WHY DO THEY CALL THEM SERVICE STATIONS WHEN THERE IS NONE?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 07:51
ThreadID: 70688 Views:6614 Replies:16 FollowUps:17
I was watching the To Day Show this morning, and they were commenting on people leaving Children / Babies in cars unattended while they do errands ect, the Spokesperson said mothers have problems at Service Stations, when they have to leave their Kids in the car while paying for their purchase, and this made me think about other problems people have at Service Stations, I have noticed Elderly People and People with other difficulties struggling to put Fuel in their vehicles, even just checking under the Bonnet ect, some might say OK if they can't do the basics they shouldn't be driving, but there is a lot that are quite capable behind the wheel, so where is the Service ? or should they just park there till the Attendant comes out to help or collect the Money ect, and in the mean time the Vehicles are backed up down the street trying to get fuel ect, just my thoughts wandering through my mind, WOOLWORTHS AND COLES GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER AND GIVE CUSTOMERS SERVICE.

Reply By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 07:58

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 07:58
They rip us off with the price of fuel Daza so the bar''''ards think they can do the same by not giving us any service to.
AnswerID: 374587

Follow Up By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 08:09

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 08:09
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 641809

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 16:50

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 16:50
How are you young Bob? been to the Cape I hear, you going to St George?
FollowupID: 641880

Follow Up By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 20:09

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 20:09
Fine thanks Bruce,been to the Cape,not going to St George.
Your off soon too are you not?

Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 641922

Reply By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 08:04

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 08:04
Dazza,why are you singling out woolies & coles all the others are the same except the ones in Ab/inal & the odd out back servo's.(where they don't trust you) Coles do have the odd field day where they do fill yhe car & wash windscreen & check oil n water as a promotion, they had one last week.
As you know they have allways been called serice station's,so it's a domino effect i spose.
The wife works for one of the 2 main players you mentioned & had a woman the other night got out put LPG nozzel on the connection of the car then dragged a baby about 8mths old out & preceded to fill the car (surely this practice would not be too good for the baby) re the fumes of the gas & also the cold.

AnswerID: 374590

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 08:09

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 08:09
I agree, but Coles and Woolworths should set an example, I know there is some Independants that do supply a Service to their Customers, but they are few and far between.
FollowupID: 641810

Reply By: Ray - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 09:04

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 09:04
I had an incident at one of the big outlet "service" stations some months ago where I was filling up with LPG and ULP. Both pumps were adjacent to each other so while the LPG was filling I topped up my ULP tank. Next thing a voice came over the loud speaker system stating that I was not allowed to do that which I ignored. When I went to pay this bloke had a go at me about it. I told him that there was no sign up saying that I could not do what I did and that if he wished to speak to me, get off his fat ???? and come outside and do so as I do not respond to loud speakers. His face went red and he shut up.
AnswerID: 374596

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 09:29

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 09:29
Gday Ray
I fill my gas and top up the petrol at the same time on a regular basis.
I can't see that one is more dangerous than the other.
Murray

FollowupID: 641818

Follow Up By: psproule - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 19:01

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 19:01
Likewise I regularly fill the boat and the car at the same time. Different pumps and different fuel. I did get yelled at once for filling jerry cans that were inside the boat. I completely fail to see the difference between filling the tank in the boat and filling a jerry in the boat. Anyway - was a good excuse to stop using that particular outlet. Used to spend $700 a month with them.

Pat
FollowupID: 641902

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 09:30

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 09:30
Maybe there is an opportunity for someone, or a group, to set up some ‘old fashioned’ service stations with all the service and frills that go with it.

Trouble is with the concept is that it costs money to employ people to provide the ‘service’ and it comes down to us as consumers…are we willing to pay extra for the fuel to get the service?

Probably not I suspect.
AnswerID: 374601

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:03

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:03
Spot on Landy, And when you consider the number of isles in some of the big outlets, To even have a junior at each one to give service, aint" gunna work in this day and age!!

FollowupID: 641944

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 23:31

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 23:31
I would rather do it myself.
Do you trust some pre-pubescent halfwit with a backwards facing baseball cap who only owns a skateboard to tell you whether everything looks OK under there?
FollowupID: 641965

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 09:49

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 09:49

I agree the good old fashioned service should come back!!! my dad used to run an Esso servo years ago and he used to come out help ect. However there is NO excuse for leaving kids in the car!!!! this makes me so mad, they are so precious - I have 2 daughters 18mths apart so there was a period of about 12mths where I had both of them in car seats I ALWAYS took them into the servo to pay no matter what.

Caroline
AnswerID: 374604

Follow Up By: 1arm - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 18:37

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 18:37
Maybe Im in the minority here but I dont see the issue with leaving my children in the car for the 3 minutes it takes me to pay for fuel. Windows down a bit, keys in my pocket and they are fine. If its 35 degrees or so then the chances are im not out in the heat anyway.No I dont leave them in there to do the shopping but for fuel when im in and out for me is not an issue.
FollowupID: 641895

Follow Up By: happytravelers - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 20:23

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 20:23
I agree with 1arm here, the kids are safer in the car rather than on the fore court of the servo with vehicles coming and going. Windows down, keys out and you can see the car the whole time you're away from it paying.
FollowupID: 641925

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 10:35

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 10:35
When ever I go over to Straddie and visit the servo at Dunwich I am always amazed at the service. I have been going there for prob 8 years now at least 3 times a year and it's always the same guy, I can only assume the owner. I always comes out of the servo when you pull in. As soon as you open the fuel lid he starts pumping....

I have never seen that anywhere else
AnswerID: 374609

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 11:12

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 11:12
I've seen it in a few places while travelling, mostly the smaller towns (can't remember where). Of course, then I worry that they'll just pull the nozzle out without pointing the end up and a hose full of fuel will pour out on the side of the car.
FollowupID: 641829

Reply By: Travelling Pixie - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 12:21

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 12:21
The term "Service station" might be a thing of the past.

Woolworths call them a "Store":
http://nowwhere.com.au/woolworths/petrol/default.aspx

Shell (Coles) call them "Fuel locations":
http://www.shell.com/home/page/au-en/shell_for_motorists/site_locator/app_fuelfinder.html

BP call them a "Petrol site":
http://www.bp.com/iframe.do?categoryId=9012436&contentId=7017653

Freedom call them an "Outlet":
http://www.freedomfuels.com.au/location/outletLocations.aspx

Still...Mobil and Caltex/Ampol might give you some happiness at their "Service stations":
http://apps.exxonmobil.com.au/apps/htm/mn_mobil_products_stations.asp
http://www.nowwhere.com.au/caltex/austlocator/search.aspx
AnswerID: 374615

Reply By: tim_c - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 13:48

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 13:48
A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
Just down the road there is a service station...
AnswerID: 374627

Follow Up By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 14:44

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 14:44
Tim, just down the road there is a service station.I am banned from that one by the good wife.Lol

FollowupID: 641858

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 14:51

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 14:51
My old Shell Training School told us the term "Service Station" came about with the introduction of one brand outlets that were designed and built to carry out scheduled service on your motor vehicle.
i.e. The oil change which for those who like me are old enough to remember was done each 1,000 miles.

There were any number of petrol outlets with various hand operated bowsers standing on the kerb. Some of the brands were; Shell, Vacuum, Plume, COR and BP. Off the top of my head I can't come up with others at the moment. Many of these outlets had no workshop or "service facilities" but all sold more than one brand of fuel.

The introduction of "one brand" marketing in the early fifties saw the first "service stations". A standard design with a "lube bay" or "lubritorium" as one company called it and then room for one or two workshop bays. These outlets were equipped with a air over oil hoist driven invariably by a Pulford compressor. This same compressor allowed the erection of the "free air" signs that appeared on just about every service station. Prior the free air you had the option of buying your own foot pump and pumping your tyres or paying threepence a wheel to have it done by the entrepreneur who spent the money to install a compressor. Untill the spread of the then modern "service Station" most vehicles went back to the manufacturers agent to be serviced.

"Service Station"? No the term came about for reasons totally different to that which most assume.

Do we want full driveway service? Yes we do.

Are we prepared to pay for it? No way!.

I happened to commission one of the Shell Company's first Self Service Outlets. The public loved it and flocked in to get the benefit of the five cents per gallon discount. The poor Mobil Dealer on the approach side hated me and I don't blame him. Motorists would pull in there and buy one dollars worth of fuel, have the oil, tyres checked, windscreen cleaned and anything else they could think of then drive out his side exit across the dividing side street and straight up to my pumps to fill the tank and get the five cents a gallon discount.

Sorry guys but the days of full driveway service are long gone and the reason is that the customers took their business elsewhere. Tyres were bought from Waltons, KMart and the tyre specialist that spouted everywhere. Same with batteries, brakes, clutch and exhaust systems. Then even the care care products went to Coles and Woolworths. These were the high margin lines that allowed a franchise holder to put staff out on pumps to serve you.

Yep. Long gone.

FollowupID: 641859

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 15:10

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 15:10
Geez Ian
I remember those time also, one would drive in over the Rubber Alarm, the Bell would ring, and the attendant would come out and put the Nozzle in the Tank and at the same time wipe the wind screen then lift the bonnet check the fluids, wipe his finger marks of the bonnet with a rag and then finish putting the fuel in the vehicle, well at least we were part of it.

PS, I also used to work for Gilbarcos many years ago doing installations and maintenance with the petrol pumps ect, when I was single.
FollowupID: 641865

Follow Up By: Atta Boy Luther - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 15:33

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 15:33
Then there was the girl with the large knockers that would clean the windscreen . There was always a line of cars there .
FollowupID: 641867

Reply By: raafy - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 17:28

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 17:28
I remember many years ago I use to fill up at Buranda. Dick Johnson would come out & fill the car up & always give me free tickets to the Exhibition speedway. That was way before he started racing touring cars. The best driveway service I ever had.
AnswerID: 374648

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 17:40

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 17:40
Anyone else remember Golden Fleece and "Stop for a Stanley"?
AnswerID: 374651

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 19:26

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 19:26
Yep!

And the Neptune Service Stations.
FollowupID: 641909

Follow Up By: gqturbo - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:50

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:50
Esso put a tiger in your tank but what brand was it that fitted any shape gas tank!
FollowupID: 641952

Reply By: Flywest - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:54

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 21:54
My kids are now 21 or so - and to this day, I leave them in the car, with the windows down, doors unlocked, and the keys in the ignition.

Still no one steals the car, with kids! :Rollseyes:.

Do I have to put a sign on it reading "steal me - please"? ;o)

My "plan" when it is stolen with the kids on board, is to change my name by deed poll, and skip the country. I figure at best the authorities will take maybe weeks, or better months, to track me down!

Till that time, they will be "someone else's problem"!

Can anyone say "Yippee - Holiday time... Hawaii here I come"!

AnswerID: 374697

Reply By: toucan68 - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 22:11

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 22:11
A few years ago when i lived in America "gas stations" would have 2 rows of pumps. You could choose to pump it yourself but if you went to the other ones you were charged a few cents more per gallon but got full service.
AnswerID: 374700

Reply By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 22:43

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2009 at 22:43
Maybe we should call them "Self Service" Stations.

Years ago there was a servo in cairns out near the airport that had girls in bikinis pumping petrol on the weekends. Verry popular servo. :)
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

AnswerID: 374704

Reply By: BenDiD - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 01:26

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 01:26
The last time some one came out to fill my car was the Willcania BP last week. Must be the first time in at least 15 years someone has offered to do that.

I nearly fell over with suprise. Amazingly the lovely lady who worked there said most people pull up ad just look at the pump like they don't know what to do with it!

Ben
AnswerID: 374715

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 01:32

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 01:32
Until I moved to Adelaide we always filled up at
- road houses, Servos were where you got your fuerl in the city
AnswerID: 374716

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 08:49

Thursday, Jul 16, 2009 at 08:49
A couple of days ago I was filling two jerry's with diesel, and as I have back problems it's hard to lean right down to get the nozzle into the can.

So I placed on can on top of the other, voila, much easier, then the pump stopped, and the petrol Nazi came out of her bunker, and told me that the can must be on the ground.

I asked why and I was told that this is their rule (Woollies). So I thought I would have some fun, so I asked her to get the manager as I had the cans on the ground. She said she was the manager, so then I asked her about fuel flash points, and which was the most volatile. Vacant stare, no idea!

It's amazing, the fuel companies come out with the greatest amount of nonsense about the dangers of fuel, for example, turn off mobile telephones, whilst at the same time there is electricity coursing through the vehicle being filled It seems that they don't appear to train their staff. The delivery drivers must to a course, but operators. Ha!

I can understand their concerns with the more flammable products that they sell, but in my life time working in the emergency field, the only time I can ever recall a fire at a servo was caused by a delivery bloke dipping his tank after delivery, and the measuring rod struck overhead power lines, he had done the appropriate dangerous goods course. Then there was a fire, and a big one too.

AnswerID: 374729