:59

Monday, Jul 13, 2009 at 11:59
dry powders should be turned over and shaken at regular intervals as the powder compacts and nothing but gas will come out.
Especially so for ones kept in a vehicle.
If this isnt done it will be useless long before the expiry date is up.
AnswerID: 374318