Member - daz (SA)
Have just arrived home after completing three weeks travelling &
camping thru Flinders,
Gammon Ranges,
Innamincka, Dig Tree, Coongie Lakes,
Birdsville, Mungerannie.
Had a great trip & met some very nice fellow travellers
What did dismay me tho was the amount of rubbish WE are leaving on the road side & the wilful disrespect for our bush in some instances.
From
Innamincka out the 15 mile track to the Moomba
Walkers Crossing road the wayside is littered with stubbies . Am not sure if it is our fellow travellers or workers in the area.
Our outback roads were littered with tyres by those too lazy to take them with them. On the
Birdsville end of
Walkers crossing the area is cluttered with them. Some one left four neatly piled.
And to top it off
We camped at
Mungerannie Hotel on the way home at the hot springs where there is some bush growing on the
water hole.
The signs clearly ask travellers not to use the local timber but one group of campers destroyed as much as they could breaking off tree branches for their
camp fire. So if you travel & stay at these
places enjoy it while you can as some thoughtless clowns are going to ensure that the next generation of campers will miss out on the benefit of native vegetation at
camp sites.
Heard on the radio yesterday that a group made a concerted effort over the weekend to clean the rubbish off the road from
Birdsville to
Marree. Congratulations to them.
Its a pity that it needs to be done.
Daz
Reply By: shanegu6 - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 18:54
Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 18:54
Stuff like this still amazes me. And then we wonder when the greenies win and have us locked of these areas.
Reply By: Family Friendly Oz Camping - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 12:53
Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 12:53
Hi Daz,
We travelled that area July last year and noticed the rubbish and tyres and graffitti every where it shouldn't be. It's very disappointing that some people don't respect the ouback and take their rubbish with them.
It's great someone is making an effort to clean it up.
Tina
Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 22:10
Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 22:10
Pity someone doesn't invent a big vacuum cleaner / rubbish picker-upper machine on
wheels, that you can just drive along the road verge collecting all the cans bottles and paper etc & it compacts it into a bale - all tied up with twine and stacks them ready for collection.
Some would say, driving such a machine would be the worlds most boring job, but I reckon i wouldn't mind it.
I used to find my mind wandering a bit driving tractors round and round the paddock, ploughing and harrowing seeding etc but it DOES give your mind time to think.
I also hate to see the roadside rubbish -, I could think of worse jobs that driving the roadside verge rubbish collector compactor machine.
I wouldn't mind being a contractor to the Shires or Cleanup Australia etc - just driving along at walking pace and leaving the verge clean behind me!
Is there a reason we don't have such machines and contractors?
I know that in a lot of
places the local footy clubs etc raise funds by doing the work manually, for the shires for a fee per tonne collected etc... not wanting to put them out of a funding source.
Hey maybe the Machine is owned by one of the big hire companys and the clubs hire it and get paid as the contarctors to clean up the road verges?