Gidday. Can you help me with something in Victoria?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 21:21
ThreadID: 70682 Views:4035 Replies:10 FollowUps:6
I’ve spent a good few years, and plenty of my own time, in rebuilding Tooradin at the top end of Westernport bay. The locals are good folks and look after visitors quite well, but the issue I have is VicRoads who refuse to lower the speed limit from 80k to 60k through the town.

After a traffic study two years ago, we found there were over 6 million journeys through the town, many of which were large trucks. The town is dissected by the South Gippsland Highway with two service roads to the north and south of the retail strip.

This has led to disparate services in the town because visitors are afraid to cross the highway. If you know of a similar town in Victoria, where the speed limit has been reduced to 70k or 60k’s it would really help up us. I can then take these examples to the Minister.

Tooradin will soon be upgraded to a regional boating centre, and I’d like to see a major camping and fishing supplier established in the town for those heading to south Gippsland.

Any help or ideas would be appreciated.

Kim

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 21:44

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 21:44
I think Cranbourne was a similar case Kim, its now been 60 for a while.

But it has to reach certain critera before a change is justified to inconvience
the thru traffic.

Can't make both happy unless you bypass the town.

This is whats happening in Yarra Glen beining now , and was largely based on its truck traffic.
AnswerID: 374562

Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 22:06

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 22:06
Good old Tooradin hey.........brings back alot of good memories from when I lived there.....and Mum and Dad owned the caravan park...........Best not discussed on here........lol

I know what the traffic was like when I lived there, and Mum would hate us crossing the highway to go to the footy oval or my friends place. The traffic would have more than trippled since then, so I can see where you are coming from. Have you gone for a drive through Pearcedale and down that way to see what their speed limits are. Probably about the same size as down your way, but the traffic would not be as heavy as Tooradin.
Good luck with your fight though, you will need lots of help.
Karen
AnswerID: 374563

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 22:53

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 22:53
Gidday Karen

Drop me a line on my e-mail address or MM. I'd like a bit of information on the caravan park, because it's becoming increasingly important.

Kim

FollowupID: 641788

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 23:19

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 23:19
Panmure, 80 to 70 about three years ago.
Camperdown, 60 to 50 about 5 years ago with an adjustable speed limit sign, sadly this one followed a fatality right on the middle of town.
Cressy 90 to 80 about two years ago.

Having lost two of my children as well as another who I felt I had on loan from her parents in Canada, it is a crying shame to see the work that is done AFTER a fatal car accident let alone a triple fatality like we lived thru in 2005. That corner has now been redesigned, but there are many others that cry out for the same treatment. Lowering speed limits thru towns, makes them a speed trap, but it just may dave a life. Dropping the speed limit from 80 to 60 almost HALVES the force delivered in an accident.

Good luck Damn Kim and may your dog help too.

Bonz

AnswerID: 374566

Follow Up By: tim_c - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 11:58

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 11:58
Very sorry to hear about that Bonz...

Yes, dropping the speed from 80 to 60 significantly reduces crash energy (E=mv^2 where E is Energy, m is mass, v is velocity/speed). More importantly, it dramatically reduces stopping distance giving a significantly greater chance of avoiding a collision altogether.
FollowupID: 641842

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 16:30

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 16:30
thanx tim, I am well aware of the maths, its the practical application of those Newtonian laws that is heartbreaking.

good luck

FollowupID: 641878

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 20:51

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 20:51
Bonz

I'm very sorry to hear about that mate. I've only just got off the phone from the daughter listening to how virbant her life is at the moment.

I could'nt image what you went through.

Kim
FollowupID: 641938

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 08:12

Saturday, Jul 18, 2009 at 08:12
Thanx Kim, I just hope you guys are successful and nothing bad happens

FollowupID: 642293

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 23:23

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2009 at 23:23
Isn't there a traffic light controlled pedestrian crossing?
AnswerID: 374567

Reply By: austastar - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 10:50

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 10:50
In Tasmania, many towns on main highways have 50kmh speed limits through the built up area.
AnswerID: 374610

Follow Up By: bgreeni - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 15:06

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 15:06
Same in WA. Drive to Albany and several towns on the highway have 50kmph limits.
FollowupID: 641863

Reply By: Nargun51 - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 13:02

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 13:02
I know this is a crass comment, but this in light of the Lynbrook accidents, this is probably a time where it may be politically expedient to take action, as your voice and concerns could carry more weight

Whilst there may be pedestrian lights in town (? I can’t remember), these will not be controlling entry from the side streets or service roads to the Highway

Approach Vic roads, the local members of all 3 branches of parliament and the local newspapers and forcefully express your concerns. Make sure each approach is well documented with supporting evidence (even if locals have to stand at a corner on a Saturday or Sunday morning and do a rough car count (both on the Highway and the side roads)…The local towies should be able to give information of how many accidents occur.

The development plans should include details of number of people expected to use the facilities, the local council may have some information also (and some guesstimates of projected growth of the town). Make some predictions on this basis of these (50 more houses will make 150 more crossings of an uncontrolled intersection per day sort of stuff)

Make a lot of noise and embarrass the decision makers (or at least explain in subtle terms the possible political embarrassment)

Good Luck!
AnswerID: 374622

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 13:24

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 13:24
G'day Kim. Some years back we petitioned our local MP to get the road fixed in our area. This particular road was the main corridor through our area and carried lots of traffic in a semi-rural area of the Adelaide Hills. It's also the busiest tourist route in the region. Me & my beloved distributed petitions to all towns, businesses, pubs, etc. It was a lot of work but we felt really strongly about it so it was essentially easy. We collected over 6000 signatures which by some standards isn't a lot. However, it was enough. I'm not claiming that it was solely this that led to the state government allocating a couple of million buck to fixing the road conditions, but the feedback I got from the MP was that it helped him build a case for funding.

Phew!

So maybe that's a way to go. Find something that's a) sensitive, b) important to the prosperity of the town / region, c) sell it as the idea of the MP and help him/her raise their public image. Know what I mean? You'll be surprised what a little proactive public spirit (right words???0 can lead to.

Maybe you could also approach one of the major camping and fishing suppliers and ask the question "what would prevent you from / encourage you to opening up a store in Tooradin?" Add this to your database and present it your package with the petition. Then they'll know that you are serious and they need to be as well.

I could go on with ideas for hours but I know you get my drift. Good luck with it all. I read Bonz's post above about the 3 children. I can't imagine the pain that's involved there and I'm sure your local member probably can't either. If what you're doing has the potential to reduce or eliminate that risk just once then it's all worth while.

Louie

AnswerID: 374623

Reply By: Rut Tearer - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 14:07

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 14:07
Could you lobby the local council for a "City Centre - Please Slow Down Signage" otherwise youd think it will come back to 60 sooner rather than later given everything else they are doing. Failing that you could always do what the bloke in China did (News Yesterday) , he threw bricks at all the vehicles speeding at one particular intersection that was a problem area. Off course they came and took him away but he got their attention.
AnswerID: 374628

Reply By: Rut Tearer - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 14:10

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 14:10
Whats this about, didn't think Tooradin was on the nose?

http://www.govegan.com.au/patty/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/tooradin_main.jpg

AnswerID: 374629

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 18:24

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 18:24
Thanks for all your helpful suggestions. Whilst this post may not seem relevant on a 4wd site, I’d argue it is, because we all need to stop in a town during a trip for services, or view what the town has to offer.

Safety for locals and visitors is paramount in my view, but inappropriate speed limits can also affect the local economy if people are fearful of crossing a highway.

To my amazement, not even the coppers supported a reduction in the speed limit and the last thing I want to see is a death before something is done about it.

We’ve taken up petitions, had a traffic study done, and written to the Minister without any result. Probably time to take affirmative action....!

During my travels the disparity you see in towns with strong community support, vs. the opposite is bloody sad in my opinion.

I’ll let you know how we go.

Kim

AnswerID: 374657